F92 BMW M8 gets M Performance parts, lots of carbon

Why would an owner of the new BMW M8 – a full-on M car and the famed performance division’s flagship model – feel the need to tack on some M Performance parts is beyond me, but there must be plenty out there who would put carbon on everything. Because along with the new M8 and M8 Competition, BMW has unveiled a range of M Performance parts.

You can find carbon fibre on the M8’s kidney grille surrounds, side air intakes, front lips, front fender gills, side skirts, rear spoiler and rear diffuser.

Also on the catalogue are M Performance sport brake pads that bring shorter braking distances, improved response and higher temperature resistance. The latter is “derived directly from the BMW Motorsport long-distance racing pads.” So, the M division skimped on the M8’s brake pads to leave something for the M Performance parts brochure?

Inside, the carbon theme continues with the M Performance Pro steering wheel, which has CF inlays and carbon shift paddles. There’s also a blue ring as a centre marker, but the steering wheel heater button is no more. M Performance floor mats, too. Lastly, there’s an M Performance car cover to protect the big coupe when stored.

The M8 is powered by the S63 4.4 litre V8 that develops 600 hp and 750 Nm of torque between 1,800 and 5,600 rpm. The twin-turbo motor sends power to all four wheels via an eight-speed M Steptronic automatic transmission with Drivelogic settings. It’s good for 0 to 100 km/h in just 3.3 seconds (Convertible is a tenth slower), and while the top speed is limited to 250 km/h, specifying the M Driver’s Package brings Vmax to 305 km/h.

The Competition-spec M8 raises power to 625 hp and extends the peak torque output to 5,800 rpm. It also gets stiffer engine mounts for quicker throttle response and a more instantaneous turn-in, along with a switchable M Sport exhaust system that is optional on the standard car. The 0-100 km/h sprint time for the Competition is a tenth less – 3.2 seconds for the Coupe and 3.3 seconds for the Convertible.

I get M Performance parts, I really do. It caters to a section of buyers whose boyracer tendencies have grown in tandem with their bank balance, and they really love their carbon. If BMW made an M8 that fully catered to these types, Munich would surely alienate the majority of its clientele, who presumably don’t have an aversion to normal plastic trim, and don’t want their luxury coupe to look like a track car. That said, the fully-kitted M8 looks relatively restrained compared to the usual efforts.

Full details on the F92 M8 Coupe and F91 M8 Convertible here.

GALLERY: BMW M8 Competition Coupe
GALLERY: BMW M8 Competition Convertible

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• What kind of stupidity is this? BMW? U buy M8 and u get plastic trimming and u have to pay more juz for the sake of carbon parts which is called M performance parts? Then why its call M8? M means no performance meh?? Y u no put carbon instead of plastic when production time ?? To suck money from ur customers???