July 2019 week five fuel price – RON97 down 11 sen

Another Friday, and so it’s time for the usual weekly fuel price update. Good news for RON 97 users, because the fuel is cheaper this week.

From July 27, RON 97 will be priced at RM2.56 a litre (down 11 sen from the RM2.67 last week). No change of course for RON 95 petrol, which continues on at RM2.08 per litre, the maximum price consumers pay no matter how high market prices push pump prices.

It’s the same for Euro 2M diesel, which continues to retail at RM2.18 per litre, and Euro 5 diesel – which is 10 sen more than Euro 2M diesel – is priced at RM2.28 per litre.

The finance ministry says that according to Automatic Price Mechanism (APM) calculations, RON 95 petrol would be priced at RM2.26 per litre while that for diesel would be at RM2.31 per litre without the price cap in place. The government added that it will absorb an estimated RM90.48 million in fuel subsidy costs for the period July 27-August 2.

These prices will remain in effect until August 2, when the next set of fuel pricing adjustments will be announced. This is the 29th edition of the weekly fuel pricing format, which is announced every Friday. The weekly prices are in effect from Saturday until the following Friday.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ghani on Jul 26, 2019 at 5:37 pm

Cheapest petrol in the region. Now even cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • Kacang on Jul 26, 2019 at 5:47 pm

Gc proof here to support your comment

https://paultan.org/2019/07/22/malaysia-has-the-cheapest-petrol-in-the-region-report/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
      • Brian on Jul 26, 2019 at 6:09 pm

From unerified sources. Yeah, same just like NST reporting. Boleh caya ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • Better than Utusan and TV3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
          • EDITOR on Jul 26, 2019 at 7:32 pm

No respected company have so swiftly disputed their false reporting as what one did onto NST. Journalism malfunction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
          • Angry Voters on Jul 26, 2019 at 8:06 pm

Fake news is fake news. There is no “better” if they’re in the same boat. What is PH trying to preach, that we should just accept because the same shits now smells “better”?

• Dollah Said on Jul 27, 2019 at 9:18 am

Government can reduce the price of petrol further. But unfortunately, they need to keep it at RM2.08 because it needs the money to feed the overbloated Government servants of 1.6 million people.

Malaysia got 33 million rakyat but 1.6 Government servants

Australia got 33 million rakyat but got 250,000 Government servants.

• Dollah Said on Jul 27, 2019 at 9:24 am

NST and Utusan are made up of abang abang who are just given jobs freely. Did not do well in studies also but still can get jobs

So you cannot expect much from them

• Sanjay Krishnan on Jul 27, 2019 at 10:59 am

We should not complain about petrol prices. We are so used to tongkat and bantuan that we have created a culture of entitlement in Malaysia

Being pampered too long have resulted in lazy behaviour. Start working hard and you will not complain about petrol.

Enough of always asking for bantuan kerajaan.

• Fintan Tan on Jul 27, 2019 at 7:23 pm

Malaysia petrol so cheap now. I can plan my monthly expenditure. Last few years it was like yoyo. I cannot plan at all.

We should fix petrol prices because produce our own oil.

• John Sambung Bayar on Jul 27, 2019 at 8:14 pm

Only buy a car if you can afford the current petrol prices. Don’t buy a car just to show off to frens you have money and that you have made it big.

Be proud of yourself. If all you can afford is a bike, be proud of it

Don’t fool yourself buying a car as petrol is costly. Then 2 months later, sambung bayar….

• Roslan Basheer on Jul 28, 2019 at 8:41 am

Mass Comm schools in Uitm and Mara don’t really teach integrity and honesty

• Graduan on Jul 29, 2019 at 12:13 pm

They gotta start teaching then.
            Better late then never

• Bernard Chandran on Jul 26, 2019 at 10:13 pm

I hope our regular troll does not come here with his countless of dupes to give an impression that PH promised RM1.50/L petrol in the last GE manifesto

Our highly esteemed PM already confirmed that this is fake news and there was no such promise. Such promise was 10 years ago in the previous GE.

Please do not spread fake news if you are frustrated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 29
          • Angry Voters on Jul 27, 2019 at 7:42 am

He even tell us Manifesto cannot be trusted to follow. Betul ke dia ni woi?
            If what is written cannot be trusted then what is said is less trustworthy.
            And it that’s so, then how can we trust them? How can we trust you telling us that is fake news? Because it is not fake news at all.

• Troll Hunter on Jul 27, 2019 at 12:12 pm

Regular troll? Takes one to know one. And your the biggest as they can get here.

• lut you on Jul 27, 2019 at 5:54 pm

“Manifesto not a bible”

• Fintan Tan on Jul 27, 2019 at 7:26 pm

It is a disgrace that there are so many BN Cybertroopers in this site constantly with different names trying to busuk PH name

• Stefan Kee on Jul 28, 2019 at 10:17 am

We have to abolish NAP and NEP for us to progress like Singapore.

• Damon Lee on Jul 29, 2019 at 11:54 am

@Stefan Kee
            I fully agree. Mind sharing your number plate so that I can fake?

• Kereta Klon on Jul 29, 2019 at 3:28 pm

@Damon Lee, under BN times, there were already clone cars from SG with stole fake license plates from the original car! therefore BN sucks

• Jeremy on Jul 29, 2019 at 5:35 pm

That one no problem. Clone car won’t involve summons upon other innocent drivers but the fake number plate certain have done much damage to the poor innocent driver. And as we seen this is clearly and blatantly done in PH era. So I can conclude that PH sucks worse than BN.

• It is a disgrace and shameful to see my taxpayer money are used for paying PH cybertroopers to prop up this rickety government. Enough with the trolling Pakatan! Do your job as a government or get out!

• Jeremy on Jul 26, 2019 at 6:27 pm

As Brian pointed out, even mainstream news media are making stories up. Where did they learnt this from? Certainly this never happened in the past, not when reputable companies & persons can be implicated without proof. If we can’t even trust our printed news media, whatmore those on the internet.

And our politicians in the government are even less trustful than both since they still insist to deny proof that is in their faces.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
        • Chavez on Jul 26, 2019 at 8:13 pm

I left venezuela & stay in HK. Peace be upon

• Sanjay Krishnan on Jul 27, 2019 at 10:56 am

Too much of mismanagement in the past 60 years have made our Ringgit weak and our GDP per capita one of the lowest in the world. Look at Singapore, Merdeka same time as Malaysia but their GDP Per Capita is 3rd highest in the world and their Currency 3X stronger than the ringgit.

Singaporeans never complain about petrol prices because they earn very high. Their petrol is cheaper than Malaysia based on what they earn. And they are not even a oil producing nation!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Ghani on Jul 29, 2019 at 11:50 am

Yes, I’m looking at them. And I facepalm at their sheer greed & stupidity
            https://paultan.org/2019/05/27/plate-switching-singaporean-bmw-under-investigation/

• Cheah Lee Wah on Jul 27, 2019 at 7:36 pm

Once you stop reading Utusan and Kosmo, you will understand things better. Read better newspaper bro then your eyes will open.

• Chavez on Jul 27, 2019 at 7:30 am

I can show you USD$30 (RM124), so where’s my 14 Billion liters of petrol?

• JOACHIM on Jul 28, 2019 at 4:26 am

From a proper survey done, out of 55 cities studied Malaysia only got 6th cheapest whereby Lagos & Cairo scores better than us. (https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/2019/05/22/survey-kl-5th-most-expensive-city-to-buy-car-but-petrol-here-among-cheapest/)
      So how is this cheaper if our economy lags behind Nigeria & Egypt?

• Manifesto Dicapati on Jul 26, 2019 at 5:51 pm

Naik 13sen down only 11sen. Still far away from RM1.50 as promised. Janji Dicapati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
    • Norlia on Jul 26, 2019 at 6:27 pm

Dah paling murah bang

https://paultan.org/2019/07/22/harga-petrol-di-msia-masih-paling-murah-di-rantau-ini-namun-hanya-tangga-kelima-dalam-senarai-mampu-beli/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
      • Amran on Jul 26, 2019 at 8:08 pm

Mana Brunei dan Singapura? Takde termasuk pun. You ingat pembaca sini bodoh terima apa saja yg dibritau macam pentaksub Pakatan?

• Copy Paste on Jul 26, 2019 at 9:35 pm

Copy paste: “From unerified sources. Yeah, same just like NST reporting. Boleh caya ke?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
        • Dollah Said on Jul 27, 2019 at 9:23 am

NST is made up of abang abang who are incompetent and given jobs freely. Real reporting is from Star

• Calvin on Jul 29, 2019 at 12:54 pm

Reporters in NST bukan abang-abang.
            Owner of NST bukan abang-abang.
            Printers of NST bukan abang-abang.
            Deliverymen by NST bukan abang-abang.
            Sellers of NST bukan abang-abang.

Which abang-abang are you referring to?
            And Star belongs to MCA, so we should trust BN again? Interesting.

• Sanjay Krishnan on Jul 27, 2019 at 11:01 am

Please show us proof where was RM1.50 petrol promised? Don’t you feel ashamed spreading false facts? Work harder like other countries. No other country pampers the majority of population like Malaysia

• Avenger on Jul 29, 2019 at 11:59 am

Work harder to search, don’t be lazy and expect to be spoonfed. Just Google it.
        Now prove to us this wasn’t promised in the first place.

• No Cancer and Freak Weather for Future Generation on Jul 27, 2019 at 1:03 pm

We must strife for clean fuel grade of Euro5 Euro6.
      Never ever demands for cheap dirty fuel full of cancer causing agent and environmental destructive chemicals.

• Manifesto Dicapati on Jul 26, 2019 at 6:08 pm

1) Free float for RON95 & 97
    2) No Rm1.50/l petrol as promised
    3) BR1M is revived to subsidise the poor
    4) The middle income have to foot these extra cost w/o the benefits as promised.
    5) New tolled highways sprouting left & right.
    6) Mega expensive projects sprouting left & right.
    7) National car project is back again
    8) Car prices are going higher & higher.
    9) Menteris more bothered to make scandals than help people.
    10) Complaints are not heard or Menteris says there is no problem or tak suka boleh keluar.

I didn’t realised our government has reverted back to olden corrupted days of madey BN. When did this happen and why had we voted PH in the first place if this was coming?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 123
    • Bernard Chandran on Jul 26, 2019 at 10:15 pm

Point 2 is already fake so I can assume all other points are also made up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
      • Angry Voters on Jul 27, 2019 at 7:38 am

Khalid Samad is already in Amanah when he reminded the rakyat of Pakatan promises when they come to power. Amanah was setup after GE13. That is very clear. The whole country haven’t turn nyanyuk yet. Don’t try to patronise us with your fake news!

• Sick & Tired on Jul 27, 2019 at 9:53 am

Do share how point 2 is fake when it was confirmed by reliable sources (ie Youtube)?

• Angry Voters on Jul 27, 2019 at 10:14 am

Easy to say fake, please prove it.

• Honestjohn on Jul 27, 2019 at 1:24 pm

After 60 years, still asked crowdfeedings. sigh

• BN cybertroopers always lie. They only believe in the fake news from Utusan

• Sick & Tired on Jul 26, 2019 at 10:17 pm

Enuff of empty can rantings. Cukurr la sikit hang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
      • Angry Voters on Jul 27, 2019 at 7:38 am

Enough of making empty promises. Tunaikan la sikit hang.

• Cukur kepala hotakmu. Minyak tinggi gila tapi gaji sikit nak cukur apa?

• Mohd Adnan on Jul 28, 2019 at 12:16 pm

Nak cukur apa oi! Gaji cikit, poket dah kosong, tapi harga minyak macam haram tingginye. Harga motor pun dah berlambak dua kali ganda. Blia tukar kerajaan balik baru boleh ku cukur.

• Bosskool on Jul 29, 2019 at 12:57 pm

Deswaii bak pepatah lama, rajin dan usaha tangga kejayaan. Cukur kerajaan kite mampu beli perahu mewah Ekunotiti, shoot pilem blokbaster holiwood, Lth felda makin kembang maju. Ayuh geng up same2!

• Amran on Jul 29, 2019 at 3:12 pm

Apo salahnyo? Dio beli kito maseh dapot duit BR1M. Ini sekarang apo? Duit takdoh tapi kos doh melambong. Dulu wokey je, sekarang KO.

• PHancing on Jul 29, 2019 at 12:05 am

Bila dah kene kencing baru nak cukurr ke bang? Before PHancing regime not cukurr?

• Dollah Said on Jul 27, 2019 at 9:22 am

another fake news from a person whose dedak has stopped for 1 year 2 months.

This is clear case

• no cancer no freak weather for future generations on Jul 27, 2019 at 1:06 pm

We must strife for clean fuel grade of Euro5 Euro6.
      Never ever demands for cheap dirty fuel full of cancer causing agent and environmental destructive chemicals.

• Fintan Tan on Jul 27, 2019 at 7:28 pm

what happened to the promise 5 years ago to reduce car prices by 30%?

One of many promises not honoured.

• Cheah Lee Wah on Jul 27, 2019 at 7:34 pm

Don’t lie. Now no more GST, car prices and food prices have gone down so much

Internet also so cheap RM140, I can get 800Mbps

Today Gobind also announced Streamyx RM69 for 8Mbps, down from RM160.

If there was no Gobind, 800Mbps will be RM1000 per month.

So don’t lie

• This is not food blog or and internet services blog, stop bringing irrelevant agenda into this automotive site and as for car prices became cheaper, who are you trying fool here? Camry prices went northwards from 160k to 200k.

• Roslan Basheer on Jul 28, 2019 at 8:43 am

same people in BN are the same people in PH. Nothing to do with party. It is the majority that likes easy way of life

• Calvin on Jul 29, 2019 at 4:17 pm

Who doesn’t like the easy way of life? Do you think the developed countries are working like mad dogs when in truth they take long vacations and work only 30 hours a week? The only difference is BN never promised them an easy life without the entailing hardwork while PH puts this as their Manifesto promise. So can’t say I blame anyone for demanding what was promised.

• Stefan Kee on Jul 28, 2019 at 10:15 am

When you have to work hard like everyone else, you get frustrated and angry. No more favourtism and privileges. Now everyone must work hard equally

• Pump rosak on Jul 29, 2019 at 11:44 pm

A few days after this, all gas station pump 97 either rosak or under maintenance