Honda e shows off its dual 12.3-inch touchscreens

Ahead of the launch of the Honda e later this year, the Japanese carmaker has released a short video showcasing how the car’s dual touchscreens will enhance the driving experience for owners.

The setup consists of two high-resolution, 12.3-inch displays that can be used independently by the driver and front passenger. The interface operates in a similar fashion to modern smartphones, and users will also be able to easily swap information across the two screens.

As the video demonstrates, there are plenty of features here, including the ability to assign your frequented functions to quick-access tiles, a multitasking view, a navigation function, and even a digital personal assistant that can be called up by using the term “OK, Honda.”

You also get video playback capability, which is one of several entertainment and connectivity options available; Android Auto and Apple CarPlay are also supported here. Users can even add additional apps from the Honda App Center.

Honda e  shows off its dual 12.3-inch touchscreens

The dual-touchscreen setup also provides access to various vehicle functions, including the current powertrain status, charging scheduling, as well as safety and driver assistance systems.

In total, the Honda e’s dashboard comes with five screens in total, with the aforementioned dual touchscreens, along with two outer ones measuring six inches for the side cameras. The fifth screen is an eight-inch unit that acts as the digital instrument cluster.

The Honda e is rear-wheel drive, and will be powered by an electric motor that delivers 150 PS and around 300 Nm of torque. A water-cooled 35.5 kWh lithium-ion battery positioned on the floor of the car provides power to the drive unit, and can be recharged using either a Type 2 AC connection or a CCS2 DC rapid charger – the latter is said to provide an 80% state of charge in just 30 minutes.

GALLERY: Honda e

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mario and Bros on Jul 31, 2019 at 5:24 pm

This 12.3 inch infortainment System is actually having same detail as Mercedes Benz Infortainment System

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 293 Thumb down 282
    • Namco on Aug 01, 2019 at 12:46 am

The only problem is that ugly steering wheel looks out of place in front of these wide panel LCDs. Why not fitting game pad or joysticks and Hotas?

• thepolygon on Jul 31, 2019 at 5:26 pm

This is wrong, they should call it E. Honda

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 210 Thumb down 194
    • You win… perfect!

• kereta_lembu on Jul 31, 2019 at 9:38 pm

Night time driving with 2 huge touch screens gonna be fun on the eyes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 14
    • Pakulupapito on Jul 31, 2019 at 10:40 pm

Yeah…with screen like that a fast rapid hand would be useful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
    • Mario and Bros on Aug 01, 2019 at 7:48 am

Guys, beware of Kunta Kinte because I highly suspected that he put many dislikes for the good users like thepolygon and my username. Including, he also put many dislikes for Axxx, Real World, Dong gor, seancorr and Raja Celup in other latest article in paultan website.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 63
      • Kunta just a budak mentah baru keluar sekolah, he has no idea about the pun of of E Honda.

• Aaron on Aug 01, 2019 at 1:27 pm

Are you even any different from the Kunta troll? You should stop accusing others and look in the mirror first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • Mario and Bros on Aug 01, 2019 at 3:33 pm

Excuse me, are you asking silly questions again? Obviously, I am more different from Kunta troll. You need to understand that because most of the time, we already know that his original username as Kunta Kinte together with his dupes posting fake comments for most of the time in paultan article. But only, he post his good comments in his carmakers in paultan website. Furthermore, as I said it again, we already saw that Kunta is putting many dislikes for good users like Axxx, Real World, john and other users. But for me, I post with good comments without any fake news at all about when launching new models or other car facts. Even other users like Axxx, john and other users posting same things like what I always do. That’s the reasons why I am more different from Kunta troll.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 30
          • Darren on Aug 01, 2019 at 6:20 pm

Wilson Khoo, you yourself have dupe accounts. Tak malu ke LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Mario and Bros on Aug 01, 2019 at 3:37 pm

And by the way, Kunta Kinte should stop accusing others and look into the mirror. And I also told him before, when he want to post anything in paultan website, he should do some research about car facts, car specs in Malaysia compare to other countries as well as about researching for car conditions before he post good comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 30
  • Why Jepunis lord copy Mesidis? Create ur own lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 19
  • Why is the dash look so old style…. retro dash like the 80s car interior apart from the dual touchscreen.

• Pakulupapito on Jul 31, 2019 at 10:45 pm

Mazda: we should make the screen not touch screen and everything can be controlled without reaching far (just use the knob and steering button). Because it is safer.
    Honda: freaking dual touch screen 12.3 inches baby…..hell yeah. Because we can.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
  • So drivers can be busy touching their touch screen while driving.

• msia driver on Aug 01, 2019 at 11:12 am

too much distraction to focus on the road when put in huge monitor and tons of computer like features in front dashboard…

• Merc put a big screen, then Honda put a bigger one. Hey, why not the whole front windscreen to be your monitor? Really will distract your attention during driving.