Auto industry should also focus on the manufacture and export of spare parts and components – MITI

The government says that the local automotive industry should not just focus on growth in the production and sales of new vehicles, but give equal emphasis to the development of the manufacture and export of Malaysian-made vehicle parts and components, Bernama reports.

According to the minister of international and Industry Datuk Darell Leiking, this will ensure that the manufacture and export of Malaysian-made vehicle parts and components grow in parallel with top-tier vehicle production.

“The manufacturing of vehicle parts and components is of equal importance to the success of the automotive industry, as it creates more business and career opportunities for Malaysians in the high-value automotive chain. They are essentially the elements that define the final product,” he said via a statement.

He said that compared to vehicle assembly, the diversity of manufacturing processes, multiplicity of specialisation and varying levels of complexity make parts and components a key target sector to spur local competencies in engineering and technology adoption, particularly among small and medium enterprises (SMEs).

He emphasised the importance of continuous growth in the expansion of capacities and capabilities of local automotive manufacturers to meet changes in a fast evolving market. “While MITI is working hard to address concerns among certain quarters of the industry on our readiness to develop high-technology products such as autonomous technology, we cannot deny that such disruption will eventually render our current capabilities obsolete in the future,” he said.

“The only way forward is a fully concerted effort from the industry, government and research sectors to devise new solutions to ensure we reach the appropriate levels of compliance to global market demand,” he added. He urged businesses to take part in the numerous government programmes to accelerate their capabilities in activities such as product and process design.

Malaysia’s parts and components sector reported total exports of RM6.76 billion in the first half of 2019, achieving 52% of its full-year target of RM13 billion that has been set for it. Exports have grown in the last five years from RM4.7 billion in 2014 to RM12.1 billion in 2018, and was the strongest growth performer for the industry in 2018.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Lolwhut? on Aug 08, 2019 at 6:01 pm

lol! If the price of your locally made spare parts cannot compete in pricing with Thailand, China or Indonesian made, what are you talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Kak Limah on Aug 08, 2019 at 6:23 pm

Locally spare parts is high quality esp Delloyd.

• Celup King on Aug 09, 2019 at 7:28 pm

Any fool can make a high quality part. Whether they can make that at low prices is the main question here.

• Delloyusional on Aug 09, 2019 at 11:40 pm

Thanks you … Now I know Delloyd is the company that destroyed Proton with their fake leather dashboard stitch and hard plastic door panels

• vantage on Aug 08, 2019 at 6:40 pm

What you don’t know does not mean it is not there.

There are a few automotive factories that manufactures and exports parts to overseas rather than supplying to local companies.

One of them is owned by ZF and based in Johore. It manufactures and exports millions of euros worth of spare parts to europe and north america.

• antibullshit on Aug 08, 2019 at 7:52 pm

when banana becomes minister the idea also is banana

• Crony on Aug 09, 2019 at 7:25 am

A banana loving banana-like that works for the greatest villain. What do you call them?

• Lolwhut? on Aug 09, 2019 at 3:12 pm

PH minions. lol!

• LOLjohn? on Aug 09, 2019 at 7:36 pm

Dupe replying dupe. topkek!

• Raymond on Aug 09, 2019 at 9:50 pm

It may not be john, but yes, it’s clearly the same guy replying to himself. All of these anti-PH comments awkwardly sound so similar. Perfect/fluent english, same anti-PH rhetoric, etc…

• Lolwhut? on Aug 09, 2019 at 11:23 pm

Dupe calling others dupe, genius!

• Avenger on Aug 10, 2019 at 3:57 pm

@Raymond
            Many readers are exasperated with PH and their Uturn stances. You think john is the only ones that hate PH? Well take your head out and see the public anger. PH Fanboyism has blinded you.

• First time I heard being fluent in English is a crime. Are an ignoramus by any chance, Raymond? Don’t bother looking that up, or you might accuse yourself as john cause your English competency would improve. Understand can or not?

• Sohai on Aug 08, 2019 at 7:52 pm

Brainless sohai betoi… high manufacturing quantity only can bring down the part per piece price, with the pati bunga car tax min.>100% and serve loan over 9yrs, where buying power come from??? when some even spent >50% from their income on car! Second parts, do you export proton saga persona iriz parts to china, Indon, filipin, Vietnam? No nid to mention Korea Japan us eu…

• Sohai on Aug 08, 2019 at 8:01 pm

Yes, korek korek korek… Ada otak… Export “Saga” parts to Indon Thai Filipin Vietnam or China US EU Japan Korea?

• vantage on Aug 08, 2019 at 6:41 pm

What you don’t know does not mean it is not there.

There are a few automotive factories that manufactures and exports parts to overseas rather than supplying to local companies.

One of them is owned by ZF and based in Johore. It manufactures and exports millions of euros worth of spare parts to europe and north america.

• Stop empty talk. U should finish the National Automotive Policy first.

• Is our pricing and quality as good as other countries? If no, they will always be jaguh kampong, ripping off the locals!

• Ah Chong on Aug 09, 2019 at 9:29 am

I know talk is cheap, easy for minister to say this and that. But if all of us Rakyat only know how to bash the ministers, what can we achieve? Are we going to just give up and roll over and let our ASEAN neighbour win?

I agree with the message in the article, although I have no idea how they can practice what they preach. Thing is, Malaysia is “expensive” when compare to indo/thai/viet, and people will just go for best value. If ringgit falls, we will be more competitive but then I doubt anyone of us here wants to see that.

• panjang on Aug 09, 2019 at 4:23 pm

Dear minister,
    Maybe u should study deeply why we dont have parts manufacturer that export their parts. After all, u r the minister.

• Celup King on Aug 09, 2019 at 7:29 pm

You give them too much credit as ministers. In PH era, you need neither brains nor actual degrees to become one.

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 09, 2019 at 7:57 pm

For too long, this country has been inward looking, happy being kampung hero. Only the few industry and businessman very caring enough to cater for the bigger global market.

If we don’t change now, the world would pass us by.