September 2019 week one fuel price – RON 97 is down

It’s Friday, and thus, another weekly fuel update, and for the coming week, users of RON 97 petrol will pay slightly less than they did in the previous week.

From tomorrow, August 31, RON 97 will be priced at RM2.50 a litre (a one sen drop from RM2.51 last week). Meanwhile, RON 95 petrol continues to be sold at RM2.08 per litre, the maximum price consumers pay no matter how high market prices push pump prices.

It’s the same for Euro 2M diesel, which continues to retail at RM2.18 per litre, while Euro 5 diesel – which is 10 sen more than Euro 2M diesel – is priced at RM2.28 per litre.

The finance ministry says that according to Automatic Price Mechanism (APM) calculations, RON 95 petrol would be priced at RM2.20 per litre while diesel would be at RM2.23 per litre without the price cap in place. The government added that it will absorb an estimated RM48.84 million in fuel subsidy costs for the period of August 31 to September 6.

These prices will remain in effect until September 6, when the next set of fuel pricing adjustments will be announced. This is the 34th edition of the weekly fuel pricing format, which is announced every Friday. The weekly prices are in effect from Saturday until the following Friday.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Siam kap on Aug 30, 2019 at 5:14 pm

One sen drop but incoming free float for RON95. Enjoy while you can people because the pain is coming real soon. Thank you PH! You are guaranteed to be out by next GE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Asam laksa on Aug 30, 2019 at 6:56 pm

I am hoping that we can keep this place from game over frustations and RM1.50/L demand towards PH. We have to be grateful that our petrol price is already cheap. So let’s stop complaining and start to work hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
      • Safety First on Aug 30, 2019 at 7:00 pm

Yeah everything is cheap for PH even our life value is reduced down to a Gojek ride. That is how cheap things are in PH.

• Awang Selamat on Aug 31, 2019 at 12:24 am

Need to give jobs to all the Rempits in town. Too many rempits in town. Since Grab Food started, Rempits have lessened because half the Rempits now got jobs to do.

So Gojek is good because at least the Rempit got work to do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
          • Rahim on Aug 31, 2019 at 9:23 am

Yes. Better to have abang mat rempit do productive work instead of lepaking and disturbing people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
          • Too many come from the kampungs into Bandar and cannot get jobs, finally end up rempit. I agree. Gojek will give these kampung fellows jobs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
          • Aura89 = Gary = Alan on Aug 31, 2019 at 5:53 pm

Everything also complain…penat, susah, mustahil.

Just be like everyone else in the world. Work for your goals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • Aura89 on Aug 31, 2019 at 2:08 am

I am hoping too… hoping that you would learn your lesson for trying to hoodwink us with your multiple ID tricks that was exposed last week by a kind reader.
        Petrol prices are cheap for one who never leaves his room and drive/ride to work like the rest of us. Oh no, keyboard warriors only need the keyboard and holed up in his room. Petrol is cheap since petrol is not needed for one like you, am right?

• “If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude. Don’t complain.” -Maya Angelou-
          Let us learn from this game changing quote and be grateful of what petrol price is today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • Brian on Aug 31, 2019 at 12:03 pm

Why must be grateful for cheap petrol prices? Your bosses
            don’t pay you well for trolling here? So pitiful. When everything too cheap our salary also cheap, yours moreso. Let the market determine petrol prices and our salaries can go up based on market forces. If you need to be grateful for cheap petrol, you aren’t working hard enough. Find a better job and work harder so you don’t have to be dependent on cheap petrol.

I know you can do it, just work harder in an honest job. You have no choice because when your bosses goes thru with their plan to float RON95, you’re finished. So ditch your troll gig and work harder to find a job that pays better. You can do it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • Once Malaysia stops NAP and NEP, we already can start becoming first world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Aura89 = Gary = Alan on Aug 31, 2019 at 5:51 pm

too many dupes here, reminds me of the time when john got caught framing kunta 3 months ago with multiple dupes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • Aura89 on Sep 02, 2019 at 10:11 pm

Awww, the little boy cry wolf just because he got found out once again. Don’t cry boy. Here’s your lollipop, now you can go home and tell mommy all your fake stories about the many johns and whatnot. She is be the only person that believes you. Now run along boy.

• Siam kap on Sep 01, 2019 at 9:50 pm

I’ve learned a lot from viewing this debate, thanks for arguing in this thread. :D

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 01, 2019 at 2:12 pm

Car price hiked
      Fuel price hiked
      Food price hiked
      Motorcycle price hiked
      Cost of living price hiked
      My effing kopitiam kopi also price hiked!

What is the common factor? PH(Price Hike)!

• Awang Selamat on Aug 30, 2019 at 5:17 pm

I hope this week nobody comes again asking for cheaper petrol. Please work hard.

Work hard and stop asking for bantuan kerajaan, discounts and special privileges. No other country in the world pampers its rakyat like how Malaysia does, so be grateful.

Time to get rid of this entitlement attitude. Work hard. Look at Singapore, they work hard and they accept global pricing of petrol and never complain.

Time for majority to give up this entitlement attitude and work hard in life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
    • Great! Good advice! You should take it and not stay here as a paid troll. So obvious who you are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • 4bini on Aug 30, 2019 at 7:48 pm

Work hard instead of complaining so much. Take too much on until you cannot even handle monthly expenses

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • Is Alan making a complaint? No I don’t see that anywhere. He instead complimenting Awang Selamat’s great advice and asking him to do the same. So stop your complaining about others complimenting the advice of another. Instead of complaining here, take your own advice and work harder and if you spend more time working instead of busy body with the monthly expenses of others you can earn a better living.

• Awang Selamat on Aug 31, 2019 at 12:25 am

Gary, please continue working as Grab Food delivery. We need your good work done.

Well done bro!

• Aura89 on Aug 31, 2019 at 2:18 am

Guys, I can see a trend here. Awang Selamat and 4bini are the same person. Take note y’all.

• Now that you’ve mentioned it, I see it too. Thanks for calling it out.

• Everything also want free in life and want better perks.

• Alan = Gary on Aug 31, 2019 at 2:58 pm

Sad when someone answers himself

• Exposing BN Trolls on Aug 31, 2019 at 5:28 pm

Alan, Gary, Aura89 (and some other accounts) are clearly the same person. Their typing style is identical. Same anti-PH rhetoric.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Burn bakar on Aug 30, 2019 at 5:35 pm

Cheapest ord in the region. and now even cheaper

• Chavez on Aug 30, 2019 at 7:45 pm

Provided the region doesn’t contain Brunei. Oops, too bad reality it does. Sorry to burst your bubble there.

• Chavez on Aug 30, 2019 at 5:37 pm

2sen up, one sen down. Still means have to pay one sen increase. Hahaha! See the game they are playing?

• Celup King on Aug 31, 2019 at 9:42 am

Pakatan is game over thanks to their game changing promises still undelivered

• Ghani on Sep 01, 2019 at 9:16 am

Pakatan should not delivered their promises to clamp down Corruptions. of all promises-

• Avenger on Sep 03, 2019 at 12:25 pm

Yep, they shouldn’t have. Now how are they gonna explain their multitude of corruption scandals?

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 30, 2019 at 6:03 pm

Measly one sen up or two sen down wont make much difference. The saving cannot even be amounted of a packet of Hack gula-gula for 1 week.

• I really hope NOT TO SEE our regular troll from PH ministry coming here and praising his employers. I HOPE but I guess will expect to see him here anyways crapping around the comments section. Sigh.

• Gabriel on Aug 30, 2019 at 6:14 pm

I cannot wait for the floating pricing. After PH came into power, I have plenty money left in the bank. No tolls, no GST, no PTPTN to pay. Hidup PH! You are the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Sick & Tired on Aug 30, 2019 at 6:16 pm

1) Free float for RON95 & 97
    2) Still no Rm1.50/l petrol as promised (Amanah had reaffirmed that promise).
    3) BR1M is revived to subsidise the poor
    4) The middle income have to foot these extra cost w/o the benefits as promised.
    5) New tolled highways sprouting left & right.
    6) Mega expensive projects sprouting left & right.
    7) National car project is back again
    8) Car prices are going higher & higher.
    9) Menteris more bothered to make scandals than help people.
    10) Money thrown into ridiculous national flying car project.
    11) Complaints are not heard or Menteris says there is no problem or tak suka boleh keluar.
    12) Foreign investors coming into the region but NOT to our country.
    13) Taxpayer money spent to defend the government online instead of benefiting the rakyat.
    14) Our ministers specialising PhDs in Uturn statements.
    15) Our country turning into the world’s laughing stock.

I didn’t realised our government has reverted back to olden corrupted days of madey BN. When did this happen and why had we voted PH in the first place if this was coming?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • 4bini on Aug 30, 2019 at 7:51 pm

What do you expect? Only the Cabinet has changed. That is only about 100 people that have changed. It is the same people running the Government machinery. The same 1.6 million lazy Government servants as before.

The workers you see now are the same as the workers 5 years ago.

These people want everything free and easy in life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • In any government, in any company, in any society, in any clubs, in any classroom, in any gangs, in any hak seh wooi, in any playground, in any groupie, in any family, in any body, the downline just follows the instructions from their leaders. If the instructions were bad, it isn’t their downlines’ fault. The blame all goes to the leader.

• 4bini on Aug 31, 2019 at 12:32 am

when leaders are all the same type, of course we won’t have direction. We need more Mainland people into Malaysia and into Putrajaya to teach us how to run the country better and make better leadership decisions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • Aura89 on Aug 31, 2019 at 2:16 am

That I concur. Working with ‘mainland’ ones, I conclude they are better to work with, honest, they don’t go swing their minority stick around, certainly more humble and work together with people of other cultures not just order them around like some sort of bigshot that we see plenty here coming from our ‘local’ ones. I suggest the initial ‘local’ ones to replace are our inept Finance Minister & Transport Minister. Agreed?

• Always better to replace the lazy type Ministers who don’t perform. So far, Finance Minister has done a great job cleaning the mess of 60 years created by the lazy type.

Transport also has improved by leaps and bounds with Loke. So many new policies to improve transport. We even got the My50 and My100 travel cards for the rakyat to use.

Once we get rid of NEP and NAP, we can already start becoming first world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
          • Wht great job? Oh you mean sinking our once expanding economy, our RM going down like sh!t? You call that a great job? Even 60 years didn’t sink that fast.

And what significant thing did Loke do? Oh you mean legalising super dark tint and approving unsafe Gojek? What about the death rates that increased when he tookover?

• You look like an a– when someone specifically asks you to not show up with your usual dog and pony show.

• John Doe on Sep 01, 2019 at 7:41 pm

Im so touched by some of those who come and ask others to work hard and stop complaining. Everyone is working extremely hard, especially this year and many more years to come. Only the government doesnt know it. Flying car seems to be their solution and calling those who complain about them trolls and cybertroopers. Denial is recipe to disaster, learn from the previous government. learn it well.