VIDEO: Mazda MX-30 – brand’s first EV, RX-8 doors

Mazda unveiled its first, mass-production electric vehicle at this year’s Tokyo Motor Show, with the MX-30 also being the third member in the carmaker’s next-generation model line-up after the latest Mazda 3 and CX-30.

Built on the SkyActiv-Vehicle Architecture, the MX-30 is roughly the same size as the CX-30, although you wouldn’t guess that at first glance due to its rather styling. The EV is also differentiated from all current Mazda models by its “freestyle doors,” which are very reminiscent of those on the rotary-powered RX-8.

The MX-30’s EV powertrain is dubbed e-SkyActiv, and consists of consists of an electric motor driving the front wheels rated at 141 hp (105 kW) and 264 Nm of torque. Powering the e-motor is a 35.5 kWh battery that can be recharged via an AC or DC connection, the latter taking about 30 to 40 minutes to get from a 0-80% state of charge with a 50-kW input. Mazda claims a range of around 209 km, with a range-extender version featuring a rotary engine set to arrive later on.

We’re sure many of you are more focused on how the MX-30 looks, so let us take you on a brief tour of Mazda’s new EV before you voice out your thoughts in the comments section below.

GALLERY: Mazda MX-30

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Riped EV fruits from Toyota and Denso collabo,

• Shukor bin Azman on Oct 25, 2019 at 6:20 pm

Everybody is moving towards EV. Those companies still sleeping, pls wake up yea!

Then later, don’t cry for bailout when nobody wants to buy your outdated cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Really!? BTW, heard what happened to Dyson? Were you sleeping?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
        • Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Oct 29, 2019 at 9:42 am

Singapore Merdeka same time as Malaysia but one country is First World and the other is Third World. Enough said.

• Celup King on Oct 25, 2019 at 9:54 pm

Agreed! Perodua, are you listening?!

• Awang Selamat on Oct 26, 2019 at 6:17 pm

Perodua is owned by GLC UMW. They have no innovation and have this entitlement attitude in life. This is why they are lembap.

• thepolygon on Oct 25, 2019 at 4:39 pm

Does the center console with the Cork design chipped easily? Does it fear water?

• Haidi on Oct 25, 2019 at 6:25 pm

That kind of door has a name. It is called “Suicide Door”. Not sure why is it call Suicide Door? Google it.

• ugly
    and with suicide door it will be unpopular like rx8 ^^

• Darth_Zoom on Oct 27, 2019 at 9:12 am

Range of 209km, its ok for a city drive only. KL to JB (estimate 380km) meaning, your pit stop is an 1hr for full charge – by th way does anybody know th price for full charge battery…