Helmet use considered by many as optional – report

The excuse of ‘it is just a short distance’ should never be used particularly in the context of not wearing helmets when children are riding to school as accidents can happen regardless of the journey’s distance, said Melaka public works, transport and public amenities committee chairman Datuk Mohd Sofi Abdul Wahab, as reported by Bernama.

Many parents still regarded the use of helmets as a trivial matter as they do not wear the helmets themselves, in addition to not having their children wear theirs, said Mohd Sofi. “In the mornings and afternoons, parents will be sending or picking up their children from school. This is the peak period, so the probability of accidents happening is higher,” he told the news site.

Motorcyclists and pillion riders recorded the highest fatality rates in the country last year, comprising 4,128 out of 6,284 road users who died in 2018.

“I think that is selfish of the parents or guardians as they are not concerned about the safety of their children. In the event of a blow to the head which is unprotected, there is a high possibility of nerve damage and death. I hope the parents are aware and more concerned about the importance of wearing a helmet especially among children,” said Mohd Sofi.

Meanwhile, the habit of not wearing a helmet when riding to school to send or pick up children was not uncommon, Bernama reported civil servant Mohd Hanafiah Mohd Salim as saying. “Everybody knows it is a rule to wear a helmet when they ride, but they do not see it as a rule especially when enforcement is lax. The enforcers should set up road roadblocks near schools and issue warnings to the motorists,” he said.

Many parents also did not use the right size of helmets for their children, said private college lecturer, Sarimah Ismail. “In the event of an accident, the over-sized helmet would come off and fail to protect the children’s heads. Some also use helmets which are worn out, with broken straps or are broken,” she said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• v-tec fan on Oct 29, 2019 at 10:44 am

right on the spot paultan. i see some brainless parent give topi main-mainan to their kids… face palm…than when accident, they blame government lah, road lah, car driver lah but not their brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • redpilled on Oct 29, 2019 at 12:00 pm

Agree absolutely. But I’m a mean mofo, so I say let them and their offsprings win the Darwin Awards. If they’re too stupid to care about their safety then their DNA isn’t fit to be retained in this world.

• ikan kering on Oct 29, 2019 at 7:18 pm

Dignity deficiency tribe practices uncontrolled breeding offspring, offspring mischief turns mortality later becomes fertilizer buried six feet underground. Quantity vs. Quality.

• Jeremy on Oct 29, 2019 at 10:47 am

Not just going to school but the ahpeks & aunties in new villages goes around without helmet. That includes the young ahbengs zooming dangerously without helmets. Please make sure education is for all.

• Ollie on Oct 29, 2019 at 11:07 am

The government needs to recognise motorcycle safety as a national emergency of epidemic proportions.

Every day 70% of motorcycles run the red light at every traffic light I stop at. Motorcyclists don’t recognise speed limits, keeping in safe zones, lane markings, keeping distance, lane-splitting, etc

And their death rate is among top 10 in the world. 67% of road fatalities in Malaysia are motorcyclists.

Unfortunate that they seem to not only don’t want to be alive i.e. suicidal, they want to endanger their children, partners and other road users as well.

Mandate SIRIM-approved helmets at least. Online sellers are selling Spiderman and Hello Kitty helmets with no certification. And we have drivers buying seat belt stoppers to enhance their death wish.

If population control is a national priority, then fine no need to do anything.

• Chavez on Oct 29, 2019 at 2:51 pm

Just yesterday hujan lebat, i came across 1 geng Budak basikal lajak.. jalan 2 lane, the geng dah makan 1.5 lane. One kid can ride in and out, nasib baek 1 car the abang managed to avoid but swerved melelong his car…that budak summore sempat mencilok depan.. gud skill.

I was thinking if any car hit them, then konfom cedera parah dah pasti. i pull down window and scold them, when i slowly drived past. the whole gang and that budak cilok buat derkkk jer

• panjang on Oct 29, 2019 at 3:35 pm

Nah…all we need is just a strict continuous enforcement. Its almost free as enforcement officers are readily available.

• Agreed mojority of what you said

tho the top 10 is mostly because Malaysia is among few country that use motorcycle as alternate primary transport along side the like of thailand, indonesia, etc

Other country see motorcycle as hobbies or side transport and when they do use motorcycle, a full riding gear is basically norm (glove, jacket, shoes, helmet, etc).

But the plan to include dedicated bike road is pretty compelling

• POLICE JUST ACT BLIND ALWAYS WHEN SEEING THIS , ESPECIALLY IN KAMPUNG AND SMALL TOWNS. BINGO ! POLICE ENCOURAGES TOO !

• Vivizurianti on Oct 29, 2019 at 11:53 am

i see abang abang use toy helmet for their kids when riding on bike. The abang say no money to buy helmet for their kids……..however these abang can afford buying rokok to puff.

Malaysia boleh!

• This is true. While enforcement is a definite must, the law cannot be watching every single motorcyclist and warning/fining them at all times.

Partly it is also the all-too-famous Malaysian “tidak apa” attitude. I wear the safety belt every single time I operate a vehicle (or not, I still do as a passenger too, whether front seat or the back) because we understand the gravity of the safety issue.

So why not just don the safety helmet as long as you ride a motorcycle? It’s not that difficult. Concerns about the price of crash helmets is not even an argument because road safety is paramount! All motorists need to understand that safety helmets and safety belts are there to minimise the chances of injury whilst being on the road.

• Prinz Harry on Oct 29, 2019 at 3:44 pm

All these problems and nuisance are the product of archaic Malaysia law specifically JPJ motorcyclist rules and regulations that’s superseded the common international lawof today.
    Only in this nation, motorcyclist is king of the road, motorcyclist riding on highway that prohibits motorcycles, motorcyclist does lane splitting, car must gives way to motorcyclist to pass through first. motorcyclist must overtakes all cars then stops at the very front of traffic lights junction. motorcyclist blatantly rides motorcycle without valid license and insurance coverage, motorcyclist overloaded with more than one pillion riders, motorcyclist and pillion rider(s)not wearing and fastened safety helmet. Motorcycles with burned rear light, motorcyclist travels against traffic, motorcyclist beating red lights even in front of traffic police manning the junctions, and many more… If you are those motorcyclist mentioned above, please thumb down ok.

• Dredd on Oct 29, 2019 at 5:36 pm

The law is not the problem. All those you mentioned are actually breaking the law. It’s the enforcement that makes the difference. Too bad, some smarty pants say it’s better to mind our own business instead of strengthening the law enforcers. The thing is, even their lives can be lost just because of trivial ethnic location matters. If they are scared to uphold the law, then nothing works in society anymore. Give them the power to dispense justice and you will see crime rate down.

• raizey on Oct 30, 2019 at 9:14 am

People should be educated in civilized society.
        Prevention better than the cure…

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 29, 2019 at 8:03 pm

Spot on bro. The traffic rules are crazily skew favouring mat Moto.

Mat Moto hits a pedestrian crossing the road. Abang polis trafik rules mat moto salah 50%, pedestrian salah 50%. Huh?? This is fact. I got into such a situation years back. 2 nights in the hospital, broken leg, broken shoulder blade, crack ribs.

• some of you claim is valid, and some are not

lane splitting is legal because when you see how car sometime road hoarding or plain driving slow in fast lane

not to mention, when a traffic jam, we need to reduce congestion, if motorcycle doesnt lane split or overtake the traffic to be infront, imagine how bad traffic can be if a single motorcyle occupy full one lane space.

lane splitting is illegal in some other country simply because motorcycle is not that many in those other country

and there is matter of safety, motorcycle given priority to be in front (or be given way) simply because when emergency brake happen, a motorcyle isn’t as safe as car, since well, it’s to wheeled and prone to skiding, or outright drop and slide on the road, a car bumper is designed for crash even if worst happen

some other claim you give is valid tho, f to those who dont have proper license and insurance

• some of you claim is valid, and some are not

lane splitting is legal because when you see how car sometime road hoarding or plain driving slow in fast lane

not to mention, when a traffic jam, we need to reduce congestion, if motorcycle doesnt lane split or overtake the traffic to be infront, imagine how bad traffic can be if a single motorcyle occupy full one lane space.

lane splitting is illegal in some other country simply because motorcycle is not that many in those other country

and there is matter of safety, motorcycle given priority to be in front (or be given way) simply because when emergency brake happen, a motorcyle isn’t as safe as car, since well, it’s to wheeled and prone to skiding, or outright drop and slide on the road, a car bumper is designed for crash even if worst happen

some other claim you give is valid tho, f to those who dont have proper license and insurance

• MamatKampung on Oct 29, 2019 at 6:23 pm

Kat kampong aku, kalau nampak orang yang bawak moto tak pakai helmet, orang kampong aku panggil deme ni ‘organ donor’ atau penderma organ.

• ikan kering on Oct 29, 2019 at 7:12 pm

Kalau mat moto jadi orang penyet lepas aksiden dengan lori simen lori balak lori kontena, manada organ baik untuk derma? Mungkin jasad itu boleh guna sebagai baja untuk tanah kubur je.

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 29, 2019 at 7:56 pm

Using brains is also considered by many as optional.

• paparadzi on Oct 29, 2019 at 8:13 pm

Helmets are optional when the brain inside the head it is protecting is also optional.

• Adrian K on Oct 30, 2019 at 10:09 am

Helmet sizing is also important but sadly most ppl don’t know they think they just buy a helmet n put on their head n their are safe. Also all the open face helmet in Malaysian Market comes in only one size L. Helmtes are not one size fit all. If you’re wearing a size bigger than your head the helmet will move around and will not give much protection