RFID implemented on all open-toll highways from Jan

The Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) has announced that toll collection using radio frequency identification (RFID) technology will be implemented across all 62 toll plazas on highways using the open-toll system, starting January 1, 2020.

The organisation said that the move is expected to smoothen traffic flow at toll plazas, as users will no longer need to stop and tap a Touch ‘n Go card on a reader. It will also eliminate issues associated with SmartTAG, such as users lifting up their on-board unit too late or the wrong way around, or the battery being depleted (since the RFID sticker isn’t battery-powered), LLM said.

Linked to the RFID sticker is the user’s Touch ‘n Go eWallet, which they can reload via a smartphone app. The installation (which can be done through 18 stationary and 112 mobile fitment centres nationwide) and usage of the RFID sticker is currently free – minus toll charges, of course. Users are advised to ensure that their eWallet carries sufficient balance before entering a highway for a smoother experience.

Touch ‘n Go has been conducting RFID public trials since September 2018, and the number of users that have registered to use the system is said to have swelled to over 830,000. The trial period was extended to allow the company to iron out some of the flaws of the system.

The nationwide rollout of the RFID system is said to be the first step towards a Multi-lane Free Flow (MLFF) system that the government hopes to implement within the next two years.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• azrai on Dec 24, 2019 at 11:18 am

The RFID lane is limited (only 1 lane in some toll house). When the lane is close, a few car become entangled in dilemma because they don’t bring their T’N’Go and finally ending up parking in front of the big boulders between the lane.

• Engineer on Dec 24, 2019 at 3:47 pm

That is because it is still in trial stage. Once the rollout is official, more TnG lanes will convert to RFID. Much like how many of the previously cash only lanes been converted to TnG. It is only a matter of time.

• Heskey on Dec 29, 2019 at 11:27 pm

Why implement this if the government is going to abolish tolls?

• cashbak on Dec 24, 2019 at 11:18 am

Touch ‘n Go under CIMB , now No.1 MY ewallet.

• bot_tech on Dec 24, 2019 at 12:26 pm

PLUS belum sedia untuk implement sepanjang lebuhraya? Gagal. Tidak perlu guna TnGo E-Wallet.

• Malaysia – RFID system is terrible & is worse than SmartTag. When one introduce a new system – it is to improve the current system, but this RFID is more like to promote the e-wallet rather than improving the current system. The current RFID will cause more traffic than solving it. Please go for the active version than current passive version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Why it is worse, my experience so far is very good, ewallet can auto reload, no need to worry about battery

• just read feedback below and minus those who forgot to reload.
        BTW – if one need to slow down the speed of the car to the level that is same as SmartTag, what is new improvement? Only no battery issues and auto-reload?

• stuck on Dec 24, 2019 at 1:37 pm

RFID lane always stuck!! Cant read the damn thing! some RFID no touch n go receiver, so have to gostan all the way..and end up at touch & go lane…so inconvenience..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Apollo Creed on Dec 24, 2019 at 3:28 pm

Correct! When this happens, the driver is hardly to blame as the RFID is fitted by the technicians themselves.

• Fordist on Dec 24, 2019 at 4:13 pm

HAve you even though people didn’t reloaded their Ewallet. Yeah, many times I seen that happen. Not the fault of RFID tech dude

• Add A Comment on Dec 26, 2019 at 10:54 am

Many times…it is user problem. Don’t you RFID user knows that there is an auto-topup feature in your e-Wallet…come on….

• Mr Hakim on Dec 24, 2019 at 4:02 pm

Ayoh why not go ahead for the close-toll system as well.

• Derick Khoo on Dec 24, 2019 at 4:47 pm

Could have just walk across to SG and learn from what they do. But … I abstain from saying anything more.

• Dong gor on Dec 24, 2019 at 5:27 pm

Malaysia won’t go for something that works perfectly in one shot .. There must be phases to get there then only they can launch project after project to feed the family. And buy Maserati and Aston

• ManUniversal on Dec 24, 2019 at 9:29 pm

I changed my car headlamps recently because they became yellowish. I peeled off the RFID sticker on the old headlamp that was installed but I could not transfer it to my new headlamp because it was damaged. Now the trouble is for all damaged RFID stickers, you cannot go to any fitment centres for replacement but only the HQ can do that. How troublesome! Besides, I noticed the old headlamp had stained marks that won’t go off because of the RFID sticker. Now, I still don’t bother to get a replacement. I don’t want my new headlamp to get stained either!

• Add A Comment on Dec 26, 2019 at 10:55 am

Bodo…then u continue with your TnG card la…

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Dec 28, 2019 at 8:38 pm

I think you’ve met the wrong Touch N Go personnel. My wife’s car RFID sticker was defective, so I went to Petronas Batu 3 Federal Highway fitment centre. The TnG guy just proceeded to issue new sticker..very quick one, no need to give any document because they have all our data in their system. He said the old sticker might be placed too low, so the reader couldn’t detect especially on LDP. Now the RFID sticker is functioning without problem.

• Radio Frequency on Dec 25, 2019 at 12:25 am

The term used is RF which means Radio Frequency but still needs to be visible and that is ridiculous. I had seen RFID used in factories are more advance and cheap also need not to be visible at all. Why not use an Active RFID? These are cheap Passive RFID and ineffective and probably will be charged at RM200 when they start to bill for it, even costlier than of the an Active RFID.

• William on Dec 25, 2019 at 7:38 am

What’s is the speed our car need to slow down when using rfid ?
    There’s no information on this !

• Michael on Dec 25, 2019 at 10:51 am

My RFID fitted on headlamp but does not work. What can I do?
    Touching on the article above, about smart tag weak battery and Drivers don’t lift the tag in time (for those who don’t stick it to their windows) same issues with RFID are present. Look at me have to reverse all the time. Then you will have guys who won’t have enough cash in the e wallet, forgot handphone, handphone no battery etc…..SAMA juga smart tag!

• Malaysian on Dec 25, 2019 at 2:43 pm

Something wrong with the system or implementation, 10 usage, sure 5 times stucked, why not use something with better success rate like in SG or other countries

• johnnyk on Dec 26, 2019 at 9:52 am

impossible for “not need to stop”.

• Expect more traffic jams/stops at shared Smarttag and RFID lanes due to scanning failures (which I suspect is caused more by idiots holding the smarttag incorrectly).

It looks like the old school TnG lanes where you have to wind down your damn window will be the faster option.

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 26, 2019 at 11:04 am

You alls dunno meh? Here in Boleh-Land, we launch some old almost defunct standard and hail it as the next best thing since white rice.

The Village Hero-ness is super strong. We are blind to even what our neighbours have, preferring to ignore and champion what we are about to get. This tactic can be used to fool the ignorant villagers but in this age of online information, a simple Google search will reveal the truth.

• Ollie on Dec 27, 2019 at 5:07 am

Ldp rfid hasn’t worked for months. Most people just learn to avoid the lane. I call up touch and go, they say it’s ldp fault. I call up ldp, they said ye ke bang. Xtau la.