2020 Subaru Forester e-Boxer launched in Singapore – sole 2.0i-S EyeSight Hybrid variant; from RM378k

At last year’s Singapore Motor Show, Motor Image previewed the Subaru Forester e-Boxer, and fast forward a year later, the hybrid model was now gone on sale in the country. There’s only a single 2.0i-S EyeSight Hybrid variant on offer, priced from SG$124,800 (RM378,162) on-the-road including COE.

Visually, the Forester e-Boxer looks pretty much identical to the regular, fifth-generation SUV, with only a few “e-Boxer’ badges to mark it out. Under the bonnet, the model features a 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated, direct-injection, four-cylinder boxer engine that makes 150 PS at 6,000 rpm and 196 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm.

The engine is augmented by a 16.7 PS/66 Nm electric motor placed within the Lineartronic CVT, which draws power from a 4.8 Ah lithium-ion battery pack located under the rear boot floor – this is which is recharged via regenerative braking or the engine. Due to the placement of the battery, boot space does take a slight hit, decreasing from 520 to 509 litres.

The rest of the powertrain includes Subaru’s full-time Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive system with X-Mode and SI Drive modes. In terms of operation, the hybrid SUV is capable of running purely on electricity at low speeds for a short distance, like when initially setting off from a stop.

At medium speeds, the engine and electric motor work together for better efficiency, while at high speeds, only the engine is used to propel the car whilst keeping charging the battery. The system decides when the electric motor is called into action, with no user-selectable modes available.

The Singapore-spec Forester e-Boxer comes as standard with LED headlamps, 18-inch wheels, dual-zone climate control, a Panasonic eight-inch head unit (with Android Auto and Apple CarPlay support), powered front seats, Special X-Mode, seven airbags (front, side, curtain, driver’s knee) and the EyeSight suite of driver assistance systems.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mr Loba Loba on Jan 09, 2020 at 1:59 pm

Bought my Volvo XC90 T8 for 378k here. Syukurr

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 09, 2020 at 2:23 pm

Syukur Malaysia still cheapest in the region.

Kesian jiran Singapore. Even jepunis car and kos hidup so dem mahal there. Country is overrun with foreigners and getting pushed out of jobs & opportunities. Many who could left has left, and the warga emas could only find jobs cleaning plates at foodcourts. I do feel pity for their citizens , but grateful we Msians … whats else to komplen but berSyukur. maluApabossku !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • You feel pity for them they feel pity for you

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Jan 09, 2020 at 3:58 pm

Singapore Government servant earn average SGD8000 per month. (RM24,000)

Malaysia Government servant earn average RM1200 per month.

In Singapore Toyota CHR is SGD65k plus SGD35k for COE. Total is SGD100k

In Malaysia CHR is RM200k.

Who do you think can pay his car faster? RM24,000 vs RM1200??

• Ahmad on Jan 09, 2020 at 9:02 pm

Gotta increase Malaysia Government servant earn average RM24000 per month.

• EDITOR on Jan 09, 2020 at 11:34 pm

Yes, for one country the middle income earner said to be earning 3X more but still cannot afford to retire while another country even the lower income group can retire comfortably back in their kampungs. The answer is very clear which is better.

• Ghani on Jan 10, 2020 at 10:56 am

In Sinkie, ministers need to pay SGD 400k for their cars.
          In Mesia, ministers gets our poor taxpayers to pay RM400k for their cars.
          Who do you think will pay his car faster? Our ministers don’t even have to pay a single sen.

• The pity goes around but in the end, who lives and who dies. In Singapore, you are not allowed to die if you are poor hence many continue working until their deathbed.

• msia driver on Jan 09, 2020 at 2:37 pm

do you know now SGD 3.04 – RM 1 ?
      u no need buy SUV at SG, big car very expensive, normal jazz and civic is around sgd60k & 90k

actually cost living in MY is more higher than SG, go imagine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • rosdi on Jan 09, 2020 at 5:54 pm

378K , bawak 10tahun pastu scrap. go imagine.

• msia driver on Jan 09, 2020 at 11:42 pm

typical local Malaysian who always use converted currency to judge their living cost is less than Singapore.

• Ghani on Jan 10, 2020 at 11:06 am

Who told you cost of living in Mesia is higher?
        You go see Sinkie ministers need to buy their own cars for use but in Mesia our ministers gets luxury rides for free.
        You go see Sinkie ministers need to fly economy for official business but in Mesia our ministers fly private jets sponsored by rich businesspeople.
        You go see Sinkie ministers have to stay in 3Star hotels but in Mesia our ministers can stay in their own overseas properties and enjoy their horses.
        You go see Sinkie ministers have to do their own work by themselves but in Mesia our ministers have boytoys to playplay.
        You go see Sinkie ministers walk the talk and keep to their promises but in Mesia our ministers are so forgetful and lalang their excuses when reminded of their promises.
        You go see Sinkie FM is a capabled minister with full qualifications to head the finances but in Mesia our FM is an unqualified accountant who prefers to wrestle with shadow opponents than wrestle with our sinking economy.

• Amran on Jan 09, 2020 at 2:49 pm

Syukur for 60 years of well managed economy membangun. But now under PH, our economy menurun mendadak. Now we earn lowe salaries like the past but cost of living like S’pore. Cilaka kjaan PH! Dunno how to manage the country and economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Jan 09, 2020 at 3:59 pm

voice recroding already shows that because of dedak, country has gone down the drain and currrency collapsed

• Rosman on Jan 09, 2020 at 8:20 pm

Sure onot kunta. Hi can i advise u something?

• Geng Abang Nuar on Jan 10, 2020 at 11:10 am

Btul tu bos. Bang Nuar kata bukan dia, suara macam dia tp kena caya sama dia. Bang Azmin pun kata bukan dia, suara pun macam dia tp kena caya sama dia.

• Norlia on Jan 10, 2020 at 1:37 am

Yeah, too many people got caught in their thrills while playing sesama jenis. They portray themselves as clean and right leaders but behind their clean image, they play behinds. So geli these people.

• msia driver on Jan 09, 2020 at 2:25 pm

lolzz poultan convert currency pulak for misleading
    so in USA, USD25k = RM100k …lolzzz