Volvo to implement 180 km/h speed limit in Malaysia

Volvo’s resurgence in the past decade is truly a story to be marvelled at, having gone through a successful transformative era which saw the introduction of a new range of ravishing cars, most of which are properly luxurious and powerful.

The younger folks may not know this, but Nils Bohlin, a little-known Volvo engineer who invented the V-type three-point safety belt design some 60 years ago, has saved more lives than anyone else in the world. That’s because, instead of monetising his invention, the company chose to share the patented design to competitors in an effort to encourage mass adoption.

Fast forward today, Volvo makes some of the most technically advanced cars from a safety standpoint, but in 2008 it also made a promise that nobody should be seriously injured or killed in a new Volvo car by 2020. It’s a bold proclamation, but there are proactive measures in place to realise that goal.

To start, the company will impose a 180 km/h speed limit on all its cars globally, with hopes to highlight the dangers of speeding. A quick check with a representative from Volvo Cars Malaysia also revealed that the speed cap will be introduced here, although the period with which it will be enforced has yet to be specified.

The problem with speeding, Volvo says, is that above certain speeds, in-car safety technologies are no longer enough to avoid severe injuries and fatalities in the event of an accident. Despite that, speeding remains ubiquitous and is one of the most common reasons for fatalities in traffic. “People simply do not recognise the danger involved in speed,” says Jan Ivarsson, one of Volvo Cars’ leading safety experts. Thoughts, guys?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Try driving at 90kph and have an idiot pull out of the junction and not accelerating 15meters ahead of u..

Stupidity kills way more than speed..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 4
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jan 17, 2020 at 8:28 pm

What’s the use of supercharged, turbocharged, electrifying, and big CC? Volvo better build only 1.5NA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 11
      • Paparadzi on Jan 18, 2020 at 7:37 am

All new Volvos now comes with 2.0 engines.

• Awang Selamat on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:34 am

Good move Volvo. Goes to show Geely and Volvo care for Malaysians. This is why we must allow more Mainland people into Malaysia to help us govern our country better for better safety and prosperity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 30
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:19 pm

Agreed. The local variety are no longer welcomed. All they do is complain, complain, complain for 60 years but did not achieve much. You see the Mainland variety only needed 30 years to surpassed the local ones that had 60 years headstart. I suggest we replace the local ones with Mainlanders starting with our useless MOF.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
          • agreed, don’t forget to replace the 1.6 million Putrajaya civil servants too. They gaji buta

Replace with Mainland, only need 160,000. 10x less people but 100x more work done

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
        • Unga Bunga on Jan 19, 2020 at 9:14 am

Commie detected. I suggest you move out of Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • Malam Jumaat on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:46 pm

I noticed too many accidents happen on Thursday and Friday because people cannot concentrate on driving on those days. Thursday evening they are speeding back home and Jumaat morning they cannot forget about Thursday night

• redpilled on Jan 19, 2020 at 9:45 am

nah.. thats because of snorting drugs and too much partying with GRO, YB and special officers.you should know your masters love that kind of sh!t.

• I hear you bro! I see this all the time!

• Chavez on Jan 19, 2020 at 1:50 pm

Fully agree. It is time PDRM clamped down on these Thursday nite drunk drivers.

• Mohammad Johan Ariffin on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:00 am

I agree with you. All the Proton drivers are like that. They cannot concentrate with 12 people inside their car and babies crying non stop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • Chocobar on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:22 pm

Silly move, they will lose sales to BMW and Mercedes who have a 250 km/h limit. Most accidents are caused by drunk driver and not speeders. Maybe Volvo should install compulsory breath-analyzer test before driving their car if they are so concerned about safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
    • Proposed: Fast lane speed limit 180km/hr for car weight above 1500kg. Speed limit 150km/hr for car weight above 1200kg. Speed limit 120km/hr for car weight above 900kg.

• vivizurianti on Jan 17, 2020 at 6:58 pm

Can I advice you something, Volvo?
    Ask the driving to drive responsibly, and don’t be a Nanny.

If Volvo still wanna be Nanny, perhaps Volvo should install “emotion sensor” near driver seat. Once detected @#^@#$ audibly, the car lost 100hp, thus eliminate road bullying. hehe

This would work wonderfully, in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 6
    • Mohammad Johan Ariffin on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:01 am

Try to limit those people who dukung babies in the car as opposed to using car seats. Still see so many babies dukung on the laps. This is even more of a hazard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Sonyman on Jan 18, 2020 at 9:40 pm

I kid you not. In the near future there ve a features to do so when autonomous driving becomes more intelligent. A lot of drivers need a nanny…. Especially bangaa p and bangsa h.
      They may create a concoction of chemicals that will mix into the ac to calm you down when you drive too angry…

• It can mislead ppl that 180km/h is the maximum safe high speed.
    Even a Volvo will fail a moose test above 90km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • newcomer on Jan 17, 2020 at 7:01 pm

Jokes on you sitting in Volvo and an idiot probably with a Myvi. Anyway still a good initiative but I doubt “genius” in Malaysia will like it.

• Bye bye Volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
  • Bringbackmanual on Jan 17, 2020 at 7:30 pm

Good idea..should limit to 50kmh to really saves life..also price should reduce to rm180k max

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Hayenadeblue on Jan 17, 2020 at 7:38 pm

Ooooww, speed limit kau announce ye Volvo Malaysia? Yang kau diam2 buang Park Assist Pilot, speaker belakang kat XC40, takde pulak announce. Dah la takde pengurangan harga. #Diam2Tibai rupanya Volvo Malaysia.
    Pedulikla consumer guna ke tak, do not change the specs after launch!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
  • Kopi 'O' on Jan 17, 2020 at 7:42 pm

A good start to Volvo. But you have to know that if drivers don’t have a road safety awareness, then this point doesn’t change the current situation, no matter how we set the limits. The drivers broke the rules as usual. Although there were traffic lights everywhere, the driver seemed blind. Does Volvo really help with the speed limit on their cars? For me, it doesn’t change much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • potato on Jan 18, 2020 at 12:25 am

If the transport minister is smart, he would have initiated the rule to set a speed limit for all new cars within malaysia just like how Japan did it last time. no speed limit, no JPJ approval.

Also implement incentives to road user for example if they have a car with 130km/h speed limiter, they will enjoy discounts over insurance premiums.

• If this is compulsory with no option to be removed, gudbye volvo..u r not in my list anymore.
    Drove 180kmh on LPT/LPT2 was like 100kmh esp the road are most of the time empty…provided u r driving a proper car.
    Not viva, myvi,alza,saga,wira etc which are the one need to be limited to 150kmh only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
  • heybadigol (Member) on Jan 17, 2020 at 8:22 pm

Waiting for someone to come up with steering wheel that will zap its driver with electricity, if they change lanes without indicating. Hehe. That would be more useful to safety than a speed cap at 180 km/h, cos most people will never reach that speed anyways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • bezzalina on Jan 17, 2020 at 8:23 pm

Bezza has a built-in speed limit of 115km/h, it’s more safe than Volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Richard Tan on Jan 17, 2020 at 11:21 pm

No such thing as “more safe”… It is “safer”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • bezzalina on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:33 am

Thanks for agreeing with me. Bezza ‘is safer’ than Volvo.

• Angela Wong Pek Sim on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:05 pm

I think he/she is just correcting your English.

• the watcher on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:44 pm

How do you know? Do you know Richard Tan? Is he your neighbour? Or are you a witch that can read other peoples minds and predict the future too? Tell us more about you!

• Siam kap on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:20 pm

Forgive them. Bezza owners aren’t the most smartest of the bunch, which is why they buy Bezza in the first place.

• Chris on Jan 17, 2020 at 8:58 pm

If 180km/h is going to be limited, why build cars to drive to go so fast? Might as well reduce the capacity of technology on engine development, hence reducing fast engine and pay cheaper!!! LOL…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • potato on Jan 18, 2020 at 12:27 am

most cars are designed not for top speed but for acceleration. that is why despite many cars have over 200hp nowadays their top speed is still around 200km/h just like 120hp cars last time.

it’s all about efficiency and people focus more on speed within the 0km/h-120km/h range even though some cars have 8 speed transmission.

• choha on Jan 17, 2020 at 9:18 pm

180km/h is still too fast, should be 90km/h.
    there’re too many idiots motorists who treated their cars and the public road as their playground.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • potato on Jan 18, 2020 at 12:29 am

should be GPS module based on location where the car sets it’s speed limit according to the road limit. so if near a school, they can’t go over 15km/h, in parking spots, only 5km/h.

this also allows the opportunity to introduce automatic speeding reports to relevant authority should the driver exceeded the speed limits. this will work if the transport ministry enforce such rule.

• Chocobar on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:28 pm

Now you are being an idiot, do you even drive? Highway speed is 110 km/h.

• comeon on Jan 17, 2020 at 9:21 pm

is this in response to a certain hooligan youtuber owning a volvo? a bit drastic no?

• Kimchi Berveley on Jan 17, 2020 at 9:52 pm

Volvo car is shaking badly at high speed. Thats why speed control is needed. Not like other Germans that are so much more stable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
    • Shaun on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:52 am

Kimchi Berveley

Your mentality is RETARDED
      Totally out of control.

German cars that is shaking all the way to 200KM/hr if they can reached with all lose nuts and fallen into pieces thereafter.

• bezzalina on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:35 am

This is why Germany dorsn’t have a speed limit on hifhways, but Sweden has?

• Hilmi Tarzan on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:08 pm

China hiway got speed limit for all unstable china cars. Volvo is like floating at hi speed

• Khalid on Jan 18, 2020 at 8:02 pm

Maybe too many Jap cars like Toyota and Honda in china creating accident when they starting to float at speed above 120km/HR. Similarly implies for German car like VW too ( tendency to float at high speed very often )

• lorry on Jan 19, 2020 at 11:00 am

Volvo’s can run 110km/h in their home country (70km/h around Stockholm). As Volvo’s look like gravestones on wheels, it’s not recommended to go faster in a Volvo anyway.

• hagar on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:49 pm

Sweden has a 110km/h limit on highways (70km/h around Stockhol). As Volvo engineers can’t drive 180km/m anyway, they should set the limit to 110km/h.

• Chocobar on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:30 pm

I have actually followed a V40 on the LDP going at least 200 km/h during a midnight drive. Really surprised that the FWD Volvo can drive really smoothly at that speeds.

• V40 owner on Jan 18, 2020 at 6:36 pm

You must be kidding. And thank you for your great imagination

• potato on Jan 18, 2020 at 12:21 am

isn’t 120km/h the maximum speed limit for public roads in Malaysia? why only speed cut at 180km/h? they should implement a GPS module that limits the speed according to the roads the car is on and maybe remove the limit once it is within a race track.

• Chocobar on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:33 pm

If you cannot drive at high speeds, just shut up and follow the rules.

• SpeedFreak on Jan 20, 2020 at 9:08 am

yes and may i add, dont hog the right lane as you keep to the speed limit and let us pass!!!

• Lance on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:30 am

What’s the best exercise to reduce accidents?
    Volvo: limit their speed, cause our system not good enough to prevent accidents for high speed.

How much should you charge your customer?
    Volvo: same price, or even more will be good hmmm

What’s the reason people overtake other dangerously in highway
    People who did those dangerous “stunts”: People are driving too slow(110km/h) at fast lane

• Fuad Al Kharid on Jan 18, 2020 at 8:14 am

If that’s the case, Volvo won’t be my choice

• truepuod on Jan 18, 2020 at 9:08 am

aruz is not fast so it’s safe.

• Rizal on Jan 18, 2020 at 9:12 am

Too many so call engineer commenting without knowing the true fact that the highway was designed with 130 km/h speed limit. Then regulated to 110 km/h. You all commenting on years of study and research done by qualified engineers. You all try la drive on highway 180km/h then suddenly 1 big trailer change lane. Do you think your air bag /AEB/ ABS can stop you on time. Not talking about impact from those tail gating you at the back of you. Recently I saw an accident involving multiple cars with a lorry in Gopeng…despite with all the safety features in the new Perdana, both the wife and the child succumbed to the injuries. It’s the attitude of tail gating and driving exceeding more than 160 kph without consideration of other road user is one of the factor. Basically our highway is not a autobahn. You will definitely encounter trailer or lorry from 60 or 70’s traveling 50 kph on Malaysia highway.

• Angela Wong Pek Sim on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:11 am

The best thing of all, these “f1 drivers” can’t even pass the jpj driving test and got to resort to lesen terbang…

• Chocobar on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:37 pm

Don’t be stupid, even if you drive at 110 km/h and the lorry suddenly turn into your lane, it is very hard to stop in time too.

• vivizurianti on Jan 18, 2020 at 9:46 am

LOL…..Ferrari, Lambo, Porsche should follow Volvo foot step. Limit their top speed to 180kph, for the sake of safety of occupants.

• lorry on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:55 am

Ferrari, Lambo, Porsche have engineering capacity unlike Volvo who can only develop a single 2.0 engine together with the Chinese.

• Why Lorry & Bus no speed limiter?? on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:00 am

Is there any speed limiter enforced on bikes, lorry , pickup and bus?
    These vehicles r more dangerous to the road user, especially bus and lorry.
    Please limit to 90km/h for this big vehicles.
    Sometimes is weird that passenger vehicle need alot of safety tech but buses & lorry didnt have..
    These kind of vehicles shld have all the safety tech, especially the braking & traction system and blindspot monitor.

• bezzalina on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:39 am

Acctually, the ones imported from Europe HAD a speed limiter. This is the first item removed when they reach malaysian shores.

• Chocobar on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:39 pm

I often see fat rempits on kapchais going at 120km/h and above on the federal highway. They should force all the kapchai manufacturers to put 90 km/h limit on these bikes.

• Ah Ron on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:03 am

IMHO Volvo just wasting their time and money. Cars are crawling in Malaysian highway or most part of city in Malaysia. We are just waiting for time to standstill. If the road is empty miraculously, there will be an idiot driving like grandma of granny in speed lane. If we avoided this all like eclipse, most Malaysian don’t like Volvo. We need only myvi.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:48 pm

Its idiots behind the wheel and not speed that kills you.

• Raja Rizal Kamrul on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:51 pm

I totally agree, I commute every week from Penang to KL and back for the last 15 years. I can tell you , no matter how good a driver you are, and how good a car is, speeding is dangerous. Even trucks should be limited to 90 on the highways.

• The only way to eliminate road accidents is taking away elements on human behaviour, mood, carelessness and stupidity. By then all cars are auto pilot without a need of driver and steering. In the 80s, we were optismistic that they can be seen everywhere in 2020.

Sadly sci-fi movies had promised too much for us. Today, we can still see rubbish and cigarette buds being thrown out of the vehicles, people are carrying their baby on their laps, adamant drivers park and double park at any busy junction, drivers are hogging on fast lanes all the time (most of the time luxury brands). When the car is more expensive so as their ego.

Happy New Year, all the best less stupidity on the road in 2020!

• Saladin on Jan 18, 2020 at 5:47 pm

If u carsh at 120kmh or 180kmh or 240kmh still u dead. Whats the different

• Gerard Gomez on Jan 18, 2020 at 9:35 pm

Both active & passive safety features are of little use if there is an idiot behind the wheel. Defensive driving & car control techniques shd be mandatory disciplines for learner drivers & all those applying for a drivers license irrespective of vehicle type.

• It’s damn funny, if like this we cannot call Volvo a beast, looks like your car is not stable in high speeds like German cars, sure Volvo is going to lose business with these type of statements.

• They are only honest: “Driving in a Volvo >180km/h is live threatening” is what they say.

• eeeriz on Jan 19, 2020 at 11:56 am

I disagreed. Most volvo drivers drove sensibly. Even those with the latest XC90 and XC40, seldom seen them speeding on highways. Yang selalu speeding adalah Myvi, Alza, Vios dan City. Sekian.

• marib on Jan 19, 2020 at 8:18 pm

Very right. As the eyesight is getting worse above 65 (the average age of a Volvo driver), it’s only natural. Anyway, it’s absolutely okay that Bezza 1.0 drivers now have an alternative to choose.

• AZAMIRUDDIN AHMAD on Jan 20, 2020 at 8:06 am

ALL Japanese recond family sedan/cars have 180 speed limit cut-off… unless you ‘flash’ the ECU..

• Anti Kap Chais on Jan 20, 2020 at 10:15 am

I think Malaysia should ban all kap chais on the road, they’re a nuisance and drive as though their father’s road. Nak mati cepat cari cara lain la!

• Tee For on Jan 20, 2020 at 4:51 pm

Be a responsible manufacturer Volvo has taken a good decision to limit their speed to 180kmh. You cant control any idiot from driving but you can control the speed of you product to minimize the risk of fatality.

• Dont comply half way but comply to it 100%..limit the speed to 110km/h and limit your price to rm110k….shallow thought policy….