Perodua D55L SUV: DNGA confirmed, 1.0L Turbo, electrification, autonomous drive likely – launch Q4?

Perodua today presented its full year review, where it revealed its sales performance for 2019, along with a bevy of other information. One of the highlights of the presentation was the strategic direction that the company is taking with regards to its future.

It’s well known that Perodua has been working closely with Daihatsu for a very long time, and the national carmaker is aiming to take things to the next level by becoming a global player as an ASEAN development hub.

In one of the slides, we see that it plans to develop models based on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA), which is also used for the Rocky, a model that has been widely associated as the base for Perodua’s upcoming D55L B-segment compact SUV.

While there’s no official word that the D55L will indeed be based on the Rocky, the evidence has been very strong that this is indeed the case. Further reinforcing this notion is, when asked about the D55L project, Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad replied, “our next model will use DNGA platform,” without disclosing further details.

Perodua’s outlook on future market trends like downsized, turbocharged engines supports this assumption, especially as the Rocky is powered by a 1.0 litre turbocharged engine. Perodua posits the use of such engines, as their smaller capacity equates to less road tax, which bodes well for affordability. Additionally, turbo engines can provide the same power output as NA engines with larger capacities, and their more compact size contributes to better fuel efficiency and lower emissions.

Other features we can look forward to with the D55L include the adoption of Level 2 autonomous driving system, which is available with the Rocky. Other trends that Perodua are keeping an eye on including electrification, although this could be approached in a lighter fashion, with mild hybrid technology being deployed before more advanced ones like full hybrids or even plug-in hybrids.

The carmaker is also looking to reduce the takt time – the average time between the start of production of one unit and the start of production of the next unit – at its two production entities, namely Perodua Manufacturing Sdn Bhd (PMSB) and Perodua Global Manufacturing Sdn Bhd (PGMSB).

Currently, the Myvi is made at PMSB with a takt time of 1.8 minutes, while the Axia and Bezza come from PGMSB. The newer PGMSB plant is more of interest, as the company is looking to reduce its takt time from two minutes to 1.6 minutes by September this year.

While Datuk Zainal did say this was meant to facilitate more production of the facelifted Bezza, it isn’t far-fetched to assume that the lower takt time could be part of efforts to slot in production of the D55L as well, with a Q4 2020 launch likely.

Adding to this is the fact that Perodua will increase its investment this year by RM490.1 million to RM1.06 billion, with 20% (around RM200 million) being dedicated to enhancing its manufacturing facilities. This is another indicator that the company is gearing up to ensure sufficient supply of the D55L when it is launched.

If that isn’t enough additional proof, Datuk Zainal also stated that Perodua has the capability to introduce one facelift and one new model each year. Given that the Bezza already received its facelift this year, there’s only a new model to look forward to this year, and that is very likely the D55L.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• 2 national car brand I like.
    Pro2 and Pro3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Popular on Jan 21, 2020 at 2:07 pm

For me, I like P1, D55L SUV and maybe P3. Anyway, besides that,

Aruz and BRV sales will be killed by both Toyota Raize, Perodua D55L SUV and Proton X50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • Mee goreng mamak on Jan 21, 2020 at 2:38 pm

Syabas!! In Q4 of 2020, Perodua Game-Changing D55L SUV will be a hit and instantly becoming the best selling SUV in it’s segment, Gaming Proton X50 over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
        • The Accountant on Jan 21, 2020 at 10:50 pm

Whicht engine for you?
          Turbo on RON97 (up)
          NA on RON95 (down)

• Mario on Jan 21, 2020 at 4:10 pm

Sudah lah mario. enough of your hatred against honda

• Ayam percik on Jan 21, 2020 at 4:59 pm

You are almost right! When P2 launch their Game-Changing D55L SUV, then every Honda cars and X50 will be Game Over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
        • Nasi goreng salah on Jan 21, 2020 at 5:50 pm

When Proton X50, Perodua D55L SUV and Toyota Raize which are game changer that launches here, it is more likely to be game over for Honda BRV and Perodua Aruz

• Perodua got vision. They know electrification is the way. What happened to Iriz EV? Proton showcased that car 6 years ago and then witheld it and asked the Government for a few billion extra kononnya to do more research on EV

Now what happened?

The billions mana? Songlap

• azrai on Jan 21, 2020 at 1:59 pm

Why should P2 must like ‘answering’ all the P1 statement? Yesterday, P1 announced to sell X50 this year, suddenly P2 counter reaction with this Rocky news? Should P2 doing this? Is P1 their competitor, because LCR don’t think so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • Just fanboy syiok sendiri make that comparison, actually both are different size, different segment SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Axxx Kataxxx on Jan 22, 2020 at 10:34 am

Ohh u mean like u ever compare a different class x70 and aruz previously right? But now aruz mesia top selling suv worrr. How? Hahaha now eat ur own words. Stupid idiot no wonder u really a katak bawah tempurung. Hahaha.

• Raize on Jan 21, 2020 at 2:56 pm

P2 is answering the now a day people interest toward compact suv trend.
      P2 d55l project was since last year bro. Not new. P2 not even have time to compete wif p1. As u can see myvi sales only already kaotim all p1 whole year sales. So u think p2 bother to compete?

• P1>p2 on Jan 21, 2020 at 3:13 pm

Thats why they r call p2.. alwys follow what p1 do

• Whattttttt on Jan 21, 2020 at 3:17 pm

(When asked about the D55L project, Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad replied, “our next model will use DNGA platform,”)
      He’s not even bothered by X50 announcement, instead focusing on P2 future for greater good

• PityP1 on Jan 21, 2020 at 2:15 pm

Habislah x50 x70!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • Alpha M on Jan 21, 2020 at 2:15 pm

This is good for the customers as it will be a direct competition with the upcoming X50.

• The direct competitor X30 probably will launch next year.

• Direct competitor is VW T cross 1.0T.

• Haruskan on Jan 21, 2020 at 9:30 pm

So u knw x50 will failed and will fell behind rocky, so u talk abt x30 next year pulak. Good u realize p1 goin bad.

• remox on Jan 21, 2020 at 2:16 pm

Alza will be 12 years old if no replacement this year…

• Come to papa on Jan 21, 2020 at 2:18 pm

Oh yesssss. I want this p2 rocky. Cant wait. Plz put sunroof on.

• I would prefer Perodua than Proton..
    Toyota/Daihatsu > Geely
    No one can fault Toyota’s incredible reliability..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Honey on Jan 21, 2020 at 9:55 pm

You obviously clueless about the many issues popping up, an example is Myvi fuel pump recall done quietly

• Ben Yap on Jan 21, 2020 at 2:52 pm

Finally perodua listens to my rant of having a turbo charged engine. My complaining don’t go in vain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Haha bros on Jan 21, 2020 at 3:17 pm

as usual, peroduak slides by fresh grad uitm student. so lousy with typo and low quality presentation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Ksatria on Jan 21, 2020 at 7:54 pm

Aha! Electrification at last.

• muhammad arshad mustapaha on Jan 22, 2020 at 12:41 am

For turbo engine.. how about the maintainance cost for long term.. i mean in term of durability and well.. this is malaysian car.. most buyer are m40 or b40 user… mostly laa..

• Myvi 1st gen driver on Jan 26, 2020 at 4:25 pm

Perodua, please listen and bring in only the 1.0 Litre Turbo model as per original JDM. Just like my Myvi / Toyota Passo / Daihatsu Boon; until today superb quality, unlike your next few gen Myvi. Face the facts, learn more from Daihatsu 1st for your 1.0 Litre Turbo into Malaysia and remake your mark to the Next Level like how Myvi did over 13 years ++ ago. Don’t be over ambitious and don’t cut corners like putting the Myvi engine into D55L.

• muajei on Jan 26, 2020 at 8:18 pm

don’t forget the rear Aircon vents for this Malaysian Rocky