The 2020 Honda City has made its first appearance in Malaysia – spyshots of a camouflaged mule undergoing localised road trials on the Federal Highway in Kuala Lumpur have emerged on The Ajerul‘s Facebook page. Before you get too excited, the car’s market debut is expected to be some time away, possibly late in the year.
The fifth-gen City made its world debut last November, and in Thailand will go on sale with only one engine option, a 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder VTEC mill offering 122 PS at 5,500 rpm and 173 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 4,500 rpm. This is paired with a continuously variable transmission (CVT) with seven virtual speeds.
Dimension-wise, the new City is 113 mm longer (4,553 mm) and 53 mm wider (1,748 mm) than its predecessor, but gets a 10 mm decrease in height (1,467 mm) and a wheelbase that is 11 mm shorter (2,589 mm). Despite the shorter wheelbase, there’s actually more leg room and knee clearance, thanks to the reprofiled rear seats.
The cabin features an entirely new dashboard design, with slight hints of the new Jazz (not such a bad thing, really). There’s an off-centred infotainment display, vertical-style air vents, new steering wheel design with a smaller centre boss, as well as a generally tidier cockpit that’s more pleasant to the eyes.
In Thailand, the City is available in four variants (Grade S, V, SV and RS), with prices ranging from 579,500 baht (RM76,940) for the entry-level S to 739,000 baht (RM98,100) for the range-topping RS.
GALLERY: 2020 Honda City 1.0L Turbo RS, Thailand-spec
People will no rather buy Honda because of quality and aftersales is very cheapskate. This City Turbo definitely no AEB, no land departure warning, no blind spot monitor and etc. Rather buy other b segment car that has more safety features and more reliable
Dont you feel bored sharing same copy and paste story over and over again. Find a proper job, keyboard warrior pay is just peanut. Yoh cant even afford a motor bike as a keyboard champion.
(Like) Vios and Almera 2020
(Dislike) City Turbo
Enjoy honda cvt gearbox. But will be short term, because there are too many problems of using cvt gearbox, feels jerking. And ask you to pay more costlier
Used to be worst for proton happens in few years ago. But now, honda is their turn to get worst as well
Habis lah Vios. Long live the King (Beng) of B segment
Dunt buy white, gets dirty easily, dunt buy black, cuz it absorbs heat and becomes very hot
New honda city is more mature and sophisticated outside and inside than ever before. Leaving its competition behind
Looks very uninspiring and dugong. Unlike Vios and new Almera
So, thailand production had issue and recalled and halted delivery. Continue testing at other country, in this case Malaysia.
Mmmm.. interesting.
Apparently, they offload their rubbish elsewhere.
Wow. why new cars now all getting bigger and bigger? The new city is even longer than previous 9th Gen Civic (4525mm) and almost similar width. About C segment size now.
This city wheelbase is shorter than the current one so u get less leg room.
In 2017
Honda CRV 1.5 TCP – RM164K
Mazda CX-5 2.2 – RM167K
In 2020
Honda CRV 1.5 TCP – RM109K
Mazda CX-5 2.2 – RM135K
Honda always low RV
ttied calculate it.. mazda lost 38% of purchase price compare 33% of crv
Honda always copying from other car design. Sack honda designer
this honda city will sell more than bezza and saga. just top up a few hundred a month, you can have a car that’s faster and better quality.
It already looks like a first gen Bezza.
DRB Honda always never improve and will ruin Honda branding
– Need to redesign City. Everything looks same and nothing to be excited about
– City is still unsafe car. Less sleeker, less safety and less favourable for Malaysian
– service and quality is also very unsafe
No one bother to buy honda already la…new gen City still looks toooooo outdatedddd!!
Good news! Can’t wait to upgrade from my God car Myvi 1.5 Manual to this so that I can tapau more GTRs and BMWs on the road with High Beam LED while still returning 20km per litre fuel on RON 95 ProDrive… :-/
With this car, many will not buy this city. honda marketing team and management are just too greedy and arrogant.
Very crap car. Next please
My civic always problem but sell off like faulty part plus for some Honda models. EPS (Electonic Power Steering) got problem. Also when I drive at the low speed, I heard that there is a crackling noise from Drive Shaft and also Relay on/off for more than 10 times in 1 second which gives problem. Therefore, as I went in to the Honda showroom, Honda people didn’t greet me. This shows that Honda Customer Care is very terrible as well. This is actually why Malaysian is cheated by Honda Malaysia.
baby G20, time for some genting drive
2 things guaranteed to happen if this Honda City is launched in Malaysia:
1) Price hike (excuses given: weak ringgit, limited parts due to factory closure, etc)
2) Spec “K” (kosong of safety feature, limited ICE components and low quality trims). Other countries however get better spec for their cars.
Honda fan bois, surely die-die-will-support while other smart buyers will shop for better deal.
ugly car
Despite the shorter wheelbase and height, there’s actually more leg room and knee clearance, thanks to the reprofiled rear seats.
Means the car seats height are lowered ( reprofile) compare to the car seat of current model .
So hips support will be decreased slightly and not good for long distance drive right??
Look Ah Beng
Please don’t recall after lunching
The off-center dash really bothers me a lot…
Things that Honda Malaysia should consider when launching new city in Malaysia soon. Note that Thai model did not get this feature even on high spec model.
– Rear aircond vent.
– Folding Rear seat
– Honda Sensing atleast in high spec RS or maybe V
I also hope that new city come with these feature in Malaysia
– Standard 6 Airbag on all variant
– RS variant
– New HU with Apple Car Play and Android Auto with Honda Connect telematics system. The current facelift HU is totally sucks.
Then you can reclaim as king of B segment sedan
HM, now is Y2020, no need bring in this City to MY if there no standard fitment of AEB across all trim.
MY Gov are still sleeping, haven’t wake to set mandatory AEB(& ESC) for all new car launch…. all they want is to earn more tax
why still need camouflage when you are only assembler????the new city looks more boxy than previous gen…1.0 Turbo?better wait for the P2 SUV…
Honda seriously needs to improve its quality in its CKD cars. My previous Proton had better QC.
My CKD Honda started rattling when it was 2-days old (B-pillar and dashboard) and haven’t been solved until now. Then, aircond compressor and VSC-modulator kong. Luckily there’s warranty. But had to waste my annual leave and took Grab for that.
This Honda City made in Thailand,so the quality is better