28-year old man arrested for speeding on Penang bridge during MCO – motorcycle exceeds 260 km/h

It is common in these days of action cams and smartphones to upload your exploits on social media but a 28-year old male from Penang found to his detriment there is no escaping the long arm of the law. Bragging about traversing the Penang Bridge in the shortest time possible, the youth uploaded a video of him riding his Kawasaki ZX-6R at high speed.

From the video, the digital readout exceed 260 km/h and it was obvious from the sound of the engine over the video the throttle was maxed out. His riding also included changing lanes several times and weaving in and out of traffic, light as it is during these times of the Movement Control Order (MCO).

This is obviously against the law, the police responded quickly in apprehending the young man who is reported to work as a nurse in a hospital. He will be charged under Section 42 (1) of the Road Transport Act 1987 for dangerous riding.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Zuchie on Apr 22, 2020 at 5:28 pm

when ignorance dominates the human mind…

• YB Albert on Apr 23, 2020 at 12:02 pm

Dude should be jailed 2 years minimum…so each day he can fantasize speeds of up to 350km/hr in the lokap.
      Since he wants to rempit his speedy skills,he can dream all he wants in jail.Innocent drivers can be killed due to his crave for speed.
      When he comes out of prison,suspend his licence further..so that he has to take Grab every day to work.

• Raja Kamarul on Apr 22, 2020 at 5:32 pm

You mean stupid man, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • jom minum Teh halia on Apr 22, 2020 at 8:14 pm

This is trully a dangerous and crazy act by a certain Game Over mat rempit just to show off in the social media. I hope the law enforcement can give a Game-Changing heavy punishment to him for going out with stupid reason during MCO and cause danger in the bridge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • Penang folks and stupidity berpisah tiada

• Ahcong on Apr 22, 2020 at 5:37 pm

Padan muka..very irresponsible

• panjang on Apr 22, 2020 at 7:09 pm

Balasan sbb upload video utk berlagak.
      Kalau niat dia upload utk sedekah amal jariah mesti tak kantoi…hahahahah

• Leafable on Apr 22, 2020 at 5:38 pm

Kawasaki ZX-6R baru Rm80k. So 800 sebulan jek

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Apr 22, 2020 at 5:46 pm

Blame the dealer… for bringing in Sonic Bike

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • seancorr (Member) on Apr 23, 2020 at 5:56 pm

Blame Honda Malaysia for bringing in Sonic Civic. See too many times a lot of Sonic Civics breaking the law coz the owners think their puny little engines are so powderful.

• Aikon on Apr 22, 2020 at 5:57 pm

Moral of the story, don’t post your secrets on social media! Never know who will pick the news up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Police is soo boring nowadays... on Apr 22, 2020 at 6:10 pm

Cheer up Abang2. Hidup ini sekali sahaja. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • vivizurianti on Apr 22, 2020 at 6:29 pm

I might suggest that once accident happened, leg broken and hospitalized, he should try doing 260km/hr on a wheel chair.

• kapcai on Apr 23, 2020 at 1:35 am

wrong….any accident with 260km/h, he will just land on the hell..

• Joyce on Apr 23, 2020 at 1:21 pm

Then he could upload his 260km/week record in his revovery therapy session at hospital.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 23, 2020 at 1:57 pm

At 260kmh, they will be cleaning you off with a scraper and a bucket.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 22, 2020 at 7:06 pm

Well done abang-abang polis for quickly apprehending him! We don’t need idiot moves such as this. If he’d ride himself off the bridge and we don’t need to retrieve his body, I’m all for it. However we’d need to break MCO just to find his sorry corpse…. so better to fine him this time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • C.P. MOHAN on Apr 22, 2020 at 7:09 pm

I support police action on speeding, however my concerns are the recorded speed and sound which too me is not accurate or even illogical, speaking as a non-lawyer and someone who do not own a high powered bike

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • dream_125 on Apr 22, 2020 at 10:25 pm

I used to have a high-powered bike in Europe and you might be right. At 260km/h on the Autobahn, the wind noise is so loud that you can’t hear the engine any more.

• Danny Tay on Apr 23, 2020 at 12:44 am

Well then if we apply your logic, a masked burglary video cannot be accurate or even illogical, because there is no face recorded and no fingerprints found, speaking as a non-lawyer and someone who has never attempted break-in…

• dream_125 on Apr 22, 2020 at 7:24 pm

Possibly interesting for Malaysians: A GT-R driver in the UK, who was caught with 309km/h on the highway, was sentenced to 28 months prison and his driving license was suspended for 10 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Jeremy on Apr 22, 2020 at 10:45 pm

IN UK, it is legal to change name and wipe the slate clean, even applying for new license if the old one got barred.

• dream_125 on Apr 23, 2020 at 4:49 pm

It it also legal in the UK to change the name to avoid a 28 month prison term? ;)

• His license should be suspended for next 2 years to teach him a lesson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • He definitely need to polish his skill to become our new motoGP rider. Not suspended him

• Damond on Apr 23, 2020 at 8:55 am

The similar speeding cases happen around the country any time, he get caught because he still alive, others can’t be caught as they already migrated to heaven.

• Untung Manyak Wang on Apr 23, 2020 at 9:06 am

Why no H2R video?

:)

• vivizurianti on Apr 23, 2020 at 11:08 am

Hopeless dumbass rider. If you wish to die it is 100% ok with me. Please dont create problem to other road users when accident happened.

Abang-abang polis oredi lama penat berkerja at road blocks. Please dont give them more problem picking up pieces of your bodyparts on the road.

Alternatively, just ride and fall in to the sea. Semua ok.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Apr 23, 2020 at 11:20 am

There are many Malaysian youtube cockpit view videos of perfromance cars speeding, example a guy with Mercedez A AMG..etc.

I should report to the Police on this?

• john is otak batu on Apr 23, 2020 at 11:47 am

He should post himself in jail suit & cuffs b4 ended in lockup. That would make him famous.. Err 2nd thought I’ll post him up when he’s in lockup news! :D