2020 SYM VF3i 185 LE launched in Malaysia – RM9,338, now with 19.7 hp and 17.4 Nm torque, ABS

Aside from the official Malaysian launch of the 2020 SYM Maxsym 500 scooter, distributors MForce Bike Holdings also released the 2020 SYM VF3i 85 LE supercub, priced at RM9,338, RM1,000 more expensive than the previous model. The VF3i 185 LE is now available at all authorised SYM Malaysia dealers and comes with a two-year or 20,000 km manufacturing warranty.

With the ‘LE’ in the name standing for limited edition, the VF3i, as a production variant, will have a maximum of 5,000 units produced and is set apart from the standard model with matte grey paintwork and apple green graphics, along with wheels painted green. Additionally, a small flyscreen is fitted as standard equipment on the VF3i 185 LE.

The biggest change for the 2020 VF3i 185 LE is found inside the 183 cc, liquid-cooled SOHC engine. Modifications have been made to the throttle body, up 30 mm from the previous 28 mm, as well as the head, counter balance shaft and exhaust, allowing the VF3i to put out 19.7 hp at 9,000 rpm and 17.4 Nm of torque at 7,500 rpm, an increase over the previous 17.7 hp and 16.67 Nm.

A notable improvement and a first in its class for Malaysia is the inclusion of ABS for the VF3i’s braking system – 230 mm front disc and 200 mm rear. Other upgrades from the older model VF3i include LED tail lights, revised instrument panel as well as adjustable brake and clutch levers.

In other aspects, the 2020 VF3i 185 LE remains the same, including rolling on 17-inch wheels shod in 90/80 front and 120/70 rear tyres. Fuel is carried in a 7-litre tank with a weight of 124 kg, along with a Euro 3 certification for the engine.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Kesian abam abam sekalian. Kapcai used to be available at RM2-3k only….now up to RM9k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
    • 4G63T DSM on May 20, 2020 at 1:50 pm

U punya 2-3k bila ya? Dulu my EX5 already 4700 back in 96.

If anything, basic kapchai has gotten cheaper, given inflation.

And this isn’t your normal kapchai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
    • Rakyat Malaysia on May 20, 2020 at 2:46 pm

Until the PH made NAP2020 is fixed, we will continue to have ridiculous high prices for cars and motors. I blame this all on PH and their greediness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
  • dream_125 on May 19, 2020 at 6:58 pm

I don’t think this is a good development. In Europe, small bikes were only limited to 125cc in the past. But when Aprilia, Cagiva and others reached 36hp and top speeds around 165km/h, the governments pulled the emergency brake because of rising accidents and limited the engine capacity to 15hp. I fear that sooner or later Malaysia will pull that emergency brake too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • zetaplus on May 23, 2020 at 10:25 am

what shxt logic is that, putting the blaming on the machine? LOL. the fact is, most accident happen because the attitude of the driver or rider on the road, they go like mad thinking that they on a race track or something. what the gov REALLY need to do is strict education for the mass, stricter law on the road, and make them really pay for drive or ride like crazy people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • vivizurianti on May 19, 2020 at 7:02 pm

Syukur x1000. Kapchai still below 10K.

• alldisc on May 19, 2020 at 8:19 pm

This bike is cheaper than Yamaha y15, has 6 speed box compare to Yamaha 5 speed, has more engine power and a higher top speed in standard spec and more importantly bigger fuel tank.

Will Malaysians buy this over Yamaha y15? Nope.

But I will.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
    • Rider on May 20, 2020 at 9:11 am

I think I would upgrade my current Dash to this – looks stunning and has ABS which is so good! Anyway its a stepping stone to have ABS on this bike – now i hope all follow-suit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Well, it’s completely different bike class, a full faired sport bike vs cub, it has completely different construction and not to mention r15 overall bill of material is higher than a cub. I do agree r15 is expensive than necessary but that mostly due to store markups, if anything it also due to lack competition in 150cc sportsbike segment (we have what? Pulsar 200?). Malaysia small displacement bike (under 250cc) space is to blame here because it lacking in competition.

• Car motorcycle & truck on Jun 30, 2020 at 8:20 am

Yes agreed…But again those posers follow trend..Artists being paid for promoting the overrated Y15 and you need tons of modifications to make it past 150kmh..In the end more extensive maintenance added..SYM is good but again there’s some minor hiccups they should look into..

• Alpha D on May 20, 2020 at 8:54 am

Arguably it has better spec on paper compare to Y15.
    But reliability, popularity and good looks takes precedence hence the reason Malaysians will choose Y15.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • dream_125 on May 20, 2020 at 4:45 pm

Sym actually had a joint venture with Honda from 1961 to 2002, they even built Honda cars for the Taiwan market. Reliability and availability of spare parts is good, the smaller Sym bikes are quite popular in Kedah.

• Kubis 19 on May 21, 2020 at 1:26 pm

Looks are subjective to individual preference.
      Reliability depends on how one look after the machine. SYM is not like some other ‘rubbish’ brand.

Y15 sell bcoz of popularity alone. I go a chance to experience one and i must say that Y15 does not justify its price tag from the material used and finnishing. Mechanically its as sound as any other super moped.

If i am looking for a super moped, my choice would be the RFS coz of the unique sound it produce in stock form. While RS and Y15 just ‘bzzzzz’ by, RFS produce a growling sound.

• Lookwise it is like 15 years ago LC135 look and design. no one will buy it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • Aikon on May 22, 2020 at 3:13 pm

This will be an interesting addition to the market. With the reported 200cc-250cc Benelli cub being a possibility some time soon, things are going to be interesting in the cub market. But for those who think cubs are priced sky high now, it is only for these premium ones. There are still cheap ones out there for the masses.

• takeshi on May 25, 2020 at 6:39 pm

motocycle cup for my opinion is convenience simple and go , thats why i’m feel sad for no auto clutch version because less convenience

• Rizal on Jul 01, 2020 at 1:17 am

Saya dah beli.. 120km/h average speed for my weight 100kg n wife 70kg is easy to maintain.. Cant go too fast coz im affraid of speed now

• I feel you bro.
      Naik gt128 140 pun rasa slow je.
      Naik motor ni 110 pun dah rasa laju.
      Balik kg haritu je brani naik 150 lpastu dah tobat.
      Naik laju2 seram.

• Je voudrais acheté une moto et je suis en côte d ivoire