Rapid Bus commuters are now able to check the real-time location of Rapid KL buses on Google Maps thanks to a partnership between Prasarana and Google. The new feature on the navigation app covers nearly 170 bus routes in the Klang Valley including LRT and Go KL feeder buses as well as Smart Selangor buses.
According to Prasarana, commuters were previously only able to know the real-time location of buses by inquiring with Rapid KL. From January to April 2020, Rapid KL received 4,865 inquiries, of which 60% were from those wanting to know the locations or frequencies of buses.
The integration with Google Maps offers commuters the ability to better plan their travel routes using a combination of buses and rail services, with bus stop information and estimated travel times. Moving forward, Rapid Bus plans to expand real-time location tracking to include MRT feeder buses followed by rollouts to Rapid Penang and Rapid Kuantan buses.
The real-time update is identified by a timing indicator underneath the location of the bus stop on the app, with green meaning the bus is on schedule, red meaning delay, and black indicating real-time tracking is not available at that moment. You can also view a bus’ progress on the route or on the map itself, so try it out and let us know what you think in the comments section.
Aduhai potong stim. Abang-abang bus driver xboleh lg lepak lama2 sembang layan teh tarik…
Just because they have track via Google Maps doesn’t mean they don’t need to take breaks in between routes. Besides, RapidKL have had tracking since long ago so it is moot to complain.
Hehehe,
I used to rely on Rapid KL bus, we bus passengers are at their mercy of whenever they want to show up at bus stop, biasalah, mindset Malaysia, “Tunggu je lah, banyak bunyi”
Kalau tanya di bus driver office di LRT station, will be greeted with a sharp stare, then only responds with departure time. At the signboard wrote “bus frequency every 30min” sometimes for more than an Hour waiting the bus still didn’t show up.
Rapid KL also can’t control Bus Captain attitude, they are not motivated and of course blame on the low salary, poor bus condition (always breaksdown).
Rapid KL also turns blind eye and pretends things never happen, and they never improve.
I bet if they constantly do audit on their operation, much can be improve.
Learn from the Japanese public transport please, the quality is so high up, that it put the Bus service here in Malaysia to shame.
Don’t get me wrong, I’m a highly tolerant person, and for me to wait patiently for the bus driver to take a rest after starting shift at 5am every morning, I’m still considerate, but for some people like factory worker they will get salary cut because of late bus service, but of course Rapid KL don’t care about this, let alone pay for their compensation.
So this Google location service is good move, it will show their bus exactly where they are, idling in the depot.
I remember taking the London red bus and the legend that we have to wait long and then 2 buses turn up was quite true. When I asked (politely!) the bus driver what was the hold up, he scolded me in his heavily Scouse English and told me the door behind is still open if I am unsatisfied.
Safe to say I am never satisfied with any public transport except for Japan, but do you know how smelly a sardine packed train can be?
Want Japanese efficiency in public transport, are you ready to pay Japanese price ?
Fares are controlled and fixed by govt, the business model is devised to fail, or at least inefficient. And always used as political gambit to gain support ot populist move.
You got what you paid for.
We are already paying the price in one way or another. Don’t think that with lousy service that we received then we don’t have to pay the equal price as other good services. Think again.
Hahahahaha. Essentially making the people more frustrated when seeing the bus stuck in a jam…
I rather use moovit then google maps
When we’ll get the same for LRT/MRT?
Wah! The photo shows 4-thumbs up from abang abang VIP. Sure best kaw kaw!
Provided they do not turn off the internet connection in the bus or hardware failure.
wah, now i can see which bus stop the drebars minum teh tarik. can join them there.
Drivers still need to take a break and not be driving all the time, they are people not robots.
there is a thing called a timetable. that doesnt exists here. enjoy your teh tarik.
Most of the time I am pity look at bus driver, they work alone to drive, concern and entertain public alone in their journey, exhausted the whole day. Some still have heart to remind to not left any important things behind. I understood if their mood is roller-coaster. Sometimes I don’t understand some tired public make complaints on the other tired rapid bus drivers on their attitude. Both is tired, they understand the whole story, but pretending like their don’t understand it. They got angry when bus late, but actually if their time is important, they should prepare 1 hour earlier not last minute. I almost late to work but I understand you take public transport, the bus will not follow Yr own plan. If you want to reach office early, come earlier. You plan your own time. Ppl who always making complaints thought themselves as work hard worker but close their eyes to see other ppl work hard. You drive your own transport but still blame the traffic jam, the bus is not a plane or bullet train which sharp on time. Yes they still can improve to add more buss on the peak hours or more bus on the road that have many passengers. For Rm 1 or rm 2 fare it far cheaper than any transport with air conditioner. I am thankful.
I am pity look at bus driver, they work alone to drive, concern and entertain public alone in their journey, exhausted the whole day. Some still have heart to remind to not left any important things behind. I understood if their mood is roller-coaster. Sometimes I don’t understand some tired public make complaints on the other tired rapid bus drivers on their attitude. Both is tired, they understand the whole story, but pretending like their don’t understand it. They got angry when bus late, but actually if their time is important, they should prepare 1 hour earlier not last minute. I almost late to work but I understand you take public transport, the bus will not follow Yr own plan. If you want to reach office early, come earlier. You plan your own time. Ppl who always making complaints thought themselves as work hard worker but close their eyes to see other ppl work hard. You drive your own transport but still blame the traffic jam, the bus is not a plane or bullet train which sharp on time. Yes they still can improve to add more buss on the peak hours or more bus on the road that have many passengers. For Rm 1 or rm 2 fare it far cheaper than any transport with air conditioner. I am thankful.
can’t seems to find the bus code on google maps for GOKL buses, like PJ City bus, the code is pj05 or pj06 etc. Anyone knows?