Police crackdown on bikers on LPT – 600 stopped

Police cracked down on motorcycle riders speeding on the East Coast Highway (LPT) over the weekend, closing off the road entirely and diverting them for a check. This occurred at the R&R stations at Lanchang and Chenor in Pahang.

Beginning at 2 p.m., the operation, dubbed Ops Tutup Khas went on for three hours, reports Berita Harian. Speaking to the press, Traffic Police Investigation department assistant director I Datuk Mohd Nadzri Hussain, said 600 riders and their motorcycles were examined during operation.

358 summons were issued for various traffic offences and 20 motorcycles were seized. Involving 12 officers and 52 police personnel, assisted by five Department of Environment staff and 10 member of the National Anti Drug Agency, riders were examined for compliance to traffic regulation and their motorcycles for legal compliance, including noise restrictions.

Amongst offences committed were expired licence and road tax as well as illegal modifications. “What I regret most is some of the rider were riding without a rear brake. This is dangerous not only to themselves but also other road users, ” said Nadzri.

Meanwhile, three riders were found to be under the influence of narcotics while seven others were caught for environmental offences. “Many of these riders are youth and we advise them if they are interested in racing the highway is not the place but take it to Sepang instead,” Nadzri said.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Anonymous on Jun 29, 2020 at 10:12 am

Last night at about 9:35pm, a group of 10 bikers were racing on the vehicle lanes of the second Penang bridge. They were cutting in and out between the cars endangering everyone and themselves too. I certainly hope the authorities will look at the CCTV cameras and arrest them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 29, 2020 at 10:31 am

Already told Wee. This is one LOW HANGING FRUIT. If motorcyclist has the highest fatality in road accident. Please go tackle the main category. Start enforcement is in highways or places where bike lane is provided.

• Rosman on Jun 29, 2020 at 5:16 pm

Bossku protek abang2 biker and rempit. So is OK

• Copy Paste on Jun 30, 2020 at 12:10 pm

Copy paste:
          “Kalau buat salah ye kene tindakan.
          Ke salah sebab pakai moto beso?”

• yesterday about the same time also, at plus highway from melaka to selangor. there were like 100 of them (kapcai rempit and superbike rempit, both also same). they even blocked half the lane in the RnR.

oh how i wish i could just suddenly swerve in their path with my truck as they speed like crazy thru traffic. they deserve to be in the ground

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 29, 2020 at 11:58 am

Kudos to our abang-abang polis for clamping down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Kudos to the Traffic Police!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Geng motor besar hobi kami mahal tu takde kena tangkap ke..?
    Yang tu pun menyampah jugak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • Torque on Jun 29, 2020 at 2:27 pm

Kalau buat salah ye kene tindakan.
      Ke salah sebab pakai moto beso?

• Hantu Raya on Jun 29, 2020 at 11:36 am

Good job. Personally I would have them push their bikes along the highway, in full riding gear, bare footed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • stupidcar on Jun 29, 2020 at 11:57 am

Hello Nadzri, u think sepang circuit cheap ah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • Brian on Jun 29, 2020 at 4:16 pm

If you can’t afford it, don’t race. Proper motorsports has never been cheap anyways. Go find another hobby if you will.

• Jeffrey on Jun 30, 2020 at 9:54 am

So ur own life doesn’t worth the money?

• Jimmy on Jun 30, 2020 at 9:55 am

Your life or others cheaper?

• Karvan Lim on Jun 29, 2020 at 1:01 pm

I went to Ipoh over the weekend. Same problem, racing and tailing each other on PLUS , in out without single care about other people. WKS, please include mandatory jail as what you are proposing for drink and drug driving too.

• MalaysiaMaju on Jun 29, 2020 at 2:12 pm

Get caught for illegal racing once, potong satu tangan, second time poting kaki satu.

• Klgoer on Jun 29, 2020 at 6:43 pm

Every Sat night, kl-sbn or sbn-kl NSE. Hundreds of Rempit in groups with dangerous act, cut in n out between high speed cars. Use to travel every wkend for past few years, every weekend, no miss.

• taxfreeak on Jun 30, 2020 at 9:24 am

“Many of these riders are youth and we advise them if they are interested in racing the highway is not the place but take it to Sepang instead…..hahahhahahhahahahhahaha….

How many years you wanna keep using that sentence?? They will never learn and will never be afraid of the consequences..Try burning their beloved ride in front of their eyes, then they will forever remember that!!!!

• Autobahn on Jul 07, 2020 at 8:39 am

Maybe he needs to check how to take it to sepang instead. First you need to book slot many months in advance, pay some 500 entry fee… get your gear ready and complete.. all these for just one session 2 hrs max. That procedures need to be improved first. Make it easy access to car n bike enthusiast to enter the track

• Dominic on Jul 05, 2020 at 1:02 pm

Wow! Bikers are endangering themselves riding fast, drunk drivers endangering themselves, people talking on the phone, messaging and endangering themselves,
    dreaming about their family, job, business, girlfriend, boyfriend while driving or riding are endangering themselves, looking at a gorgeous person walking is endangering themselves, looking for a makan place or a shopping centre is endangering themselves.
    We are all guilty of endangering ourselves or someone else while riding a motorcycle or driving a car. There are many other problems in our lives we should look at rather than wasting your freaking time trying to change someone. We only can change ourselves.

• Bukan ke kat LPT memang ada speed trap selalu ke?….apa2 kenderaan la…kecik besar motor kereta lori treller…if speeding mmg patut saman je…Highway Msia max pun 110kph