OPINION: An ode to an old friend, the Proton Saga

The year was 1985, the song was Careless Whisper and I was a fat adolescent with a penchant for all things cars (because I didn’t have a snowflake’s chance in hell with the girls). The idea of Malaysia producing its own automobile was received with typical Malaysian skepticism, epitomised poignantly by our greatest social commentator, Lat, where the venerable satirist sketched the body of what looked like a ‘60’s MG topped by a Minangkabau roof.

This cynicism was not just us Malaysians being Malaysians. The world was a very different place then, especially when you consider that it had taken a decade and a half for the average punter to not be embarrassed about buying a Japanese car after two generations of European hegemony.

So the idea of a Malaysian car was perhaps a bridge too far for the time. I mean, if Hondas and Toyotas were Milo tins, imagine what they’d call a local car. So while there was great debate and lots of rhetoric on all sides, in 1985, the Proton Saga, came to be.

I remember my first Saga. It was that ‘Kermit the frog’ metallic green and I first saw it in the flesh in front of Tai Kuang Book Store in Segamat. The proud owner had barely parked before the hordes amassed to catch a glimpse of the new car. I remember almost falling off my Raleigh Rapide (a most funny sight, if you’re a fatty in shorts) as I craned my podgy neck. My first thought was… it’s a Lancer F!

It was probably months before I got my first ride, as most of my family were way too proud to buy-in to the idea of the Proton, plus being Sri Lankan Tamil, we were really cheap and were probably waiting for the price to drop. It didn’t stop me going to the local EON showroom, pretending to view the car, apparently for my father (God bless the kind salesman who clearly must have seen through my ruse).

And so the saga of the Saga began (had to lah). It became a dividing symbol. A proud one for many and to an equal number, the living example of Malaysia’s many follies. I for one was always in the latter category, not for any philosophical reasons, but simply because I blamed it for making car prices out of reach.

Of course the Saga and Proton went on to become Malaysia’s automotive juggernaut, consuming everything in its path with avarice. But with engorgement came complacence and eventually an equally ignominious dethroning.

Thirty five years on, and much has changed. I’m no longer a fat adolescent, but a fat middle-aged man on the precipice of a half-century. And in hindsight, there was some method to the madness. When the Saga came out in 1985, the total number of passenger cars sold in Malaysia was 67,888 units. Last year, that number was 550,179.

In 1985, our local automotive industry consisted of glorified assembly. Today the vendor ecosystem gross turnover is easily above RM4 billion. Today, there are Malaysian parts vendors that supply the region and some are even global. The automotive industry now contributes more than 4% of the national GDP, which is not something to be sneezed at.

While you can argue that car sales are a reflection of higher purchasing power, one must concede that the flourishing automotive ecosystem is not something that happened serendipitously. And in many ways we have Proton and the Saga to thank for it. It paved the way for the industry’s growth and for all the players that have come after, and are yet to come.

I’m the last person on the planet who you could consider a Proton apologist, and there’s enough evidence of that, believe me. However, today I wear the hat of that fat teenager who couldn’t contain his excitement/horror at the idea of a Malaysian car. And when I think today of the seminal events that have shaped Malaysia, the Saga has definitely got to be up there for my generation.

It was a statement of intent and a bold assertion of what might be. Some might say it bordered on the delusional, but most dreams tend to start out that way. It was this realisation that in a sense brought me back to Malaysia from Singapore to take up a role at Proton (fate is a funny mistress).

So while I may not be completely enamoured of all things Saga, I am moved by what it meant to Malaysia and my generation. I am moved by the wave of nostalgia that wafts around me like the familiar smell of durian as I ponder the misspent youth, the shattered dreams and the triumphs. The Saga seems to have mirrored much of that journey. The real irony is that I have never owned a Saga nor was there ever a Proton in our driveway.

And yet, I must give it its due. Because just like George Michael, carrot cut baggy pants, a mullet and shoulder pads, the Saga was the car of my generation, for better or for worse.

Happy 35th Birthday, Proton Saga!

DISCLAIMER:

The views expressed in this article is solely that of the author’s, and does not reflect the opinions or views of paultan.org or its employees.

GALLERY: 1990 Proton Saga Megavalve

Vijayaratnam Tharumartnam

Vijayaratnam has over 20 years in the communications industry where he has worked in a variety of roles ranging from broadcast to banking. He is currently the director of Group Corporate Communications at Proton.

• Fiona Lim on Jul 06, 2020 at 5:57 pm

Though Proton is a good car, it did mess with the pricings of all other cars.

I remember buying my Mercedes 200 brand new for RM57,000 in 1982 and then buying a Volvo 244GLM for RM39,000 in 1988.

Car prices went up a lot in Malaysia due to Proton. Remember this when you pay tribute to Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
    • Popia basah on Jul 06, 2020 at 6:26 pm

Saga was a great car until… the Game-Changing Perodua Bezza came. When Perodua launch the Bezza for the first time, Proton Saga sales is dropping like a waterfall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
      • In early 80s a semi-d in PJ only cost RM80k but now 40years later it cost RM1.8m

Must be due to protection given to Proton that caused this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
        • John Doe on Jul 07, 2020 at 9:09 am

Are you educated?

• History Bender on Jul 07, 2020 at 11:22 am

The person certainly knows history. So what’s the issue?

• Azrin Lazuli on Jul 07, 2020 at 9:19 am

In 1983 I bought my Semi D in SS3 PJ for RM387,000. Please show me where I can get semi D in PJ for RM80k in the 80s.

I will pay you RM50k as a reward.

• I bought my freehold terrace house in Bangsar way back in 1980 for Rm90k, no way in heck your Semi D leasehold in SS3 costed you nearly Rm400k. That is 2000’s prices. Even bungalow property in Bangsar way back in 1980 didn’t cost Rm400k then.

• John Doe on Jul 08, 2020 at 12:30 am

Many terrace house in bangsar cost less than houses in PJ, simply because they are so old and delapitated it has no value. Its location is also inconvenient since bangsar is has nothing but malls, hip restaurants and even more delapitated buildings. I would choose a semiD in PJ without a single thought, I believe you would too if you had that choice. BTW a semiD in ss3 now can cost above rm4.5mil to upwards 6mil. Your terrace in bangsar I wouldn’t pay more than 1mil as I would need to put another mil just to bring it back up. It’s a no brainer.

As to your answer earlier, your friend may know history, but clearly he lost track of the salient ones.

• Azrin Lazuli on Jul 07, 2020 at 9:22 am

In 1983 I bought my Semi D in SS3 PJ for RM387,000. Please show me where I can get semi D in PJ for RM80k in the 80s.

I will pay you RM50k as a reward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 11, 2020 at 12:16 am

lol u kena con is it. a bungalow in pj in 1993 was only 150k

• MyNewToy on Jul 06, 2020 at 8:22 pm

Proton established in 1985.
      Can we get the Mercedes, Volvo and SAGA at 1988 price with same tax structure?

• John Doe on Jul 07, 2020 at 9:09 am

The mark of Malaysian poverty.
      Average Malaysians pay more than half of their salary to own a vehicle to go to work, rather than using the money to own a house and start a family.

• History Bender on Jul 07, 2020 at 11:25 am

Blame the bosses and towkay owners who never raise salaries in tandem with their businesses prospering. Boss dulu pakai Datsun, sekarang pakai Merc. Worker pulak dulu pakai Saga, sekarang just pakai Saga. Apa yg tak kena ni…

• John Doe on Jul 08, 2020 at 12:34 am

Bro seriously are you educated?

Go learn economics 101. You’ll understand the basics to atleast make some sense here. For your own good, stop blaming your bosses for not raising your salary, raise your mentality and education first.

• I just wanna get a job as govt civil servant.

• matjava on Jul 06, 2020 at 6:04 pm

I owned a proton SAGA 1.5S in 1989 and always make fun with friend when the ask me what car I have, Awak pakai kereta apa sekarang, then I repled slowly, “Ohh I pakai bintang tiga… ” whoaahh… you must have good job good pay,,, ” may be he thought I owned mercedes bintang tiga. Acatually I have bintang tiga belas proton saga. Not sure it is bintang 13 or 14 at the Saga emblem.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 06, 2020 at 6:09 pm

What a awesome write up brader Vijay!
    If only local pipu more grateful to Tun contributions

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • M & B on Jul 06, 2020 at 7:17 pm

Yeah true! :)

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 06, 2020 at 7:48 pm

What he contributed to Malaysia was more expensive cars which are taxed too high to pay corrupted officials in the government. Proton started out rebadging cars and 35 years later they are back to rebadging cars.

In the end we are behind Thailand which is now the regional assembly plant for almost all the global brands. Good incentives, tons of jobs for the locals and most importantly, sustainability for everyone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Proton 35 years later are back to rebadging cars. Malaysia 63 years later still syukuring, sigh

• indeed, given the headstart and msia strong economy position in 1985 compared to our neighbour
        if we were the manufacturing hub back then, local vendors and the msia auto industry could have been bigger than thai/indon now

• Thank you for this refreshing article; I enjoyed reading this.

• John Doe on Jul 07, 2020 at 9:23 am

Mana lapizi?

• Raja Celup on Jul 07, 2020 at 11:22 am

The reason why we need 9 years car loan to pay high car excise duties.

Double taxation in full glory!