GALLERY: Toyota Alphard full exterior conversion to Lexus LM – genuine Lexus parts only, priced at RM56k

Just last year, Lexus took the veils off the LM, a decked out luxury MPV made specially for business leaders in our region. You don’t have to be a car expert to tell that it’s actually based on the Toyota Alphard, but note that the Lexus LM is not officially sold in Malaysia – not yet, at least. But you’re here for the next best thing.

Meet the Wing Hin special. It’s essentially a converted Toyota Alphard, but Wing Hin used only genuine Lexus parts for this conversion process. If you’re even remotely interested, be prepared to fork out a heady RM56,000 for the job. The price includes paint and installation.

The kit includes a full face swap, featuring the humongous Lexus spindle grille with a prominent chin, L-shaped chrome trims at the edges, genuine full LED headlights with triple projectors and LED DRLs, full-width LED tail lights, as well as LM rear bumper with lower chrome inserts and repositioned reflectors.

The alloy wheels are not part of the conversion pack, mind you

What you don’t get, however, are the LM’s bolder, chromed side skirts and “fanged” chrome trims on the B-pillars. Otherwise, the conversion job is actually rather convincing, with little to no alignment issues on the newly installed panels. Needless to say, the bulk of the cost goes to the headlights and tail lights. This conversion is also available for Vellfire owners, but the exact pricing has yet to be disclosed.

There are of course no modifications to the cabin, so your car will be left as is. The Toyota badge on the steering wheel can be swapped out for a Lexus badge if you know where to look (it’s really not that hard), but the two Lexus logos on the outside, as well as the LM 350 badge come as standard. So, what do you think?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Lolwhut? on Jul 16, 2020 at 10:55 am

Fuuyoh! Lexus wei! But why badge on steering wheel is Toyota. LoL!

• Akio is very disappointed on Jul 16, 2020 at 6:52 pm

Paid RM56k for rebadge to Lexus, ended up resale value max probably gained RM499 or even less LOL

• What the…. This is stupid… it just tarnish Lexus reputation…

More and more ppl will trying to avoid Lexus in the future as ppl very often say Lexus is a glorified Toyota, and this just “endorse” this statement with this stupid retrofitting..

By the way, is this even legal by changing the brand and model of the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • I am guessing yes with plenty of Myvis rebadging into Daihatsu or Toyota even stick on Lexus badges too. Shameless but not illegal.

• Datuk on Jul 16, 2020 at 11:05 am

Excellent. Only 10% of Alphard 3.5L price
    Taycoon can afford

• Original Alphard Rm464k with Toyota badge sangat memalukan kah?

• azrai on Jul 16, 2020 at 12:12 pm

Rather wait for half cut. Do they have for Innova? Vietnamese already have Lexus Innova.

• dong gor on Jul 16, 2020 at 12:19 pm

can we trade in the original parts for 55k? it’s genuine parts from the same factory anyway!

• Why would anyone transform their handsome alphard to become ugly?

• This vans already looks horrible, who on earth want to be caught on one of this things. Hideous! Guess thts why ppl are buying SUVs in droves…those vans are totally hideous!

• ToHellWithPlagiarism on Jul 16, 2020 at 12:30 pm

Typical msians who love to convert .. n then those bengs with low budget would just change the badge itself.
    Winghin, hope lexus sues u

• Monana on Jul 16, 2020 at 12:52 pm

I can only hope that this machine can get a turbocharged engine to help with the lower end torque. Having to rev up to higher rpm to get the torque is soo yesteryear. Otherwise have to turn to others like Vito, Hyundai or KIA with turbo-diesel, but of course would miss the luxury in the Alphard. Yeah, u heard me right, even compared to the Merc V-class, Alphard still win in the luxury inside but the urge of performance still in the hands of Mercedes, even with the cheaper alternative, the Vito.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 16, 2020 at 12:57 pm

Lexus wannabes will be happy. Give a few more months other small players will undercut the price by half or more.

• Next on the list is rebadginh of new Supra from Toyota to BMW. Instant up prestige 2x.

• old memory on Jul 16, 2020 at 2:21 pm

I drove my first Altis 1.8G at age 19, love the classy interior, gear knob, gear gate, my car of proud and back then lots of girls like it. Then upgrade to Audi A4 b8 at 22 straight away got myself a serious sexy gf, A6 at 25 and gf become wife. 528 F10 at 28, mini cooper s at 30 due to kids want it, 330i G20 at 33 as this is the best lookong 3 of my chooce, and 530i g series at 35 because of promotion. I really missed the gear knob and gate and those retro buttons and clock of my Altis when I saw this 2020 toyota van interior. Cant believe they still use those items but..that is history to me already. Nostalgia. button, woods, gear knobs gate etc really bring back a lot of my old memory. nice job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Hantu Raya on Jul 16, 2020 at 3:01 pm

Two words- syiok sendiri.

• This is the equivalent to buying BMW 318i and slapping a M3 bodykit and badge. Or a Merc C200 to a C63 AMG full kit + badge. Another common one is Civic owners with full Type-R kits & badging.

• Whatever on Jul 16, 2020 at 7:42 pm

What about the steering?

• Why is it very cold here , it is not even raining…cool story

• Maynard James Keenan on Jul 16, 2020 at 10:03 pm

I rebadged my Honda EX5 and it became Honda Odyssey.

• start-a-fight on Jul 17, 2020 at 9:42 am

JPJ will come running suing you for the badge change conversion.

Insurance will hurt if you involve in accident..

good luck

• Sharizal Hamzah on Apr 25, 2021 at 10:19 am

No need la convert convert. Drive still same.