Thailand to lower taxes for CKD EVs to reduce prices; EVs to make up 30% of total production by 2030

The Thailand government’s push for electric vehicles continues, as the country’s ministry of industry is looking to reduce the prices of EVs to bring them closer to cars with conventional internal combustion engines (ICEs). It aims to achieve this by reducing the import duty on automotive parts used to assemble EVs in Thailand, reports Bangkok Post.

For now, the official of industrial economics in the country has been assigned to conduct a feasibility study of tax reduction options. The findings obtained will then be forwarded to the National Electric Vehicle Policy Committee for further consideration later this month.

With the appropriate taxation measures in place, industry minister Suriya Jungrungreangkit expects demand to increase for EVs, which are still being sold at relatively high prices. The increased adoption of EVs will also help the country in its efforts to reduce pollution emitted by ICE-powered cars, a problem that has plagued the country’s capital city for some time.

At present, the current tax rate stands at 80% of auto part prices, with Suriya also noting that other factors being considered include increasing the number of EV models in the country and making them affordably priced for buyers – between 700,000 to 800,000 baht (RM93,300 to RM106,628). “We will then know how much tax should be cut to make EV prices equivalent to internal combustion engine cars,” he said.

Local assembly of EVs in Thailand is also another area the government is looking to expand, as it is targeting 750,000 EVs to account for 30% of total car production of 2.5 million units by 2030. This will see incentives being given to companies who invest in battery and/or EV manufacturing facilities in the country.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Closer don’t mean much if the EV version prices are still significantly higher than ICE version, take Mini EV FE with a Rm20,000 (150,000 Baht) premium on top of regular Cooper SE.

• Kancil Hybrid on Oct 09, 2020 at 4:18 pm

Thailand copied our Game-changing taxes, EV that MINI Cooper SE is cheaper then ICE model.

• Celup King on Oct 09, 2020 at 4:28 pm

You should see how thai Civics are more expensip than ours.

• Michael Yap on Oct 10, 2020 at 11:50 am

Again Thailand has overtaken us. So malu and shameful for Malaysians.

I hope we can send rombongan sambil belajar to Thailand to learn from the Thais how to run a good car industry

• Angry Voters on Oct 10, 2020 at 1:11 pm

You mean our car prices not high enough and we should learn from Thais how to raise car prices even higher? Are you even living in Malaysia, cuz you sound like you belong to Thai.

• Vader on Oct 10, 2020 at 3:18 pm

Rombongan sambil belajar for more expensive cars? No thanks.

• And where the hell is our NAP? Miti n mai taking the eternal nap?

• Bieight on Oct 09, 2020 at 5:31 pm

Meanwhile in Malaysia we have flying cars and expensive road tax for ev…

• Compare price of model 3 in Thai and US …