2021 Toyota Crown introduced in Japan with new kit

It wasn’t that long ago that Toyota unveiled the 15th-generation Crown, but the large sedan has now been given an update in Japan. At first glance, it’s hard to see what the fuss is about, as the Crown doesn’t appear to sport any changes to its exterior or engine line-up.

Indeed, the regal look seen when the model first made its debut in 2018 is unchanged from before, while under the bonnet, you still get a choice of two electrified powertrains. The first is a 3.5 litre V6 making 299 PS (295 hp) and 356 Nm of torque, while the other option is a 2.5 litre four-cylinder with 184 PS (181 hp) and 221 Nm – both have an electric motor and lithium-ion battery. There’s also a non-hybrid 2.0 litre four-pot rated at 245 PS (241 hp) and 350 Nm.

However, it is on the inside where things have changed, as the split-screen setup used previously has been ditched in favour of a large 12.3-inch touchscreen. The new unit is equipped with Toyota’s T-Connect services as well as a range of media playback options, including support for Android Auto and Apply CarPlay.

With the new display, the Crown gets horizontal air vents in the middle of the dashboard, with the controls for the climate system placed below them. Where the previous setup had a lower seven-inch screen dedicated to climate controls, the single-screen setup sees buttons, knobs and a smaller screen being used instead.

This makes it easier to adjust common things like temperature and fan speed given the tactile feedback, without drivers having to take their eyes off the road. However, you’ll still be able to adjust the climate system on the 12.3-inch display through vertical splitting, in case you need greater control.

Toyota also notes that the Crown gets new exterior finishes and wheels, as well as improved safety and driver assist systems. The latter includes Curve Speed Reduction function for the Dynamic Radar Cruise Control system, improved pedestrian and cyclists detection for the AEB system, and emergency steering avoidance.

Pricing for the updated Crown starts at 4.899 million yen (RM194,524) and goes up to 7.393 million yen (RM293,552), with a variety of trim levels, along with a choice of rear- or all-wheel drive.

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Crown (Japan market)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• XHubby on Nov 03, 2020 at 1:16 pm

Just wow.
    Any plan to bring it here UMW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • potato on Nov 04, 2020 at 12:51 pm

UMW will sell it for rm350k for the 2.5L non hybrid.

See how much they are asking for the Lexus IS.

• AliAhKauRamasamy on Nov 03, 2020 at 1:19 pm

The ‘viper fangs’ face definitely a head turner. We love it.

• Chow Wei Zhen on Nov 03, 2020 at 2:02 pm

Another beauty design. They should bring this to here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Compared with Mirai, this car is over design til it is so bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • M & B on Nov 03, 2020 at 2:47 pm

What a gorgeous car ever. Nice!

• Jia Ren on Nov 03, 2020 at 2:51 pm

Bring it on!

• Sam Loo (iro) on Nov 03, 2020 at 3:03 pm

194k equivalent of Japan Yen can get me entry level 3.5 v6 crown?

Even latest Sonata is over 200k. What is wrong with Malaysia car price!!!

Not to forget, the Camry is also on the verge of 200k. Demit.

• dream_125 on Nov 04, 2020 at 5:28 am

Japan’s individual income tax rates including local taxes are among the highest tax rates in the world. The effective top marginal tax rate is around 55%.

You like to have 55% income tax too?

• Yeah and Japanese have to pay 2 recurrence taxes for each car – which are not cheap! – plus you need to have proof of parking space reserved for your car. Those goes in monthly rentals unless you own landed property. Good luck owning landed property in Japan if you could only afford a 194k car here, even buying apartment in Tokyo will kill you. So you prefer cheaper car but unaffordable housing prices?

• potato on Nov 04, 2020 at 12:49 pm

Lands are expensive in big cities, but lots of folks living in sub-urbs or small towns (like Doraemon) are living in landed properties, usually these are where the car guys live where it’s cheaper to own a private vehicle.

• Rule of thumb, if you could afford a 194k car, you pretty much could afford to buy landed property in KL other than in heart of CBD. Not in Greater Tokyo, you would be paying thru your noses for a house that comes with parking lots. There is no law to guarantee you buy apartments there will get parking.

• potato on Nov 04, 2020 at 12:47 pm

194k will only get you the 2.5L engine, not the Camry 2.5L but the newer one.

• Venza on Nov 03, 2020 at 4:10 pm

Impressive

• 5 sec for 3.5L and 6 sec for 2.5L for 0-100. Great. Why not bring here?

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 03, 2020 at 4:55 pm

Better looking than e class no doubt…and equally sexy as the facelifted 5 series…must be pricey if it comes here…

• Jin Yang on Nov 03, 2020 at 5:32 pm

Powerful Sedan with greater top speed and acceleration

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 03, 2020 at 10:11 pm

thank you for ditching touchscreen climate controls

• Reading failed: [However, you’ll still be able to adjust the climate system on the 12.3-inch display through vertical splitting, in case you need greater control.]