Police to carry out red light operation until Dec 31

The Royal Malaysian Police have launched Ops Lampu Isyarat (Red Light Operation) today, following the high number of motorists caught beating red lights, Bernama reported.

The operation will be carried out until December 31, said Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT) director Datuk Azisman Alias. Ops Lampu Isyarat is aimed at finding red light offenders, particularly among motorcyclists including those who are food and parcel delivery personnel, among other motorists.

Last year, 69,267 summonses were issued to road users for disobeying red traffic lights. 52,170 summonses were issued in the first 11 months of this year, involving 26,764 motorcycles, 20,751 cars, 2,208 lorries and 2,447 other vehicles, he said.

“Summonses will be issued immediately, or details of the vehicles involved will be recorded for subsequent action. We take this behaviour and trend of driving seriously as it can cause incidents and annoyance in society,” the department director said in a statement.

Any one found to be in violation of traffic light signals can be issued fines of up to RM2,000 or subject to a jail term of up to six months, said Azisman.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• IF the traffic light is ‘logical’ (timing, sensors, etc) then is OK. Sone are ‘nonsense’ – need fix

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Dredd on Dec 17, 2020 at 8:46 am

You don’t break the law just because you felt you don’t like it.

• panjang on Dec 17, 2020 at 3:42 pm

Ayam got a point there.Some traffic lights are using loop sensor and such sensors does not detect motorcycle. If the bike is stopping alone at the traffic light, the light wont turn green. If its an area with leas traffic the rider can be there forever.

Latest tech i saw is a camera-like sensor. This is the best.

• omegle on Dec 17, 2020 at 8:57 pm

We only speedings and run red lights… when we’re late and rushing to prayers. Some simpati pls..

• Rojak Lingo on Dec 17, 2020 at 9:43 am

Try catching those on bikes .. the biggest culprits

• FudgeMeSideways on Dec 16, 2020 at 4:35 pm

Pls catch all the delivery food riders who run the red light and caused many near misses. Those bunch are the real culprits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • newme on Dec 16, 2020 at 4:49 pm

mat motor: OK lah. 1 Jan kita sambung lagi.

• This ignoring red light phenomena started way back in 1998. And only now the cops are doing something btw, half of motorcyclist probably have no road tax and insurance or driving license..why not just confiscate those bikes first.

• azrai on Dec 16, 2020 at 5:13 pm

Usual culprit, motorcyclist. Especially Grab and Panda one.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 16, 2020 at 5:14 pm

I want to see police catching bikers that doesn’t obey the traffic light and going against road direction. This OPS should continue 365-everyday!

• Ooi Leow on Dec 16, 2020 at 5:24 pm

Its high time. Not only food delivery riders. Almost all bikers will do the same. My suggestion is for the team to move from 1 traffic light to another on random after 1 hour operation. And after that immediately blacklist the rider so he cannot renew road tax and driver license

• Vanguard on Dec 16, 2020 at 6:09 pm

No need just doing it in December. Can do it all year round….becoz there are loads of red-light offenders in KL alone.

I give PDRM a clue who to catch…..The offenders at riders with boxes in the back, mostly red, pink, or green.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • YB Albert on Dec 16, 2020 at 9:01 pm

Your Excellency Mr.Vanguard
      You are 1000 percent correct.
      The enforcement is haphazard.Suddenly they announce it.But dont u think it is stupid to announce it?
      In Australia,in a farm country side road..the car in front of us with 2 orang Aussie,were stopped for alcohol breath test at 9am!!Not at night.The country road leads to an orange orchard.The cops were there,unannounced.Thats should be the way.U dont use a loudspeaker(internet) to announce it.
      So during this period of enforcement,all the hell riders kwai kwai ,pull their handbrakes as the light turns amber.
      Once the enforcement is “announced dah habis”..all hell will break loose again.And to complicate matters,they give 50 percent rebates for summonses,as sweeteners,after a long period when people dont pay.Just pathetic,in a country called Bolehland.

• they should have one more…

to catch those bikes with exhausts louder than 70 decibels…those are the real menaces of society who should die in the fiery bowels of hell.

• Roticanai on Dec 16, 2020 at 7:44 pm

If like that, all those fat old farts on Harley sure kena. Yeah they are nuisance on the road too.

• AJibkor on Dec 16, 2020 at 9:09 pm

Jom,it is not our job or the police to send people to hell.Religion aside…we dont comment ,cos religion is sacred.We must respect our multi religious society.
      But most importantly,if the hakim jails the hellrider,it sends shivers down his spine..with overcrowding in lockups and jails at the mercy of the merciless virus.

• Dredd on Dec 20, 2020 at 12:57 am

If you tell the Hakim its all donation, then you got off scot-free. we must respect our Law and Order.

• RedMeansStop on Dec 16, 2020 at 6:55 pm

Normal scenario- Saman issued if get caught. Wait till year-end promo to pay when got 70% discount. Next year, do similar operation.
    I wonder why we are not proactive enough to deter all these red light offenders. Saman max & no discount. Make a must for all traffic lights to be equipped with camera. No need AES type. Simple yet HD clear quality to detect these morons. Same with municipal council also. More enforcement required to deter parking offenders. We are entering year 2021 but motorists mental level is at the worst ever.

• Dashcam user on Dec 16, 2020 at 9:45 pm

My dashcam camera is capturing traffic light violation everytime I drive. So do others drivers with dashcams. If the authority is really interested to use them as evidence for investigation, kindly provide an online platform where we can upload the captured videos. If thousands can become an eye for the authority, I am pretty sure motorists will respect the rule of laws.

• Alive & kicking on Dec 17, 2020 at 8:42 am

You can create a YouTube or dailymotion channel & upload those videos for all to view…

• Cik Matahari on Dec 17, 2020 at 12:34 pm

Polis: You langgar lampu merah. Saman!

Offender rider: Tolong Abang. Gaji saya kecik. Sya takde duit bayar saman. Kat rumah ada 4 anak, isteri tak kerja, Nak kasi makan lagi nie.

Polis: Kalau macam tu, lu bayar saman nanti masa PDRM bagi discount, ok?

Offender rider: Wokey boss. Ade lucky draw ke nanti?

Familiar?

• speechless on Dec 17, 2020 at 12:55 pm

This is waste of time. The motorcyclists will repeat the same thing again and again.

It’s happening all over the country. When your car hit the motorcyclist, chances are you will be slap with hefty car repair instead, even if you are following traffic rules.

If JPJ or the Traffic Police are serious in this, I would suggest a point system where offender gets point deduction every time they are caught and revoke their license if offender commits it passed a certain limit.

• MatMerah on Dec 17, 2020 at 12:57 pm

This should be a year round thing not seasonal like durian season. Everyday we can see ppl beating the red light not just the bikers but cars too. We should have traffic camera in every junction to catch the culprit and pls no more discount for saman !

• Nicholas on Dec 18, 2020 at 9:05 am

Can citizens assist by submitting dashcam recordings as evidence? Having a proper channel to receive these evidences is would greatly assist the enforcement activities. Plus no additional costs/risks would be incurred by putting more boots on the ground.