Loud bike exhausts in Malaysia, what’s the big noise?

A recent crackdown by Malaysian police, in cooperation with JPJ and the Department of Environment (DOE), on motorcycles with loud exhausts has the local biking community up in arms. Many of them are complaining of unfair persecution, along with allegations of revenue raising and going after easy targets while other, more serious offences like handphone use while driving and not using rear seatbelts, go unpunished.

Amongst issues raised is testing carried out using approved procedures and with calibrated equipment, and are personnel involved trained to determine what exactly constitutes a transgression against the law? Aside from this, trying to obtain the relevant Malaysian standard(s) defining what is an overly loud exhaust sound is an exhausting experience, needing reference to industry colleagues in the design and manufacturing side of things.

No doubt, overly loud pipes are a nuisance, both for four- and two-wheelers, but there doesn’t seem to be any action taken on the other side of the equation. So, why the furore and why this campaign which many feel is placing a necessary but over the top focus on two-wheelers where the maximum RM2,000 fine or six months jail is perhaps a case of the punishment not fitting the crime?

Part of the reason is of course the movement control orders Malaysia has endured over the past year where traffic levels, especially in urban areas, has dropped dramatically. This means the ambient noise level to which city dwellers are accustomed is gone, and any sound will now be heard clearly.

Especially so in the case of motorcycles with loud exhausts where the length of exhaust piping and size of exhaust can is both shorter and smaller, allowing for more of the engine noise to escape into the environment. This then makes loud motorcycles an easy target, for it is easy to pinpoint the source of the noise and take immediate action, something that is more difficult to do when traffic is heavy.

But, what action is being taken by the police to enforce this source of noise pollution? Some cars are equally as responsible for this, not to mention buses and lorries.

Regular campaigns are conducted by police, JPJ and DOE on all road vehicles, of course. We usually see them on highways and major thoroughfares, a long line of vehicles parked by the side and being tested for noise and emissions.

For Malaysia, motor vehicle conformance to approved design and performance is governed by the Motor Vehicle (Construction and Use) Rules 1959, enforced by both police and JPJ. Many on the Malaysian internet have taken to saying the act is out of date and should not be enforced, or amended to reflect the current state of vehicle technology.

This is indeed the case, as the 1959 Rules were updated under a Federal Gazette dated 15 December 2011, filed by the Attorney General Chambers. Under the aegis of the Road Transport Act 1987, which is the current Act being enforced, the amendments came into effect 1 January, 2012.

Under a long list of amendments covering miscellaneous items such as Isofix points, position of lights and other things necessary for the safe operation of four- and two-wheeled vehicles, item 12 states UN ECE Regulation 41 Uniform concerning the approval of motorcycles with regard to noise applies.

What this means is any motorcycle sold in Malaysia is governed by UN ECE Regulation 41 with regards to noise levels under the vehicle type approval (VTA) process. VTA is given by JPJ before any motor vehicle is approved for sale on local roads and we are given to understand by colleagues in the industry, the type approval process is strict but entirely according to regulation with any exceptions having to obtain approval in writing by the Director-General of JPJ.

So far, so good, we know the relevant regulation applying to motorcycles and noise emissions. This then begats the question, what about the testing process? How does an enforcement officer determine an accurate sound level for a motorcycle being tested?

This is where it starts becoming… complicated. The ECE regulation lays out a rigorous test methodology for both “ride by” and stationary testing. Variables such as ambient noise level, location of testing, engine speed and even ambient temperature and relative humidity is taken into account.

We know this because in the course of our research, the author read every single line of the Motor Vehicle (Construction and Use) Rules 1959, Road Transport Act 1987 and the UN ECE regulations. If any reader is interested, please send us an email and relevant links will be provided, but fair warning, the documentation is an instant cure for insomnia.

Returning to the matter at hand, roadside testing is now being carried out in various locations, with Malaysian social media filled with posts and videos of bikers being stopped, large and small machines alike. This raises the question of, is testing carried out properly?

Noise levels can be subjective, especially in an open environment, unless the exhaust is obnoxiously loud enough that there can be no doubt. This usually applies to motorcycles having aftermarket exhausts fitted, the riders wanting the look and style of a performance exhaust, but not wanting to pay the price for a properly made and tested item.

There are performance exhausts that conform to UN ECE Regulation 41, of course, but they are usually very expensive by local standards, having to incur the cost of research, development and testing. For most riders, the cost of buying such an exhaust is worth the price, because riding a motorcycle is as much an audiotory experience as anything else.

The growl of a well made performance exhaust is actually pleasant to the ear, and the scream of an inline-four, the howl of a triple or the rumble of an Italian V-twin is a joy for the senses. Not so much when the rider opts for a cheap knock-off of a known brand, with thinner metal skin and baffles untuned for proper noise attenuation (this is another issue in and of itself and could be the subject of a future article if enough interest is shown.)

Thus, the crackdown on noisy exhausts, for which no one is to be blamed except the riders themselves. There are posts asking why are authorities targeting bikers, and no action is being taken against the shops selling such non-compliant performance accessories.

This is a case of willing buyer, willing seller and an argument can be made for a small but legitimate market selling non-compliant pipes for off-road and track use, exhibitions and competitions. If there is no demand for loud pipes that look the part but impart zero performance benefit except making noise, then the author wouldn’t be writing this article and you, dear reader, would not be reading it.

But there it is, and here we are. A properly made performance exhaust, for both cars and bikes, will change the exhaust note to something more pleasant and perhaps with a very small power gain. For real performance to be realised from a modern vehicle’s exhaust system, it is not simply a case of changing the end can.

Photo courtesy of Half Light Photographic

A whole host of changes has to be made to the exhaust system, including exhaust headers, the intake system, the cam timing and the engine management. No, putting on the made in China cold air intake from the local accessory shop and welding on a tabung exhaust can is not going to give you much and in almost all cases from experience, you actually lose power from your engine, at best maybe power stays the same as before.

So, what is to be done? If you’re a motorcycle rider and want your steed to sound pleasantly exciting but remain inside the confines of the law, get an exhaust from a reputable supplier with the UN ECE marking. Car drivers, you are not forgotten, the marking you should look for is under UN ECE Regulation 51, and believe you me, the long arm of the law will be coming for you sooner or later.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Bieight on Mar 02, 2021 at 2:21 pm

They should also crackdown on those shops that do the modifications

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • how about blocking import at the ports and kastam?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Lolwhut? on Mar 02, 2021 at 3:15 pm

Well done dear esteemed Brother Mohan, asking PDRM police, JPJ and DOE so many questions. Their only response is.. YES…NO..MAYBE. They themself konfius. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
        • EDITOR on Mar 02, 2021 at 5:18 pm

You know we can tell you are just replying your own comment, right?

• Sloan on Mar 04, 2021 at 6:58 pm

Is that a problem replying own comment ? What’s your problem. U got nothing better to comment ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Dredd on Mar 02, 2021 at 3:20 pm

The law has to make it illegal for such importations and AFAIK they are not contraband items so nope.

• Benjamin Nathan Yahoo on Mar 03, 2021 at 6:48 pm

Nobody noticed or heard lorry blasting musical horn along North South Expressway almost every day!

• stick on Mar 02, 2021 at 2:34 pm

i say let’s ban all motorcycles on the road, motorcyclists are the main victims of any road accidents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 71
    • Casual reader on Mar 02, 2021 at 3:31 pm

Easy to make callous sweeping statements.

Bike community will accuse of double standards; catching them for loud exhaust, sportsrims, no working front and/or rear lamps, unapproved helmets, etc….

While car community accuses of double standards; hounded on their dark tints, glaring white headlamps, super dark rear lamps, no seatbelt usage, hellaflush, etc…

But guess what…. both are imbeciles, a menace on the road, an unnecessary danger to others. The same people that constantly complains of having not enough money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
      • Kevin on Mar 03, 2021 at 10:02 am

Agree. It always is.

• Taiki on Mar 08, 2021 at 3:04 pm

U knw what’s a menace? Highway three lane hoggers. Its dangerous to others and irresponsible. Government should patrol the speedway and fine those hoggers as well. These imbeciles drives like a granny.

• Jack Mehoff on Mar 03, 2021 at 8:45 am

And put more cars on the already crammed road? Cars are immensely inefficient compared to bikes, especially since most are driving alone. Or you mean ban all motorcycles and cars except yours, because you are better than everyone else? .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Uoamuamua on Mar 11, 2021 at 2:20 pm

So you ban all motorcycles and create more car users on the road which will cause more traffic jams !
      Then you will moan about too many cars on the road and want to ban certain type of cars…
      You are not smart, very low IQ !

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 02, 2021 at 2:36 pm

I say good move.

If you want a nice sound, buy a proper can and stay legal.

Those fake Akroprovic slip-ons sound horrible. Even worst, the cans on rempits are for show, its nothing more than a can around a straight pipe.

Same goes to cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • dong gor on Mar 02, 2021 at 2:47 pm

How about sport cars like Ferrari and Lamborghini, both are loud but they are approved OEM model without modifications? Green or Red?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • John Doe on Mar 02, 2021 at 3:17 pm

There’s barely a 0.001 % on the road from that market?
      Resolving the illegal motorbikes will eliminate the problem entirely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • Bullshit comment. So al lambo and ferrari every day pass by your house? So lucky.

• If loud is the issue, then how to judge when standard harley davidson sound vs standard zxr1000 sound? Or standard subaru flat turbo sound…err maybe still ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • John Doe on Mar 03, 2021 at 9:51 am

In London you get fined/ towed if you intentionally rev up in the streets. The same can be applied here.
      But the question will be whether the same fine is hefty enough or too much for someone using a Lambo as compared to a kapchai….
      I support OEM but not aftermarket… i think it’s quite clear the issue we all have here are those in the latter. Some are just trying to do justice by trying to put themselves in the OEM category when they are not.

• Joel J on Mar 11, 2022 at 4:34 pm

I’m going to have to disagree, I don’t think a lot of people have an issue with aftermarket exhausts, just that exceed the legal Decibel limit and the fake/cheap ones that, even if its in the legal DB limit, the bike sounds tinny and cheap. A proper, legal exhaust doesn’t exceed the limit and sounds good. Whether its over your limit is another issue.

• What about standard Harley? It’s loud enough.

• Old Cat on Mar 02, 2021 at 3:44 pm

Those who keep comparing these illegal loud exhaust pipes with sports cars and super/big bikes, please go read up Section (12) of the 1987 Road Transport a bit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Mar 02, 2021 at 6:00 pm

The punishment for these loud bikers , including mat rempit etc: Catch them, stuck the exhaust pipe into their mouths, and ram up the bike

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • suomynona on Mar 02, 2021 at 7:14 pm

Graphic giler..but I like

• Oumuamua on Mar 04, 2021 at 7:52 pm

@TopsuBoXyTurvy …Go ahead “Brave Heart” lets first see you stop a biker or mat rempit with their loud exhaust and you shoving it their mouth, ill wait for the viral video.So Macho keyboard warrior muppet !..lmao

• Lchan on Mar 02, 2021 at 8:12 pm

Good. Those damn kapchai with mod exhaust are so darn irritating. Speeding and making noise in residential areas.

• anonymous on Mar 02, 2021 at 8:34 pm

The issue at hand here is not about modifying vehicles, but the PUNISHMENT of having modified exhaust or ‘modified vehicle parts’ for that matter. As for my personal opinion, loud pipes are annoying at times, and it should be banned. However, it is not a fitting punishment to give a maximum RM2,000 fine let alone going to prison for the so-called crime. This sudden strategy by the authorities almost looks like someone on the top-level got woken up one day by some kids racing motorcycle with loud pipes outside their house and got so annoyed and pissed off, they wanna do something (drastic) about it.

• John Doe on Mar 03, 2021 at 2:09 pm

You appear to lump two concerns together, whether the penalty is fitting and if the implementation needs more notice.

The penalty appears to be fitting (infact too low) considering there are already laws and regulations clearly stated, for example you can never pass Puspakom inspection with such modification? You’ll be lucky if it’s not compounded?

In terms of the speed of the implementation, why do you think there is a need to extend it? Do they need re-education on existing regulations? If yes how, and in what way do you think it’ll be effective since they intentionally flouted it in the first place?

• Babu Osman Jili on Mar 02, 2021 at 10:14 pm

I do agree crackdown on extremely loud modified exhaust especially kapcai.
    What about overweight lorries with buckets as high as petronas twin tower!
    Main culprit responsible for destruction to roads.
    Uneven road surfaces and potholes can cause death especially to bikers who are villians in the eyes of the police and JPJ.

• Singh on Mar 02, 2021 at 10:25 pm

Is not the big bike are loud but this mat rempit is extremely loud as they have removed the exhaust and it just like a empty can. This extremely loud exhaust is nuisance in housing area when it already midnight. Can’t wait for battery power vehicle which will solve noise pollution.

• Sorry to break it to you, but apparently there’s law being discussed about giving e-vehicles fake, external noise since they are too quiet and essentially act as an invisible hazard

• Alan Ho on Mar 02, 2021 at 10:53 pm

I do not think the UNECE R43 is for motorcycle sound emission, UNECE R43 is automotive glass. Motorcycle sound emission is under UNECE R41. UNECE R92 is motorcycle replacement muffler (or after-market exhaust system).

• Mohan K Ramanujam (Member) on Mar 03, 2021 at 8:44 am

Thanks for catching the error. It was a long couple of days going through the regulations. A correction has been made.

• TERRY LITTLE on Jan 13, 2022 at 3:29 pm

Dear Mr. Ramanujam

Interesting article. After all of your research can you give us the bottom line on what is the law as of 1/11/2022 on the decibels limit allowed on the road coming from the different bikes? If you like you can send those references by email which you say will keep one awake. Thank you, T.H.

• anti ekzos bising on Mar 02, 2021 at 11:41 pm

Ezos bising memang ganggu ketenteraman awam dan tindakan yang selfish. Mereka ingat orang kagum dan puji, sebaliknya lebih ramai yang menyumpah seranah. lagi bising lagi.kuat orang sumpah seranah.

• Hamidi Salimi on Mar 03, 2021 at 2:39 am

Simple question.. does loud sound from 2 wheeler will cuase more danger compared to left over ” Tayar Celup” on the middle of the road..?

• Azharul Sham Hamsah on Mar 03, 2021 at 6:42 am

Saya setuju. Cuma mekanisma perlaksanaan Saya tidak pasti. Jika motor berkuasa besar dikecualikan, berlaku double standard pula. Tetapi, bunyi bingit ekzos motor dan kereta yg dimodifikasi pada waktu malam, sgt menyakitkan telinga dan hati

• why the fuss? jpj just set some db limit. PT. kamon la..no need too much hassle with ambient noise bla bla bla etc etc. make it simple for rakyat faham. and PT pls stop backing those noise polluter. lu nak bising lu pegi track. what the difference between u & mat rempit? kena batang hiding sendiri mula la nak keluar akta itu ini kan PT.

• big bike/car + loud exhaust = dick too small syndrome

social nuisance and irresponsible noise polluter, these losers need to get a life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Ben Yap on Mar 03, 2021 at 9:37 am

now the one who have the last laugh are the ones with standard factory exhaust. those showing off their fake branded exhaust will be ones that is scrambling to bike accessories shops to change to their original exhaust and have a hard time selling of their fake branded exhaust. worst are those who use their EPF money to buy and now the money has been wasted.

• ChickenThat CrossedTheRoad on Mar 03, 2021 at 10:32 am

Loud exhaust but not excessively loud can actually save a bikers lives, seen many car accidents on various highways in malaysia where a couple sometimes several cars have been in a rear ended collision due to car drivers not paying attention to traffic ahead maybe because they were busy on their mobile phone.

Nuisances ? Double and sometimes triple parking is a major Nuisances commited by the very same self entitled car drivers fussing about loud motorcyle exhaust..!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Wansab on Mar 03, 2021 at 11:12 am

One of the easy ways for the goverment to make or gain some money back from the public after all the so called helping out efforts by using all the taxpayers money during these desperado times and only having the covid19 pandemic to blame for.

• gundut on Mar 03, 2021 at 11:55 am

Kalau owner tukar ekzos for racing only not road use, ekzos tiruan dan bunyi kuat, then memang salah la. Kalau motor memang datang dengan ekzos yang racing spec dari factory, tak patut dipersalahkan (as per my reading for SP, SE, LE, etc ada spec sheet from factory for legal road use). Dari dulu ada regulation E1 sampai E4/5, so model lama (ie Ducati 748R) memang dah lepas regulation so patutnye takdela issue noise, emission etc walaupon bunyi kuat.
    so, mungkin pihak berkuasa akan target motor standard spec yang tukar full system, dan buang catalyzer dan noise killer. Satu lagi kalau ekzos standard rosak sebab accident dan sudah tidak dijual/produce, maka owner terpaksa beli ekzos yang ada di pasaran (provided original standard exhaust cannot be obtained especially for classic/vintage/retro bike). in this case sepatutnye tak boleh la saman sebab owner takde option lain.
    Kalau semua dorg saman, then the owners of desmosedici will surely kena saman just because of bunyi kuat. baik pakai electric bike terus…

• John Doe on Mar 03, 2021 at 3:45 pm

Paultan should set its policy guidelines clearer for its writers. This article starts off with inaccurate hear-say to support the writer’s own points. It’s bias and misleading to say the least.

The first line of the article is enough to see the mindset of the writer, a number of accusations were made towards JPJ and police, to the extend of even indicating certain crimes go unpunished.

“A recent crackdown by Malaysian police, in cooperation with JPJ and the Department of Environment (DOE), on motorcycles with loud exhausts has the local biking community up in arms. Many of them are complaining of unfair persecution, along with allegations of revenue raising and going after easy targets while other, more serious offences like handphone use while driving and not using rear seatbelts, go unpunished.”

Paultan, where do you set your Ethics for your jounalist?

• Gabiny on Mar 03, 2021 at 4:37 pm

Please la, we know exactly the type of motor which having issues like this, especially in Johor

• nxburn on Mar 03, 2021 at 8:38 pm

then.. when the noise level tested are below the limit.. came on…the alleged modification act.. ‘boom’ !!! … no noise.. but you bike are not standard!!! hahaha.. stupidity & overzealous comes in many types of authorised people…

• LongSufferinf on Mar 03, 2021 at 10:47 pm

Wait till you live beside a main road and the Ysuku RS150 LC135 all the way to superbikes zoom past your house way into the night and wakes up your school going children again and again , let’s see how you feel. Loud is loud , no 2 was about it. Don’t need a damn machine to know it is louder than STOCK.

• I too agree there should be a punishment for illegal mods

but rm2000 or 6 mths jail, is just too much
    same case with the rm10k fine also
    this gov just keep on increasing all kinds of fines 10 folds

• “There are performance exhausts that conform to UN ECE Regulation 41, of course, but they are usually very expensive by local standards, having to incur the cost of research, development and testing.”

From observations of what’s going on, it seems that even when you use an upgraded exhaust system which has UN ECE-type approval, the enforcement officers are still issuing summonses citing it as a modification. Even replacing mirrors is an offense now. Essentially, as long as it did not come with the bike from the factory, it is a criminal offense.

• Piupiupiu on Mar 09, 2021 at 1:17 pm

https://www.jpj.gov.my/en/web/main-site/teknikal-kenderaan-en/-/knowledge_base/technical/modifications-on-private-vehicles

I read this, seems like mirrors not included. The exhaust modifications which doesnt follow the original factory is prohibited.

• Syaza on Mar 06, 2021 at 5:24 pm

Even the loudest straight piped Civic is not as deafening as those Y15 with those shitty pop and crackle mod

• Piupiupiu on Mar 09, 2021 at 1:19 pm

Wonder why they need pop and crackle. Not like they have a turbo to defeat lags.

• Chtan on Mar 06, 2021 at 9:08 pm

Fully support the enforcement to curb these idiot. Should increase the compound amount and jail term even more. These idiots are really a nuisance to society.

• Funny. You’re showing pictures of superbike exhaust. I rarely ever found proper exhaust to be annoying. The ones on those stupid kapcais though… Fcking loud for no reason.

• What about JDM ?

• U wanna make exhaust loud at high rev go ahead..
    U bloody idiots go and make your bike sound like lawn mower even at red lights. Those are the ones deserved to be fined and get their bikes confiscated.
    I’ve even see some of them changing the when exhaust into a super thin straight pipe and kept on going around the neighborhood and revving it repeatedly..

• There is Noise Pollution Tax. For those Ferrari, Lambo, Harley etc, please tax them like engine capacity.
    Over certain decibel, tax them with HIGH HIGH amount. Then the owners are eligible to make more “noise”.

• Chris on Mar 07, 2021 at 10:20 pm

Well I agree it’s unfair persecution. They should extend the action to all motorised vehicles. I’ve a noisy neighbour. Blasts around after sundown. Typically around happy hour time, I guess? I recommend tarik and steamroller the whole vehicle, bike or supercar alike.

• Root.cd.my on Mar 07, 2021 at 10:22 pm

Well I agree it’s unfair persecution. They should extend the action to all motorised vehicles. I’ve a noisy neighbour. Blasts around after sundown. Typically around happy hour time, I guess? I recommend tarik and steamroller the whole vehicle, bike or supercar alike.

• They’re caring for public ear, instead of caring for biker’s life, especially for those big bikes with big torque in silence really dangerous especially in Malaysia. We will wait till life have been taken away by irresponsible driver without giving signal lights (Condolence to that female biker Yamaha R15) Furthermore a decent sound exhaust and a noisy exhaust are totally different sensations. Where is our lawyer hero! It’s time to protect our rights for the safety!

• SkinnnedHead on Mar 08, 2021 at 6:06 pm

Battery powered bicycles are everywhere in this country. Why PDRM, JPJ never think of introducing battery powered motorcycles? Invent one!!

• These stupid dogs are led by some racist political goon… Of course your english is too high of a standard for their dumbass… If they can read the article, it’s pretty shocking because if not most maybe all of them spm english C,D,E and most prefer to wildboar the issue because they aren’t just capable of thinking… IQ tak sampai they say…

• Kenny on Mar 14, 2021 at 6:01 pm

My Harley is fitted with a Vance and Hines big radius exhaust. Fitted at HD at the time I purchased it. Probably abt 100+DB . Will it be a problem?

• Bike owner on Mar 29, 2021 at 9:04 pm

Well… cracking down on bikes that has pipes louder than the allowed db is okay, but summoning those bikes with aftermarket exhaust which is under the db limit is another problem.
    There are some bikes like Naza Blade TBR which comes with an aftermarket exhaust straight from the factory, also gets summon.
    The JPJ/Police will summon the person based on “illegal modification without puspakom” for those have an aftermarket exhaust that is compliant to the db level.. they want bare stock, sound like sewing machine bike, only they let you pass.

• Derrick on Mar 31, 2021 at 8:51 pm

Just wait PDRM to notice only fine them? Or is there anyway that we just directly make the report? My neighbour damn noisy

• How can we lodge a complaint about the noise produce by the bike? The condition doesn’t seem to have becoming better.

• There’s vehicle making too loud noise up and down the road every 1 or 2 hrs every day LDP near SS2 and Tmn Megan PJ.

• If Harley and kapcai sound the same I would not mind but they do not. If the supercar and saloon sound the same then it is fine but one sound louder then the other. I bought a national bike and the exhaust fell off on the day of collection. I have complained to gurun factory and send me festive card every year.

• I got my bike exhaust modified to reduce weight of my bike, yet i put those silencer or DB killer in muffler that reduced my pipe noise until almost same level with my stock/original pipe.

Yet I kena saman no matter the pipe loud or normal, once u modified it consider a saman for exhaust modification.

• Life short earth is just one only think money the one will die so all of homo sapiens

• Najib on Feb 25, 2022 at 6:17 pm

any suggestion best sound and legal exhaust on the road for my upcoming zx25r ?

• Keith on Apr 12, 2022 at 10:57 pm

I am sure all residents knew that before the introduction of food / products deliveries by certain companies, there is peace and quiet in our neighbourhood .
    Now with all this deliveries services available , you will hear the delivery riders zooming passed your house with their annoying modified loud exhaust bikes ( not all ) every 3 to 5 minutes until late at night .
    Companies of this deliveries services should be more responsible on hiring riders with modified loud exhaust . These irresponsible companies are polluting our environment with their employees noisy bikes .
    These companies can help to improve on the reduction of noise pollution by not hiring riders with noisy exhaust.
    Authorities like JPJ should immediately implement a strict law to these deliveries companies to have their employees delivery vehicles to meet the standard permitted noise requirements.

• Eric Bleasel on Feb 03, 2023 at 4:06 am

Police have you lost control of the streets at night,does anarchy prevail?
    Staying at Platinum Suites in the city of Kuala Lumpur on the twentieth floor overlooking the streets and highways in that area.
    It starts just after midnight and goes on for three hours,the reverberation of motorcycle exhausts loud and making sleep impossible,when i look down i see these bikes like wolves in a pack,some even without any lights screaming along the roads,it must be a circuit they do and it would seem without a care in the world of being apprehended by authorities because it would seem obvious there is none.Not a good look for tourists to this otherwise lovely city,do something for goodness sake,don’t be afraid of a little hard work to remedy the sad and unnecessary situation.