2021 Yamaha NMax in Malaysia, new colours, RM8,998

Coming in new colours for the 2021/2022 season is the 2021 Yamaha NMax 155 scooter, priced at RM8,998. The new colour options for the NMax 155 are Power Grey and Icon Grey and pricing is recommended retail and does not include road tax, insurance and registration.

Motive power stays the same for the NMax 155, with 14.9 hp at 8,000 rpm and 14.4 Nm of torque at 6,000 rpm from the single-cylinder, SOHC, 155 cc VVA engine. As is customary for scooters in this class, power gets to the ground via a CVT gearbox and belt final drive.

For the current generation NMax, LED lighting is now standard throughout, with the headlight assembly containing four low LED beams and twin high beams. However, turn signals still use standard bulbs while the tail light is a four-strip LED unit.

The instrument panel in the NMax 155 uses a monochrome LCD that displays all the necessary information, and standard fitment is smart key operation, a USB charging port and idle start-stop. Under the seat, there is a 23.3-litre storage compartment while 7.1-litres of fuel – up from the previous generation NMax’ 6.6-litres – is stored in the tank.

Suspension on the NMax 155 uses telescopic forks in front and twin shock absorbers at the rear end, adjustable for preload. Braking is done with single hydraulic disc brakes front and rear, clamping identically sized 230 mm diameter discs with no ABS for the Malaysia market.

ABS for the Nmax 155 is standard equipment in Thailand and Europe, while in Indonesia, it is available as a model variant. Availability of the 2021 Yamaha NMax 155 at authorised Hong Leong Yamaha Motor dealers is immediate.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• tomyam more valuable than nasi lemak..thats why no abs.

• You know what. Hong Leong motor corporation bring nmax into the singapore fitted with ABS. In malaysia. Hong Leong yamaha motor strip it off. They already know ABS is important. But..they remove this safety feature. Just imagine how this company treat the malaysian rider. Where is the awareness and responsibility of this corporate company!! In developed country, they try to equip the bicycle with ABS. In low income country, they bring motorcycle at least with ABS. In our country, we strip out the ABS.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 0
  • Daniel on Jun 01, 2021 at 10:24 am

It is just that our riders allow the safety features to be stripped. See what will happen if riders were to boycott it.

• realbidder on Jun 01, 2021 at 11:52 am

they never listen to us…
    even once!!!

Put the ABS laaaaaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • No Abs..don’t want to buy

• What a shame and disrespect to Malaysian riders by Yamaha by not including the ABS. Think we Malaysians don’t need this safety feature ke…our life doesn’t matter compared to others? Honda ADV 150 comes with ABS and we will ne happy to take that option. Screw you and shame on you Yamaha!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Double standard treatment form HLYM.Those rim already fitted with ABS sensor disk, but still decided to remove the ABS. But why keep it on their NVX? because NVX more laku and boleh jual mahal kat kedai sebab design lagi lawa? so frustrated. if they wanted to keep the price down than offer both variant la, abs and non-abs with different price.

• nightwatch on Jul 03, 2021 at 7:22 am

Hong Leong Yamaha, why you decide to take out the ABS for Malaysian market? Is it done based on market survey or profit margin? Maybe because rider safety is always secondary priority compared to sales number. At least should be offered as model variant, let the buyer decide la.

• Stormer on Dec 21, 2021 at 10:16 pm

Huh, December 2021, and I am looking to get a new scooter for 2022, as my current Nouvo LC is old already. Of course I look to Yamaha again, but only to find out no ABS. Maybe years ago maybe no one cared, but I do now. And the competition is also heating up, with so many new models, with excellent safety features. Sorry HLY, the NMax is off the shortlist for my purchase consideration.

• Miko Rossi on Dec 31, 2021 at 5:20 pm

NO ABS ? Even bicycles nowadays are fitted with Dual BOSCH ABS. HLY please don’t treat Malaysian motorcyclists like ignorant bumpkins. I’m moving over to MForce products like WMOTO better value for your bucks.

• Domenico on Jun 22, 2022 at 2:10 am

vorrei aquistarla

• Boycott hong leong greedy corporate bastards