Malaysian sports car concept rendered by former Proton designer – inspired by Aston Martin DB10

A Malaysian sports car concept has surfaced, albeit in digital form thanks to former Proton designer Saharudin Busri who is now head of industrial design at MIMOS, national applied research and development centre for information and communication technology.

Saharudin’s creations have featured here on paultan.org before, namely the Proton Savvy 18 as well as the Proton Suprima X concept sketches. Saharudin hasn’t stopped there, as he is constantly exploring new ideas related to automotive design, in part for his teaching at institutions of higher learning.

The latest to emerge from Saharudin’s portfolio is dubbed the Malaysian Sports Car concept, which was initially shown as part of the MIMOS Design Talk event held in conjunction with Autodesk Asia last September.

The overall look of the concept is futuristic, and sports a rather centralised positioning of the cabin – this appears to be able to work with either a front-engined or mid-rear-engined layout. The Aston Martin DB10 inspired the concept’s overall look, says Saharudin, while the finer details were adapted to his vision for this concept car. A large portion of the design here employs sharp, angular lines.

Its ‘face’ is shaped by the car’s front end which starts low, with the slim LED headlamps and the large chrome surround for the grille being the main defining features.

Sharp creases on the bonnet add visual interest, while even more assertive cues take up residence in its side profile, adding to the aggressive look with its minimal wheel arch gaps and very low-profile tyre sidewalls. The deep slashes which serve as the front wheel arches also house the front indicators, continuing along the crease from the top corners of each arrow-like headlamp.

A high waistline, coupled with a low roof surely makes room for a cabin of just two occupants. The base of the windowline arcs over the rear haunches, terminating in an abrupt edge while the rear fascia slants along the rear bumper with a massive diffuser and a pair of large exhaust outlets, then towards the rear wheels for minimal overhang.

Last but not least, you may have noticed the repeated use of the hibiscus throughout the concept car, such as within the tail lamps and for the overall design of the wheels. This is of course in reference to the national flower of Malaysia, and the hibiscus’ shape became the motif of choice as the car was designed in conjunction with National Day; also note the ‘Bunga Raya’ script on the tyres’ sidewalls.

This virtual sports car rendering has also been featured in online teaching material for courses by Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP). Check out part of the design process that went into the creation of the concept car in the video below.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• The design show how retard our designer is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 49
    • Sack the Designer on Jun 05, 2021 at 3:01 pm

Exactly , childish local designs. Siann those students at institutions of higher learning. Ajaran sesat, hampeh.

How about try to design the next Bas Mini jenama proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 18
    • Raja Celup on Jun 05, 2021 at 4:08 pm

Bunga raya rims just like the failed Proton Gen2.

Overall proportion also hideous especially the Savvy-infested rear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • john is otak batu on Jun 05, 2021 at 9:24 pm

That’s y he already became a “FORMER” Proton designer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Manual Swift Sporter on Jun 06, 2021 at 3:58 pm

Not quite sure why there’s so much hate for him, but I kinda dig the design, even the rear. There’s some unique details that does look original and promising.

What I would be curious, and I hope Paultan.org addresses this in detail one day, is why despite having a fair share of potential in Proton, they never did re-translate the X70 and the X50 when they CKD-ed it. With 12 months, and plenty experience designing the likes of Gen 2, Preve and Satria Neo (Yes, I liked their design, so shoot me. I felt they would have done better if they have built them properly), all they managed to change was the logo!

• two tonne sport car on Jun 04, 2021 at 9:06 pm

Rear view mirror is a luxury option

• Luckily concept aje. Standard designer malaysia, tang design belakang aje mesti fail.
    Exhibit A : proton savvy
    Exhibit b : proton preve
    Exhibit c : proton persona
    Exhibit d : proton iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
    • Sendiri Syok on Jun 05, 2021 at 4:11 pm

No wonder jobless and dreaming BMW would hire them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Masuk enjin turbo Geely 200hp , jual rm110k… Proton XXray sports car konpom laku keras wei

• Metro on Jun 06, 2021 at 3:52 am

Agreed.
      Exhibit A: Perodua Kenari
      Exhibit B: Perodua Myvi(all 3 generation)
      Exhibit C: Perodua Alza
      Exhibit D: Perodua Axia
      Exhibit E: Perodua Viva
      Exhibit F: Perodua Bezza tonggek
      Exhibit G: Perodua Aruz
      Exhibit H: Perodua Ativa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • Kosmo on Jun 06, 2021 at 11:57 am

asalkan JKKK & tabung2 imam senantiasa penuh.. Syukur bhaii no problemo.

• george on Jun 04, 2021 at 9:15 pm

Hibiscus = Bersatu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • edmund on Jun 05, 2021 at 3:36 pm

Plain utter nightmare for blessed land Malaysia sejak FEB 2020. pasumno United Peristiwa Hitam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Dr Strange on Jun 06, 2021 at 1:13 pm

100% fully agreed! Black month when 22mths failed gahmen failed to to stop covid into the country. Now we frontliners have suffer for their gagal.
        #22mthsGagal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
        • Can I advise you something on Jun 06, 2021 at 3:43 pm

Syukur gomen perihatin & sayang rakyat #22mthsGagal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • Otak sembab on Jun 10, 2021 at 8:07 am

Any govt managed to stop covid into their country?

• ENGINEER on Jun 04, 2021 at 9:20 pm

Quite simply his design is full of hot airs. Anyone can concept design a nice garang sportscar with decently curb appeal, tiny side mirrors and huge wheels.

No considerations at all for practicality, while a too-low front fascia can catch on parking curbs, and a too-high rear spoiler can affect visibility. And getting the aerodynamics right is also about more than fuel efficiency. The right airflow can also improve handling and vehicle stability, reduce wind noise inside the cabin, keep the brakes cooler and even optimize the heating and air conditioning systems. For example, Drag, in vehicle aerodynamics, is comprised primarily of three forces: Frontal pressure, Rear vacuum, Boundary layer.

Let him try to design the new concepts for Saga, Persona, Exora or Arena. Then we can start to talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
    • Nuggets on Jun 05, 2021 at 4:16 pm

If you bothered reading the article you would realize he had already made design concepts for suprima and savvy in the past

• the driver on Jun 05, 2021 at 6:17 pm

Engineers don’t design cars, designers do. Ever see what happens when engineers put their ideas into car designs?

• Randall Theo on Jun 06, 2021 at 10:12 am

You mean the lexus lfa ? Yeah would definitely like to get my hands on one of those

• the driver on Jun 07, 2021 at 10:19 am

Yeah one of those, one of the worst looking sports cars ever. Handling was so so only

• Aston Martin? Are you really sure??? Need to tone down that imagination a bit. Maybe could start with skoda/seat first…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Brian on Jun 04, 2021 at 10:58 pm

Concept cars always looks nice until they become a reality

• not aesthetically pleasing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • The better version of the GTR50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Betik yang Betul on Jun 05, 2021 at 9:44 am

1st of all, this car has all the buldges at the wrong places. Like, the “bengkak” at the bonnet. This car looks like a well-fed baby, if I may say so.

Sports cars should look athletic, muscular, trimmed, light, etc. This concept car unfortunately has non of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Aliff on Jun 05, 2021 at 11:15 am

It looks more like Lamborghini Sian than db10

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • where the rest of the rear section bitten by godzilla?

• Former Proton designer? Show me your best design in Proton! As long as I can remember, all the Proton cars looked………………Is it Proton Tiara? Proton Juara? Proton savvy? Proton Arena?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • Kudos for the effort! but I can’t help to point out the proportion is off, looks nothing inspired by the DB10, not to disapprove his talent and skills but the overall design looks childish and lack focus. There’s no design continuation from the front to the back.

• Aku perati jer on Jun 05, 2021 at 1:08 pm

Buruknye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • John Mansfield on Jun 05, 2021 at 1:27 pm

Outside of the design itself, the use of graphic software to produce initial concepts is an eye opener in and of itself. Thanks for posting. John Mansfield

• Hafiz88 on Jun 05, 2021 at 1:40 pm

Waistline is too high, the front bonnet is too..the back is somewhat unfinished and the curve is obviously like a shaped balloon in a cast mould..and like all malaysian cars..the wheel arch is somewhat small and always not a please to the eyes..please render likes the shapes of a koenigsegg or something like that..

• Impressive design. Imagine this with Polestar 1 chassis + engine, it’s workable right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • FudgeMeSideways on Jun 05, 2021 at 2:10 pm

He should send his designs to Frank Stephenson to review.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • No.

• design inspired from DELL Wireless Mouse??

• Azahari on Jun 05, 2021 at 3:29 pm

Typically if this is going into production, thay will have teams to comment and the design should looks better over time before it reach production stage. For this first concept I think it is quite revolutionary. I don’t think this design will fit in supercar competition but I think it will fit segments like the 1998 Fiat Coupe. Small engine 2.0, simple engineering, affordable price tag…I think it is ralistic.

• haihhhh on Jun 05, 2021 at 3:41 pm

Idk man how to react to this design. Doesn’t look like sports car, more like kit car.

• Ex VGM staff on Jun 07, 2021 at 3:29 pm

Even worst how he managed to get a job in proton as a designer??

• Nuggets on Jun 05, 2021 at 4:12 pm

Even if we have the best designers it’s irrelevant because at the end of the day we have accountants stepping in to cut cost here cut cost there, and then eventually we get 10 facelifted versions of the same car, or rebadged cars, or cars that looks absolutely nothing like their concept cars.
    Also front end looks more like nissan gtr50 than db10

• kahrichard on Jun 05, 2021 at 4:27 pm

Sleek and ❤️

• S.Ganesh on Jun 06, 2021 at 9:49 pm

For me the design look nice, elegan and trendy but what abt the interior hope will be ok, because even KIA company engage a Mat Salleh as chief designer no wonder its looks fabulas, for concept its ok

• Bagus. Semoga mjd realiti.

• Pak Hailam on Jun 05, 2021 at 6:46 pm

Besides magazines, there are lots of references of sports car available kat internet. Browse until muak also can. Video, photos, reviews, etc. Macam- macam ada, bro. All at your finger tips.

Unfortunately, this concept car suggest the designer is “katak bawah temnpurung”, or maybe syok sendiri. Missed all the target.

No wonder Malaysia still stucked in rebadging cars.

Sorry for the harsh comment, boss. I hope this makes the designer work harder.

• This ressembles paultans characters: Big head bombarded into small body. Big bonnet bombarded into small body!

• SCion on Jun 05, 2021 at 7:44 pm

Take ford mustang bonnet and slap onto honda S660 chassis kah… The proportion.

• learn photoshop, edit pic some sport car & say concept bla bla bla..profit. dah2 la paultan, bende ni tak layak utk di post pun

• HairiHazri on Jun 05, 2021 at 8:31 pm

Aduhh…..

• Tamiya on Jun 06, 2021 at 1:16 am

I m a designer too for me this is bad design. No creativity at all the car is out of proportion very very bad concept..sorry next please.

• Azri-x proton user on Jun 06, 2021 at 1:45 am

Why bontot must be obvious

• Abah cow on Jun 06, 2021 at 3:25 am

This is the best he can get out from his wild imagination? Seriously?

• Smp kt blkg nmpk sgt mamat ni dah letih sgt dah. Rehat laa dlu.. Have a kitkat.

• Leonardo on Jun 06, 2021 at 9:47 am

Haha…some of the comments here comes from people who seemed to work with Ital Design or Bertone Auto Styling studios. Maybe some really do. But as with any creative works, it is always subjected to a difference of opinions. Which is fine, because that’s how new ideas are developed so long it is done with good intentions.
    So may I suggest that those who have better ideas than this ex PROTON designer’s proposal on a sporty Malaysian sports car, send in your sketches and rendering to Paul Tan for all of us here to see? Dare you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Some of my humbly brilliant works last time.

https://paultan.org/2011/06/07/lotus-targeting-ferrari%E2%80%99s-v8-with-new-engine-550-570-hp/

• Malaysia deserve good Malaysian on Jun 07, 2021 at 12:18 pm

Spot on Leonardo..sadly it seems most comments here don’t understand creative works..for me it is a good rendering, which can be further improved especially on the rear end and diffusers..the front is stylish and futuristic which is good. Overall I would give 8/10..keep up your good work.

• matrxe on Jun 06, 2021 at 11:09 am

More like show case of CAD skill instead of design skill.

• TurboMan on Jun 06, 2021 at 12:07 pm

I think it looks amazing. We have local talents that are appreciated overseas, but locals just love to jump on them. Tall poppy syndrome I guess.

Hope somebody can finance this to make this a reality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Muhammad ravi on Jun 06, 2021 at 1:28 pm

Pekerja professional yang bertaraf dunia banyak di Malaysia tetapi disebabkan recommendations ataupun boleh cakap polish kasih oleh company tersebut sendiri menyebabkan perkara perkara tak diingini berlaku.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 06, 2021 at 4:15 pm

Uhhhhhgleeee..

• wkaka on Jun 06, 2021 at 4:29 pm

Nice to see the process, perhaps the back needs to be fixed and wheel arches needs to be larger or flared for a more garang look.

• nice design. we have numbers of talent in Malaysia . this designer can go far away. If we can produce car with unique design , it can represent our country.

• Syok sendiri

• Mee Maidin on Jun 06, 2021 at 6:53 pm

Reality…..is harsh, isn’t it?

• The front grill looks like a big moustache

• Daniel Ng on Jun 06, 2021 at 11:43 pm

DON’T just dont..proton in good hands now..another showcase of your own ego trying to revive the national brand its just gonna fuck things up like what you did for past decades..if if aint spoilt dont fix it

• Nik md Azam bin nik hussein on Jun 07, 2021 at 9:23 am

Sangat bagus

• Nik md Azam bin nik hussein on Jun 07, 2021 at 9:24 am

Great

• newme on Jun 07, 2021 at 10:10 am

No wonder Proton is only given task to design grille and nothing else….OK, maybe the permission to add teh tarik hook. Beyond that, it’s a no.

• maslan on Jun 07, 2021 at 6:24 pm

Until you realized what they actually do in industrial design at MIMOS, national applied research and development centre for information and communication technology.

1.7mil Govt staff and counting.. #maslanbingung.jpg

• Troll Hunter on Jun 08, 2021 at 4:29 pm

Oh wow and I was hoping nobody relates this article with Proton today but nope, all the waayyyy down in the comment sewer we see sewer trolls are alive, or at least just you. Lonely you.

• Stanley on Jun 07, 2021 at 12:32 pm

Calm down guys….its just a prototype. All the successful stories comes with the failure first

• Truth Hurts on Jun 07, 2021 at 4:59 pm

If 30 years failure till need China rescue then it’s not a success isn’t it.

• From the design POV, I think it looks great! Kudos to the designer.

• SPOT kar on Jun 07, 2021 at 3:46 pm

Designing a sport car don’t really need to throw every single angle like a sport car. It can be much simpler with the passion and curve with engineering that work together to form an ultimate machine.

• No point on Jun 07, 2021 at 7:01 pm

No matter how good the design the top management will decide the final design.
    As we can see from previous proton model, all cap ayam design.
    Macam x penah pg sekolah design.
    I heard from ex proton staff, one model actually look kia optima rear but was shelved bcos top management didn’t like

• Good job.. lots of room for improvement. The people who talked rubbish out of pure hatred simply ignore them. I want to see them come up with their own design rather than ‘ cakap besar’ like they r the designer of ferraris n so on. Why lately people r getting so negative about everything. Poor souls.

• It definitely looks like a proton, another El cheapo attempt into the sport car arena. Proton has the worst car design of all times, at least geely has d balls to copy other car brands n make them worthy 2b on the roads. U want a sports car at least get an Italian to design it.

• Denvo on Jun 07, 2021 at 10:20 pm

This looks more like a Fiat Coupe than an Aston Martin

• anonymous_c on Jun 08, 2021 at 9:43 am

Try not bash, design wise these are impressive but will it be wall-poster or wallpaper for your laptop/mobile device?

Perodua should release Daihatsu Copen chassis for these ex-proton designers just to practice their skills. At least with a real Copen chassis which can showcase something solid REAL and prove if their design can be practicality use in the REAL world.

• James on Jun 08, 2021 at 11:35 am

this is the ugliest cut and paste work I have ever seen. what you expect from people under Azlan Osman.

• if bitten is the work of dog and rabbits than melt name the work by venomous snakes

• Carl25 on Jun 09, 2021 at 11:59 am

looks like a Hotwheels car..

• sorryaa on Jun 10, 2021 at 12:09 am

i have soo many negative comment about the design and the creativity of the designer.. so no comment.. maybe just keep it to yourself

• numlock on Jun 10, 2021 at 5:19 pm

In a comment section like this, reasonable criticism should be tolerated, but the worst is when the comments go off topic.