Aston Martin to release special ‘JDT Edition’ cars for TMJ’s Johor Darul Ta’zim Malaysian football club

Malaysian football club Johor Darul Ta’zim FC (JDT) announced that it has struck a partnership with Aston Martin Racing Asia. The partnership “further emphasises the Southern Tigers as a leading football brand in Southeast Asia,” the club says. JDT is known as the Johor Southern Tigers.

JDT says that the partnership with the British carmaker’s racing outfit is not only “very valuable monetarily” to the club, “but is also a deep-rooted relationship that is going to develop opportunities for JDT, Johor and Aston Martin Racing in various areas over the coming years”.

The club bills its latest deal as “champions in respective fields teaming up”. JDT are the reigning seven times consecutive Malaysia Super League winners since 2014, while Aston Martin Racing won the LMGTE Pro class at the 2020 Le Mans endurance race.

Interestingly, the statement by Johor said that Aston Martin in UK has agreed to release ‘JDT Edition’ themed cars, where profit from sales will be shared by the football club and the carmaker.

The images accompanying the announcement show JDT players posing with a range of Astons, but don’t confuse them for the planned JDT Edition – the cars seen here are likely to be from the private collection of the Johor royal family, which is known to love their cars. Cars aside, next season’s jersey would look great with Aston onboard!

For now, let’s enjoy the sight of these sexy coupes below. That blue DBS…

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ruslan Bahari on Jul 28, 2021 at 11:26 am

Yes, of course the average JDT fan can afford these cars. This “initiative” couldn’t be further removed from the reality. How does this engage your fan base??

Syok sendiri lebih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
    • RoadRage (Member) on Jul 28, 2021 at 12:59 pm

If you know nothing about branding and business, better to shut your pie hole.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • Ruslan Bahari on Jul 29, 2021 at 5:02 pm

So answer my question la. You don’t even use a real name.

• RoadRage (Member) on Jul 30, 2021 at 2:31 pm

Do you really think i’m here to make friends? Why the heck should I use my real name for? To answer your question, this is marketing and brand presence to attract more investors buddy. Learn…

• Veyron Owner on Jul 28, 2021 at 2:25 pm

The average Premier League fan can’t afford for the Lambos & Ferraris & Bentleys that those EPL footballers can pay in a week but does it matter to them? Heck no! It’s all about glamour and attracting top talents.

Why sendiri wanna butthurt?

• Ruslan Bahari on Jul 29, 2021 at 5:04 pm

Clearly you’re not a football fan or a fan in ENG. And please learn to read articles. It’s glamour of you own and drive them like in the EPL. Star players get sponsored cars too. As do the manager. Ony the Prince buys his cars for this deal.

• Imprezzed on Jul 29, 2021 at 12:43 am

Not even the star players can afford this car lol

• When one is not selfish, one get an Aston specially made.
    #Respect

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • as if this team has potential..lol

• This is that family drunk on money. It doesn’t help the people of Johor, it doesn’t help the game, it’s just all self proclaiming and ego stroking bs. Always going on about how they’re for the people while each person in the fam buys 1 Lambo in 6 different colors.

• RoadRage (Member) on Jul 30, 2021 at 2:33 pm

Lol i laughed so hard at this. You’re trying to justify your sad life by putting others down. How’s that working out for you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Sultan Melaka on Jul 28, 2021 at 2:03 pm

The rakyat of Johor called, said they want their money back.

• hazri on Jul 28, 2021 at 3:45 pm

oh ok, so now should we be proud or what… ..

• lilytan on Jul 28, 2021 at 4:47 pm

JDT aside, that red lipstick is a joke. Perhaps white could be better

• Thai Ways on Jul 28, 2021 at 6:57 pm

Itu bukan kereta dia, itu kereta kita semua, kereta orang Johor. Sebab dia guna tanah dan duit rakyat Johor bah ( hasil titik peluh kita semua)

Nanti kita naik kereta itu, pergi jalan-jalan dengan duit petrol dia..hahaha. Thai Ways ~

• RoadRage (Member) on Jul 30, 2021 at 2:40 pm

I see a lot of sour comments here and mostly trying to shoot others of their achievements. If you can’t afford it, or can’t achieve what others can, don’t have to blame others of your own failure but yourself. Makes you a sore loser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22