VIDEO: MIROS shares tips for Malaysian cycling safety

Cyclists in Malaysia are sometimes much maligned for being inconsiderate road users but the onus is on everyone, including vehicle drivers and motorcycle riders, to make road usage safe for everyone. On the part of cyclists, the Malaysian Insitute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) has issued a video on cycling safety, including proper roadworthiness of a bicycle and road manners.

As befits its name, the MIROS video places a strong emphasis on safety and reminds cyclists that they need to “Be Seen. Be Alert. Be Safe” as per the tagline in the video. As a good friend – both a cyclist and a motorcycle racer as well as a professional cycling coach – once reminded us, “no one is responsible for your safety but yourself.”

The video starts with correct helmet wear and ensuring proper and safe operation of your bicycle, including functional brakes, safety equipment such as bell and lights as well as proper condition and inflation of tyres. On the road, cyclists are reminded not to ride against the flow of traffic and to keep to the left.

VIDEO: MIROS shares tips for Malaysian cycling safety

Traffic signs and lights, road markings and road rules are to be obeyed with emphasis placed on stopping at intersections. Cyclists should be aware of oncoming traffic before pulling out of intersections and clearly signal their intention if turning left or right.

Also included in the video are guidelines for bringing bicycles aboard trains and cyclists are reminded that they should not cycle in high pedestrian traffic areas but instead carry or push their bicycle. As a vulnerable road users, cyclists should also stay alert to road hazards that could case them to lose control of the bicycle.

Wherever possible, cyclists should use demarcated bicycle lanes or bike paths, giving way to pedestrians by slowing down and sounding the bell. Pedestrians should be passed on the right in a safe manner, giving proper allowance for distance.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• the driver on Aug 09, 2021 at 11:20 am

Start with motor car drivers first then we advise cyclists. I have had too many bad encounters with drivers, and my bicycle is banana yellow in colour and my jersey is flourescent orange. I have had car drivers side swipe me, block me at the roundabout (when the exit has 2 car width!) and too many close encounters when riding. So you want to educate cyclists?

• Unknown on Aug 09, 2021 at 5:34 pm

Cyclists dont stop for traffic or traffic lights. Nuff said

• Carolyn Khaw on Aug 09, 2021 at 12:11 pm

Hello, the focus should be given to the law-breaking grab panda 2 wheel riders

• Unknown on Aug 09, 2021 at 5:35 pm

Dua dua pun sama. As long 2 wheelers both break rules on regular basis

• Azian Madun on Aug 12, 2021 at 9:13 am

Seriously, what harm can cycling do. Cars & motorcycles can do more harm. Those are the people that you should target, not people on the bicycles.