JPJ says sufficient evidence a must before it can deal with p-hailing offences such as running red lights

Running red lights and going against the flow of traffic are the major complaints made about p-hailing (parcel, food delivery) riders, but the road transport department (JPJ) says it is difficult to take action against offenders due to insufficient evidence, Bernama reports.

According to the department’s deputy director-general of planning and operations, Aedy Fadly Ramli, most of these offences, especially those ignoring traffic light laws, were committed by riders chasing time in a bid to complete food deliveries quickly.

However, he said little can be done if there is no evidence of the misdemeanours. He urged the public to provide solid evidence such as video recordings or photographs, vehicle plate numbers, as well as the time and location of the incidents so as to facilitate enforcement.

“Most complaints we receive, especially on social media, are regarding p-hailing riders or drivers running red lights or travelling in the opposite direction of traffic on one-way streets. When there is clear, hard evidence, we can conduct investigations and when the offence is proven, we can issue summonses,” he said.

Presently, the p-hailing service is unregulated, but this is in the process of being carried out. The transport ministry has said that the government is expected to finalise regulations to oversee motorcycle parcel delivery p-hailing riders as soon as possible.

In July, transport minister Datuk Wee Ka Siong said that the ministry was set to regulate the industry under existing laws, and would also increase advocacy and safety campaigns among the riders and service providers.

Earlier this month, he said that the ministry had drafted a policy paper on the matter and it would be tabled for discussion at the Cabinet level. He said that the rules that will be implemented will also include regulations concerning the operations of riders, similar to that taken to regulate the e-hailing sector.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• dong gor on Aug 30, 2021 at 6:13 pm

when some one lodged a report about bank robbery, are you expecting us to get you bullet shells and blood sample as evidence? If there is a problem, go investigate and fix it. that is why you are paid using tax payers money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
    • Celup King on Aug 30, 2021 at 11:37 pm

Why people think authorities must pick up shit from everybody.
      If you get into an accident and you go balai to report it, can you do it without telling about the other party number plate or else just pick a random number to accuse?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • Bieight on Aug 30, 2021 at 6:26 pm

Haha…

• ahmad shah on Aug 30, 2021 at 7:05 pm

that’s why we dont need this kind of minister to lead this country..
    just ask police to standby those heavy traffic area settle.. or put those AES camera more at traffic light, this one also rakyat need to teach ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Celup King on Aug 30, 2021 at 11:33 pm

Haiz, that’s the problem with PaulTan reporting method from baiting with irrelevant picture of WKS in the article. If people actually learn to read it is JPJ deputy director-general of planning and operations, Aedy Fadly Ramli that made the statement, not WKS.

• Mohamad on Aug 30, 2021 at 8:01 pm

This kind of issue is not so new now , many accidents cos of p hilling and make gengterim on the road get the issue fix. Don’t give excuses.

• Budak from Sg Tekala on Aug 30, 2021 at 9:27 pm

PDRM once says “…We cannot take any action without receiving official complaint/report being lodged…”

• Echng on Aug 30, 2021 at 11:06 pm

Are we get paid with minister salary If complete evidence shown! Look likes a clown with retarded wishful brainy. Stop sandiwara, protect everyone including p-hailers. thks.

• Casual reader on Aug 31, 2021 at 9:59 am

Dear PT, please put up a picture of JPJ DDG instead of dr wee. Direct the ire to the correct person. Your way of reporting is doing him a disservice as he got nothing to do with what being reported.

• abdullah53 on Aug 31, 2021 at 11:37 pm

If there is a will.there is a way.
        Enforce a laws to.incorporate a GPS into Delivery’s software system, track their coordinates and time of violation that captured by the AES camera system.
        This is for the safety of all road users as well
        as those delivery hell drivers.

• Joseph Tan on Aug 31, 2021 at 8:33 am

Please look into the compensation structure of the P-hailing service companies. Especially the penalty & incentive concerning the speed of delivery.

Please work at the roots of speeding. Do not just come up with the way to catch the Riders.

Customer wants the food fast.
    Companies compete by offering incentive.

Customer complaints and thus
    Companies set up penalty system.

Not to mention,
    Restaurant may be understaffed due to MCO.
    And, food takes longer to get ready.

Personally,
    Driving on the roads has become more stressful due to P-hailing Riders who do not follow the law.

But,
    We must be thankful for their services.

Finally,
    Please look into testing whether these P-hailing Riders are spreading the Virus.

• Gettit? on Aug 31, 2021 at 12:34 pm

Jpj and food delivery folks same color

• Grab is Green
      Food Panda is Pink
      Lala is Orange
      JPJ is Blue
      Are you colour blind?

• Quote: “He urged the public to provide solid evidence such as video recordings or photographs, vehicle plate numbers, as well as the time and location of the incidents so as to facilitate enforcement.”
    Whose duty is law enforcement, the authority or the public ?

• When I drive my car to collect Grabfood for delivery, I usually try to park at a safe place, but unfortunately, I get summoned, tho not causing any blockage to the on going cars. I’m just collecting the food. What for parking in the mall when it’s only 5 to 10 minutes to take the food and go off to deliver.

• abdullah on Aug 31, 2021 at 11:32 pm

If there is a will.there is a way.
    Enforce a laws to.incorporate a GPS into Delivery’s software system, track their coordinates and time of violation that captured by the AES camera system.
    This is for the safety of all road users as well
    as those delivery hell drivers.

• I did email video clips to JPJ showing very clear evidence of traffic violations. JPJ’s standard reply was tak jelas or tak boleh buka file. The video clips were wmv format for goodness sake. So take a look within JPJ before saying no evidence.
    Oh BTW what happened to that number 01151115252 that JPJ claimed could be used to WhatsApp traffic violations?