Tun M wades in on senior citizens driving issue, says age is not a factor – Alor Setar to KL drive, no problem

Tun M before a hot lap in the Nio EP9 1,341 hp electric hypercar around Sepang

Last month, PDRM’s Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT) director Datuk Azisman Alias raised an interesting topic. He proposed certain conditions for the issuance of driving licences to senior citizens, including a medical examination to certify that they are fit to drive.

The top traffic cop explained that poor health is one of the causes of road accidents, with diseases such as Alzheimer’s and deteriorating eyesight being common problems. And there have indeed been recent cases of elderly drivers driving against the flow.

“We see cases of driving against the flow of traffic being a trend, and there are cases involving the elderly aged 60 and 70 years and above. This can indirectly cause accidents on the road. Some senior citizens aged 70 and above are forgetful and senile, and most cases of driving against the traffic flow involving this group is because of wrongfully entering a road. There was a case previously where an elderly driver entered a motorcycle lane,” he said.

As expected, Azisman’s remarks created an uproar, with many senior citizens against the idea, defending their fitness and ability to drive. The idea was duly nipped in the bud by transport minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong.

In a statement, Wee said that any related policy change must be handled with a systematic, evidence-based approach, and needed to be treated with foresight. He said that simply refusing a driver the means to drive on the basis of their age or based on isolated and anecdotal evidence would be discriminatory, because many drivers far over 70 display greater competence in driving compared to their younger peers for any number of reasons.

Now, perhaps the most famous elderly driver in Malaysia has waded into the topic. It’s widely acknowledged that Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad is incredibly fit and mentally sharp for someone who is just four years away from the century mark – he’s in good health, mobile, and regularly drives himself. The “father of Proton” is known to be fond of cars and probably never turns down a test drive.

From L-R: Tun M seen in the original 1985 Proton Saga and the VinFast SA2.0 SUV in Hanoi

“Our ability isn’t tied to age. These days, we find that many elderly people are still active, can still think and can perform tasks such as driving a car. There’s nothing troubling me, I can still drive. My vision is still OK, my hearing is OK, I can see the road and there’s no problem in me driving a car to anywhere,” he said in a video posted on Twitter.

“For other reasons, I have gone for eye tests and my vision is OK, especially at night. I can drive at night, but they don’t allow me to,” the former PM said, letting off a chuckle. Presumably, ‘they’ in the statement refers to his family. “Driving from Alor Setar to Kuala Lumpur, no problem,” he added. The video shows the Langkawi MP driving his Proton X70.

Is anyone surprised? Probably not, because the doctor-turned-politician is healthy and capable at an age that many would have done very well just to be alive. If one’s vision and hearing is good, and he/she has good awareness, there’s no reason to bar the person from driving.

However, is Mahathir an exception or the norm? While he has a point, could he be speaking for himself and a small minority of elderly drivers? In any case, the original idea from Azisman was for senior citizens to pass certain criteria (which someone fit should not worry about) and not to bar them from driving outright. What do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jom Global on Oct 08, 2021 at 8:00 pm

Again, Congratulations Tun M for Nio EP9 experience.

World Fastest EV for half decade

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • More bullcrap from this guy, with his endless retainers & assistants and sycophants I highly doubt he has driven any meaningful mileage since 30 years ago. Most of his publicity drives are short and in controlled areas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Just because a handful of seniors folk can still drive, doesn’t mean all of them also still can drive. That’s why the law propose them to be reevaluate, not straight up banning them. If they really still fit to drive, there’s nothing to worry about right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 14
  • YB Albert on Oct 08, 2021 at 9:53 pm

We have been debating about this matter.Can the authorities tabulate the relevant data..A.Senior citizens driving Erratically.B Drivers under dadah /alcohol influence C.Impatient dangerous normal drivers without health problems. Until we analyze all the data,we are just quoting vvips randomly n get carried away.Time to stop being emotional without the facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Because of this old snake we have to pay excise duty and contribute our taxes to P1 and P2. Never trust an old snake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • The only time you can trust him is when he admitted they lied and had no intention of fulfilling any of the promises they put out prior to winning. Unfortunately nasi sudah jadi bubur for 22 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Simon Locke on Oct 08, 2021 at 10:38 pm

Why does everything have to be made into a “political statement”, most developed countries already require “the elderly” to retest and show fitness to drive.

Driving is not a “solitary confinement” exercise as we are on the road with many other users, there are so many factors involved when we are driving, the least of with is eyesight (peripheral vision), reaction time (reflexes) and hearing !

Malaysian roads are already so dangerous, let’s think safety first, rather than who has the “right of way”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Din M on Oct 10, 2021 at 8:15 am

Because this gomem is just using this as an excuse to appoint crony to charge for the “fitness test”. Just like Puspakom cronies. Bloody sheep.

• Truckers on Oct 10, 2021 at 6:15 pm

Stupid isit. This is similar to CDL drivers license requirement where any registered clinic can do health screening prior to renewal. How does that benefit any cronies unless you are accusing all private doctors as cronies.

• Bieight8 on Oct 09, 2021 at 9:13 am

Don’t worry senior citizens… In Malaysia we have flying cars…

• Datuk on Oct 09, 2021 at 9:31 am

Grab can take over and serve the elderly market.

if the law is so susah payah.
    they already help some of them for the Covid19 Vaccination.

• simon on Oct 09, 2021 at 10:11 am

i can also drive at 90 if i had escorts in front, left and right and behind me.

the same reason elderly should stick to lower impact exercise activity rather than weightlifting…..INHERENT RISK.

You can still do it but what’s the likelihood of injury?!!!

• Basil Yusof on Oct 09, 2021 at 12:17 pm

There are many other dangerous driving / riding on the road that the govt could focus on rather that pick on those 70 + years. Some examples are: people who don’t observe traffic lights especially bikers, and I believe a good proportion of them have no license, drunk drives who cause death & injuries to others, overloaded lorries that are many on the roads, heavily modified vehicles some with lights that are distracting, cars that are not road worthy, vehicles whose brakes are faulty especially lorries. These are just a few and I’m sure there are many more. Why look at seniors who are mostly law abiding and observe good road manners.

• George on Oct 10, 2021 at 7:32 am

Here in Sabah more likely our roads are causing more accident regardless ages,more to that road bully,drunk,no licenses,drugs, careless drivers,to me nothing to do with age of course they are few.

• Lilytan on Oct 09, 2021 at 12:22 pm

This old man is obviously bias. If age is not a factor then perhaps 12 year old can also drive?

No one is asking seniors not to drive if they fit. But health check is indeed a reasonable request for their own safety. If u are old and fit like Dr M, by all means continue driving.

• LEE SOON POH on Oct 09, 2021 at 5:35 pm

all this stupid idel .noting to do create all rubbish .

• Senior 70 on Oct 09, 2021 at 9:37 pm

Why take it out on the Seniors… Just because they are old? Have you noticed(or you are wearing dark glasses and can’t see properly)while driving on the roads these days the e-hailing drivers 1.simply weave in and out whilst driving 2. Drive in the opposite directions thereby endangering the lives of law abiding citizens 3. Beating the traffic lights even when it has turned RED. So I ask you a simple question… who poses more danger on the roads?

• It’s not age that determine to drive, period. Agree need to go thru some test but again at certain further senior age to ensure their own safety and public. If a person deem fit does not matter of age. In this country life quite difficult if no own transport to move freely anytime also save cost.

• Chow Ngoh. on Oct 10, 2021 at 5:47 am

Many seniors above 70 are still fit & capable to drive safely. They are even more experienced in driving than youngster. Those seniors with complicated underlying illnesses should undergo a medical test before being issued a driving license is strongly recommended. Please be reasonable when passing comments in public. No flying bullets to gain political mileage please. Don’t follow other countries rulings if they are not suitable here.

• Rpirus on Oct 10, 2021 at 10:53 am

laws or anything has pros and cons. For 70× age, is sounds quite reasonable but to implement such law must not pose extra burdens esp. senior citizen. Let the gov’t provide good solutions and I agree that senior citizens are the careful lot except under the influence of drugs or drunk etc which are already stated in the rtd laws. The same with health. If we are not fit we don’t feel safe, so dont drive. The same with “don’t drink and drive or don’t smoke and drive” campaign!

• Robin on Oct 10, 2021 at 5:13 pm

Shall we award the famous outriders mat rempit for their street stunts n noise pollution if not a nuisance.Enforcement need to be exercised in this areas as well as driving under the influence of booze n dope.the old chaps are careful drivers who still hv regards for LIFE.

• Sri Renganathar Periasamy on Oct 12, 2021 at 6:51 pm

Almost one decade (63 ) years has gone your pdrm not very professional enough to handle or stopped such reckless riders like mat rempit better known as dare devil riders what a shame to this country and to the police force.

• Bumper on Oct 11, 2021 at 2:03 pm

Solute Tun M. He is truely a great leader.

• CM Kong on Oct 11, 2021 at 9:02 pm

Before he says anything he should do some scientific research first. See what the datas shows, like percentage by population in that particular age group e.g 20 to 29, 30 to 39 etc if most accidents happens in 30 to 39 age group, is he going to suggest this group go for reevaluation?? Really stupid idea. Some young drivers drove on the opposite side and causes accident too. Is he saying these youngsters are senile? Accidents do happen just live with it and manage it, like providing better road, better lightings, better road signs, clearer markers etc etc.

• Atuk Jamil Muhammad Piah on Oct 12, 2021 at 3:20 pm

Astghfirullah I think not enough of homework done! PDRM shud one, look into abusive driving, of all sorts from drunken public to rempit Two, look into their forces health status, even below 50, some personnels with chronic health complaints and obesity. ( Remember, they were looking, pantau obesity in the force! What happened! Did they act positive. Have the personnels trimmed, to look fitter for the job Third, remember raids made in parties, gambling activities. Personnels were partying too. Act on these . You’ll gain due respect!