Malaysian cyclists, drafting is dangerous, episode 3

Despite a reminder by police just a week ago, some Malaysian cyclists are apparently stubborn, with another trio spotted drafting behind a heavy vehicle on a multi-lane road during the morning rush hour. Twitter user Apai@Radevengers posted a short video showing a cycling duo drafting behind a heavy vehicle, with another cyclist alongside on the right.

Before some paultan.org start accusing us of putting up “hate” articles against cyclists, this is above all a road safety issue. Cyclists are the most vulnerable of road users and deliberately ignoring road rules while cycling increases the risk level for the cyclist.

No one is responsible for your safety on the road but yourself and should the worst happen, pointing the finger of blame at others, more especially when you’re a cyclist, serves no purpose because that EPS shell helmet and lycra has minimal to zero intrinsic safety value.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Kapchai on Oct 14, 2021 at 2:40 pm

Pity, no money buy kapchai

• Ben Yap on Oct 15, 2021 at 3:11 am

a top of the range road bike can buy a car. mid-range road bike can buy a 250cc Japanese bike. a lower range can buy a kapchai. a budget china bike can buy a used kapchai. so a cyclist is much richer than a kapchai motorcyclist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • Rich doesn’t mean you can cycling in the middle of the road, maybe is time for you to get a brain

• even though I am a cyclist, I do agree they are brainless…. nobody would do such stunts and endanger surrounding people. This is a selfish act and it must be stopped. There are too many newbies out cycling nowadays, we must do something in order to have a better road etics for cyclist and other road users too. New law/SOP must be adhere for everyone’s peace.

• Can we just let natural selection run its course?

• Hantu Raya on Oct 15, 2021 at 12:10 pm

And the Darwin Award goes to….

• Logical Deduction on Oct 15, 2021 at 12:35 pm

Logical but the police cannot let that happen or else they get blamed for any subsequent deaths & injuries by the cyclist community.

• Justice on Oct 14, 2021 at 3:13 pm

public nuisance

• Ben Yap on Oct 14, 2021 at 4:40 pm

i beg to differ that cyclist helmet has close to zero safety value. nowadays cycling helmet has technology such as MIPS that will protect cyclist head better in an event of a crash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 34
    • Ahmad on Oct 15, 2021 at 9:52 am

Precisely, just like how old one saying, which is practical until today. “Kecik kecik tak nak mampos, sudah besar menyusahkan orang”.

MIPS there, helmet here, but i do like how the marketing of the bicycle helmet works on you.

• Add A Comment on Oct 15, 2021 at 10:13 am

is you again defending them, You must be one of them…hahahaha….

• Ben Yap on Oct 15, 2021 at 12:17 pm

I’m an avid cyclist and i do believe in drafting if it is done safely. Drafting needs skills and technique. also i believe in the technology of bicycle helmets and that’s why a top of the range bicycle helmet is as expensive as a top of the range motorcycle helmet. the price is not simply set just to make money. R&D has been put into the development of a bicycle helmet. only non-cyclist won’t understand and only evaluate on face value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
        • Bro…you serious ? I am a weekend cyclist and my helmet has mips which is just a sheet of plastic to prevent brain from moving when your head smashes the road but this comment clearly show you are oblivious at how dangerous drafting is. When you hit the brakes, you need time to modulayr or the tires lock up and you fly straight into whatever you are drafting on. And no freaking helmet is going to protect your face when you slam into the back of these lorry when they do an emergency brake.

So please do not draft behind motor, car, lorry or whatever.

• ya ya practice your drafting at taman lah not on the road dimwit

• Drafting should only be done in a properly controlled environment. Not in public traffic.

As for technology; even for cars, where the technology development budget definitely dwarfs bicycle R & D, all the ADAS/AEB/VSC/TC/SRS/etc will not work if the driver (or other driver) drives like an idiot.

Simply put, everyone should drive/ride responsibly on public roads so that we all can arrive safe and sound.

• Leave a comment on Oct 15, 2021 at 11:21 am

Nice, it can save your brain while your are totally paralyzed down due to accident. Maybe living that way is your dream..

• So you are saying wearing a high tech helmet can save you from the Lorry crashing your brain? And recommend cyclist to continue cycling on busy road ? Please open up a safety helmet company and sell more high tech helmet so everyone can be safe on the road and you can get rich

• DO SHOW ME PROOF OF MIPS TECHNOLOGY CAN TAHAN THE IMPACT WHEN THE LORRY LANGGAR OR GOLEK OVER YOUR HEAD?? you must be kidding meeee….. comments here really entertaining….

• the driver on Oct 14, 2021 at 5:00 pm

Absolutely bonkers! Stupidity knows no limits indeed

• aropaima on Oct 14, 2021 at 5:37 pm

dh lama hidup. nk cepat mampos agaknye

• Also on motorcycle lane at federal. I don’t mind cyclists there, but be reasonable. Don’t cycle there at rush hour, the lane are already small and hazardous (with a lot of blind turn) as it is, please don’t make it worse just so you can do your leisure activity.

• tour de draft on Oct 15, 2021 at 8:40 am

waiting for episode iv

• Gabriel on Oct 15, 2021 at 9:09 am

I am a cyclist and i do not condone drafting in the middle of the road. It is DANGEROUS.
    Fellow cyclist, do not do this. You are giving other cyclists a bad name. Not to mention that you are putting your life and others at risk.

• Dinesh Barathy on Oct 15, 2021 at 9:45 am

“kerana nila setitik, rosak susu sebelanga”

• Cervelo on Oct 15, 2021 at 3:30 pm

I’m a cyclist and this behaviour are very dangerous. This cyclist should be caught & ban from using the road for a year. Their car licence should be suspended too! Totally despicable behaviour. Its like those rampet, small percentage of them tarnished the whole bikers imagine in this case cyclist.

• Later kena langgar become LGE fault.

• Jones on Oct 15, 2021 at 6:14 pm

Geng bicycle rempit

• Robinhood on Oct 17, 2021 at 11:37 am

These are the idiots who gave a bad reputation to other cyclists. Please arrest them and have them lock in the prison for 20 years and their bike sell off to donate to the poor.

• Wow damn dumb man these cyclists