2022 Perodua Myvi facelift caught undisguised in Malaysia – new face, Ativa grille, rear bumper seen!

What’s this? Why, it’s the facelifted Perodua Myvi, completely undisguised for all to see! The refreshed hatchback was spotted by Instagram user @myvitesse during a commercial shoot, revealing the car’s cosmetic changes in full.

While still recognisably a third-generation Myvi, the front end has seen a significant redesign, drawing plenty of inspiration from the Aruz and Ativa. The grille is larger and deeper than before and loses the thick chrome surround in favour of a single chrome slat, which runs under the Perodua badge and joins the headlights.

Speaking of which, the LED lamps may look identical to before but are actually slightly tweaked. The innermost corner has been bevelled where it meets the chrome strip, and if you look closely, you can see that the halogen positioning lights have also disappeared.

Down below, the bumpers have sharper contours around the downturned centre air intake, giving it distinct X shape in concert with the re-profiled grille. The gloss black front lip on this AV model is also now integrated into the bumper and features an almost skid plate-like silver insert. Perodua also looks to be ditching the fog lights on higher-spec models, with the slimmer holes in the corners housing what look to be vertical LED daytime running lights – something that buyers have been requesting for years.

The rest of the car sees far fewer changes, with the only noticeable difference being the slimmer fake rear vents mirroring the front bumper. Notably, the AV model (and likely the similar-looking H variant as well) wears the same 15-inch two-tone alloy wheels as before. The car also appears to be painted in the new Cranberry Red, a deeper shade of metallic crimson compared to the solid Lava Red of before.

The comprehensive front end makeover hides an equally major mechanical rework. As we reported earlier this month, the Myvi is switching from a conventional four-speed automatic gearbox to a CVT, likely the D-CVT – which uses both belt and gear drive – from the Ativa. No changes are expected for the engines, however, with the 94 hp/121 Nm 1NR-VE 1.3 litre and 102 hp/136 Nm 2NR-VE 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i four-cylinder mills soldiering on.

The pre-facelifted Perodua Myvi 1.5 AV

Finally, the Myvi should receive the latest Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) 3.0 system from the Ativa, featuring an upgraded autonomous emergency braking system that now detects cyclists and works at speeds of up to 120 km/h. Don’t expect items like lane keeping assist, automatic high beam or the Ativa AV’s adaptive cruise control, lane centring assist and matrix LED headlights, which are likely to be exclusive to the SUV.

It also remains to be seen if Perodua will fit the ASA system on more models – the company recently expanded its availability to the 1.3 X and the 1.5 H, instead of only the AV previously. Over to you now: what do you think of this new design, and do you prefer it over the old one? Sound off in the comments.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Hello DRLs on Oct 30, 2021 at 3:41 pm

No more fog lights?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Ghani on Oct 30, 2021 at 4:45 pm

The Prince is Back! Ini kalilah!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
      • Sick & Tired on Oct 30, 2021 at 10:41 pm

Prince of Merepek is Back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
        • Concerned doctor on Oct 31, 2021 at 2:09 pm

@sick & tired, it’s obvious the strong effects of your medication has yet to wear off.

• Roti john on Oct 31, 2021 at 2:59 pm

Stunning facelift, the best car just got even better! IDK why Proton haven’t replace their Game Over Iriz with Geely models, the Myvi facelift will definitely end Iriz sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
      • Lolwhut? on Oct 31, 2021 at 5:46 pm

No doubt that you’re the king when it comes to bovine feces.

• Celup King on Oct 30, 2021 at 3:44 pm

That is one ugly bumper only fanbois can like and blind salesmen can push without vomiting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 74
    • It’s very sporty and better looking like iriz active.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 28
      • Betui bradda Jon. Taknak fikir taknak pening, beli je P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • Amran on Oct 31, 2021 at 5:47 pm

Membeli kereta tanpa berfikir kerana tak mahu pening, budaya konsumer baru? Ini mesti sebab dulu dah gagal peperiksaan sekolah ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • All car sales advisors on Nov 01, 2021 at 12:52 am

Ya betul. Sekarang budaya beli keta tanpa berfikir ialah trend yg baru. Jom kita semua ke showroom..

• Amran on Nov 01, 2021 at 8:02 am

Tu lah budaya tanpa fikir maknanya tak pakai otaklah tu

• All car sales advisors on Nov 01, 2021 at 9:38 pm

Minta maaf.. Kami tak jual otak baru utk u.. Kami jual keta baru aje..

• Amran on Nov 02, 2021 at 8:05 am

That’s why jgn cakap tak payah pikir. Tengok.. Perodua memang xde otak.

• all car sales advisors on Nov 03, 2021 at 2:53 pm

Customer yg nak lagi masa utk pikir, tak apa la tu.. Sementara itu, kami masih boleh layan customer yg seterusnya..

• Kingdom on Nov 09, 2021 at 11:32 am

Kalau berfikir terlalu lama.. xkan beli ape2

• Brian on Oct 30, 2021 at 10:29 pm

Yeah, as sporty as Mitsu Xpander bumper. Call that sporty?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Casual reader on Oct 31, 2021 at 9:23 am

Now i geddit. All fefinition of sportiness have been thoroughly ruined beyond recognition if this look is what the masses termed it ‘sporty’.

• Ajerulfan on Oct 30, 2021 at 3:59 pm

Why that Ajerul guy put a watermark on photo that is not his?

• Hafiz on Oct 30, 2021 at 4:01 pm

Look nice, the rear bumper look wayyy better than the Pre-Facelift bumper, the front bumper on the other hand needs a little tweak, the Pre-FL front bumper is still my fav, but that’s just me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • The king has gotten its nip and tuck, another resounding sales success…..here’s to more overspeeding in highways, climbing hill slopes, parking over culverts and jumping over storm drains..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Safety First on Oct 30, 2021 at 4:14 pm

Perodua should stop talking about safety when their cars lack the most basic safety feature of all: The DRL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 32
    • Allison on Oct 30, 2021 at 5:49 pm

DRL saja pun tak cukup. Belakang lampu kena On.
      Kalau drl only, Belakang biasa tak on.

Not enough safety. Follow your logic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • Casual reader on Oct 31, 2021 at 9:27 am

Not only that. Perodua have to learn to split those rear tailights so when the 3rd brakelight kaputs, people are not confused if that car is braking or not. Their cars are cheap but not that cheap that it endangers others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Menteri Pasola on Nov 01, 2021 at 2:00 pm

DRL is just for cosmetic enhancement

• So you are unable see to see cars on the road without DRL?..u need eye check bruh…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • Lolwhut? on Oct 31, 2021 at 5:44 pm

So why are companies bother to add DRL as standard and not optional? Do they need to check their eyes bruh?

• No. So we can still see them when stupids driving at nite cannot tell if they had switch on their headlights because there is no indicator on the dashboard.

• Safety First on Oct 31, 2021 at 10:39 pm

EURONCAP mandates that DRL must be fitted for all cars sold. Are you saying they are blind?

• macampondan on Oct 31, 2021 at 9:34 am

buat apa ada safety safety features bila kebanyakan drivers Malaysia berotak kera

• newme on Nov 01, 2021 at 12:21 pm

Safety apa? At least they did not send non-production car with higher safety feature for NCAP testing while selling cars without these features.

• Celup King on Nov 02, 2021 at 10:49 pm

Ahh you mean like G spec Aruz? I am still wondering where to buy this spec car.

• PlainBS on Oct 30, 2021 at 5:24 pm

Habis la Proton Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
    • YB Sam Look on Oct 31, 2021 at 12:47 am

Protong Iriz with CVT gearbox of course habis la once koyak since it’s very easy to condemn, but not only Protong Iriz, once Myvi comes with Dogshit-CVTaik gearbox, also habis la as well since it might koyak every year (even dino 4AT also can’t get it right as many new Myvi 1.3 owners having gearbox koyak), same like their pariah AC compressor that rosak every 2-3 years. In summary, national cars with auto gearbox are the cheapest and most pariah in the world, and now they are killing manual variant since Malaysian can’t drive like human with terrible pariah driving skills.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • Sam loo toyota rv on Oct 31, 2021 at 1:50 pm

Why u hate p2 so much? the past few years u always make these kind of posts. so much negativity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Iriz is already too old for comparison. Of course la habis. Let’s compare when the myvi and proton’s B hatch coexist again sometime in the future. For now, we enjoy what we have.

• SK Lim on Oct 31, 2021 at 10:45 pm

I drive a Perodua Myvi & before I bought it, I spent a considerable time in thought to weigh all my options vs getting Iriz to ensure that I can also afford to pay for my house & the other necessities for myself & my family while servicing the car loan. The only reason going for Myvi is price, everything else spoke to me for Iriz. Thus your ‘Habis la Proton Iriz’ comment does equate to livestock droppings which really suits your name, PlainBS.

• Not Fan Boy on Oct 30, 2021 at 6:12 pm

Put drl no more foglamp like P1, looks like new headlamp but why no new tail light like ativa? But myvi, king of the road everybody will buy

• ugly as hell, wtf. The back looks ok tho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Oct 30, 2021 at 9:08 pm

Yeah.. Finally, daytime running light!

• meladam on Oct 30, 2021 at 11:50 pm

nissan myvi now hahaha..

• suomynona on Oct 31, 2021 at 2:12 am

Bring it on, competition! Gotta thank the Iriz years back for making Perodua step up their Myvi

• newme on Nov 01, 2021 at 12:23 pm

Why would Perodua step up Myvi because of Iriz? Iriz sales ciput jer.

• george on Oct 31, 2021 at 4:52 am

El vestit nou de l’Emperador = TheKing’s New Clothes

• Justice on Oct 31, 2021 at 5:14 am

crap quality car from burukdua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • hazri on Oct 31, 2021 at 4:10 pm

DRL like old vios and old almera? why not proper DRL like yaris and new vios?

• i think, most ppl go for H city hatch, looks a lot better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Pronnnnn on Oct 31, 2021 at 6:06 pm

Perodua no class. Kampung taste brothers ricer accessory shop product

• jacky fang on Oct 31, 2021 at 7:31 pm

Good

• Just in time to fight against Honda City Hatch!

• v-tec fan on Nov 01, 2021 at 9:53 am

IMO P2 should put 1.0 turbo engine and replace the 1.3 NA. and replace 1.3 turbo for 1.5 NA. than put the Ativa CVT and it will sell like hot cake.

• Nat Ryder on Nov 01, 2021 at 4:08 pm

Don’t think the changes will help Myvi overcome the competition from the X50. Only thing helping Myvi is Proton’s slow production rate of the X50.

• Wait, why compete with the x50? They are not even in the same segment, not within the same price range. And not all first time car buyers can afford even a base model x50. Unless the x50 is priced between 40 – 50k then maybe.

• The MYVI slogan should be ” every family has a myvi ” lets face it either our family members or relatives someone we know will have a myvi.

• Boring la.. Takkanlah tak boleh moved on to the next level.