Singapore LTA new rules for cyclists in force Jan 2022

Cyclists in Singapore will have to comply with new rules imposed by the Singapore Land Transport Authority (LTA) come January, 2022. Rules will apply not only to cyclists, but users of unpowered personal mobility devices (PMD) such as kick scooters and skateboards, powered PMD such as electric scooters, unicycles, skateboard and hoverboards, and personal mobility aids like motorised wheelchairs.

For cyclists, cycling groups are now limited to a maximum of five riders in single file on public roads shared with other vehicles, keeping to the left wherever possible. For roads where riding double file is permitted, typically roads with two or more lanes, the maximum group size shall be 10 riders, while distance between groups should not be less than 30 meters.

Should a cycling group need to overtake another, this shall be done only where it is safe to do so. Meanwhile, motor vehicles should provide a minimum safe passing distance of 1.5 meters when passing cyclists.

Cycling on expressways or road tunnels is not permitted and holding any mobile communication device while cycling is forbidden. Cyclists are also reminded by the LTA that they should not assume they have automatic right of way and should remain cautious and vigilant in the presence of larger and faster road users.

Bicycles are required to be equipped with front and rear lights while addition of a red reflector is recommended. Among other rules and recommendations such as wearing light coloured clothing and reflective gear, use of a helmet while cycling or during the use of any other PMD is compulsory.

Singapore currently has 460 km of dedicated cycling paths, which will be expanded to 1,300 km by 2030. This is inline with the goal to have eight of 10 residents within minutes of a cycling path to encourage personal mobility to access nearby amenities as well as ride across the island seamlessly.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Huck Phin on Dec 29, 2021 at 4:41 pm

tehsiewdai

• Ghani on Dec 29, 2021 at 6:49 pm

inb4 people here complaining nonsense ruling that cannot be enforced and daredevil killer bikers.

• Todak on Dec 29, 2021 at 9:42 pm

Did they forget to include roller skates & in line skates?

• Local Malaysians cyclist OKB,orang kaya bodoh. Burn calories while cycling, after cyling getting 2 shots of teh tarik and roti telur double pkus smoking ciggies. Or even can be find at McD. Just look at this scene on the weekend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
    • Sick & Tired on Dec 30, 2021 at 10:52 am

Same mentality with those have blood pressure, blood sugar & cholesterol issues. When given medication to combat those issues, they continue binging on oily & sugary diet despite doctor’s advice.

• Tired & Sick on Dec 30, 2021 at 1:18 pm

Well.. it’s their choice and their own life right? Are they asking you for money or doing anything to you? Why are you judging people for their own life choice?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • Safety First on Dec 30, 2021 at 8:08 pm

Yes, it’s their choice how they live & end their own lives. Most important: SAFETY FIRST!

• Mokmok on Dec 30, 2021 at 11:20 am

Burn 2000 calories then add 500-800, that’s not wrong right? Unless they burn 500 add 2000 after.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
      • Izhar on Dec 31, 2021 at 7:01 am

Cycling for 1 hour = 331 calories

Teh Tarik = 203 calories
        Roti Canai = 301 calories
        Roti Telur = 414 calories

Sausage MxMuffin = 480 calories
        Coffee with Milk = 210 calories

• Advanced country.

• Reply Mat on Dec 30, 2021 at 9:08 am

mat, what’s wrong with minum teh tarik and makan roti after cycling. It’s called workout to eat. Just cause you don’t know how to enjoy life doesn’t mean you should be bitter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • Ghani on Dec 30, 2021 at 2:13 pm

With 3rd world mentality

• This shud applies to Msia too….good, make road safer and encourage more ppl to cycle and reduce the pollution and co2.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 31, 2021 at 2:49 pm

time to control the weekend bicycle rempits

• boatrider on Jan 02, 2022 at 2:28 pm

malaysia should have similar rules for boat riders considering major flood getting common by the days.

• asdas on Jan 09, 2022 at 1:44 pm

Malaysia can just copy and paste the ruling. No need enforcement unless there’s cases only then can tell the public “see I we have rulings why you guys no follow?”

• etc07 on Jun 22, 2023 at 12:59 pm

Teh Tarik = 203 calories
    Roti Canai = 301 calories
    Roti Telur = 414 calories

Sausage MxMuffin = 480 calories
    Coffee with Milk = 210 calories

if you in the 20’s and 30’s yes it is fine to eat and drink teh tarik but DO take note even early 30’s nowadays younger person can get diabetics.

Look at your parents in the 60’s what do they eat all are green stuff and take note older people cannot eat too much white rice . You need to control your diet in the early thirties NOT when you are in the 40’s , 50’s and 60’s

Trust me my cousin when she was 22 years old was pregnant with 1 kid suspected to get diabetics . Now she is 57 years old
    she have diabetics and high blood. control your food when you are young so your taste buds able to adjust with the food