Government considering building a SMART tunnel in Shah Alam to mitigate floods in the area – Ismail Sabri

The government is considering building a SMART (Stormwater Management and Road Tunnel) system in Shah Alam to mitigate floods in the area, The Star reports. According to prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob, this is one of several short- and long-term initiatives mooted to resolve flood issues in the country and to minimise the effects of such disasters on the rakyat.

Ismail Sabri said the proposal to construct more storm drainage tunnels like SMART in high-densitry areas such as Shah Alam was brought up in a national disaster management committee meeting chaired by him.

Construction of the SMART tunnel began in 2003 and was completed in 2007, with a cost of around RM1.88 billion. The 9.7 km tunnel is the longest stormwater drainage tunnel in Southeast Asia and second longest in Asia, while also being the first world’s first dual-function tunnel with a 4 km motorway tunnel.

“The meeting had also endorsed a host of proposals by the environment and water ministry, including to upgrade, deepen and widen main rivers, and to build more barriers and barrages. There are also plans to develop settlement areas that are resilient like sponge cities in China,” he said.

Barrages are a type of low-head, diversion dam which have a series of large gates that can be opened or closed to manage the amount of water passing through. Meanwhile, a sponge city is an urban area which has been designed to cope with excess rainfall using a variety of techniques to provide the area with the ability to naturally absorb water, such as reducing number of hard surfaces and instead increasing the amount of absorbent land.

“All these proposals are comprehensive solutions to the flood problem and they involve not only allocations by the billions of ringgit but also a long time before they can materialise. Therefore, the meeting agrees for the government to focus on high-risk areas and that priority be given to implement these plans,” Ismail Sabri noted.

Other measures that were proposed include improving the flood siren and warning system at drainage and irrigation department centres as well as better CCTV monitoring. A flood forecast and warning system based on artificial intelligence would also be developed, while around 100 weather observation stations would be upgraded.

“I have also directed authorities to ensure that urban planning takes into consideration flood risks. We will also strengthen the local community where community leaders will be tasked as first responders in a disaster,” said Ismail Sabri.

The recent floods that struck various states caused an estimated RM6.1 billion in losses due to damage of public assets and infrastructure, houses, vehicles and business premises.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Proton oh Proton on Feb 10, 2022 at 10:29 am

is the proposal going to solve the flood issue?

• Izhar on Feb 10, 2022 at 11:00 am

Masyuuk…20% going down to the drain

• pomen on Feb 10, 2022 at 11:04 am

wow..later many cronies want to bid for the project. then billions gone but the flood issue still doesn’t solved…haha

• Fundraising on Feb 10, 2022 at 11:27 am

Thorbaik

• newme on Feb 10, 2022 at 12:48 pm

yeah … after completion, when it still flooding, can say if without the tunnel, the flood will be worst and even submerge the Stadium Shah Alam.

• Amran on Feb 10, 2022 at 3:32 pm

Buat pun komplen.
      Xbuat pun komplen.
      Lagi baik korang buat rumah atas kapal.

• You have no idea on Feb 11, 2022 at 5:02 pm

of course la bro.. tax payer money.
        you invested your money and life to this nation. do u really want to see it all thrown away?

• YB Albert on Feb 10, 2022 at 1:03 pm

I forsee there will still be floods even after this smart tunnel is completed.
    Wahliow,how easy to justify a MEGA PROJECT .
    There are several factors that caused floods.
    A.Adverse weather
    B.Lack of retention ponds
    C.Perenially clogged drains
    D.Wrong design of those heavily populated landscape
    Remember,the tunnel near Princecourt KL was flooded last year,even with SMART TUNNEL.
    So,the easy way out is to start digging..and only who get richer ,you should know.

• They should have just concentrate on B & C. Way much cheaper and probably will solve a bulk of the flood occurrence. But less chances to do huge songlap.

• A good move but well planning is very important as it will cause serious congestion during construction. Delay in project will also cause a big amount of money.

• You know I know on Feb 10, 2022 at 4:24 pm

Nice! Another opportunity coming.

• Celup King on Feb 10, 2022 at 4:47 pm

What about amphibious vehicles?

• mirage on Feb 10, 2022 at 5:03 pm

just do a flood water pond lah.

• I believe the smart tunnel is owned by ijm and they build and lease longnterm to gomen. At same time,they get to collect toll. If flood, smart does not pay compensation. You die your business. Nor gomen penalise them with penalties. Its a perfect crony business which i am sure they will get by direct nego. as the only operator.