PDRM warns against recording video on smartphone while driving – up to RM1,000 fine or 3 months prison

Do you have a habit of whipping out your phone to film or record something while driving? Well, the Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM) has warned against the trend, even if the subject being recorded is doing something against the law.

If you’re caught with using your smartphone on the move (either to record yourself for social media content or to film others), it is considered to be a breach of Section 17A in the Road Traffic Rules 1959.

PDRM says this is because the driver won’t be completely aware of the surroundings and could potentially lose control of the vehicle, thus making him or her more prone to getting in an accident.

If found guilty, you will be fined up to RM1,000 or receive a prison sentence of no more than three months. The case must also be resolved in court.

The police would like to remind the public to use an earpiece or the car’s Bluetooth function to answer calls, and have the phone sit securely in a mount. Leave the road vigilantism to your passengers or dashcam.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Mr. Sotong on Apr 06, 2022 at 9:48 am

Don’t just say but must also actively enforce!

• This is nothing new and PDRM have been enforcing no phone use so this is just a reminder to those whom are returning back to regular normal routines.

• bieight8 on Apr 06, 2022 at 10:06 am

Everyday I see people driving while using phone….

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 06, 2022 at 12:29 pm

but what if i record while the phone is on a mount?

• It is not the act of recording but the act of holding the phone while driving which gets you caught. As long as the phone stays on the mount and recording handsfree it is still okay.

The question would be why. Why go thru all that trouble when there is such an invention called dashcam.

• Malaysia has all kind of sop and law, but no enforcement. So cakap utk siok Sendiri je

• Dredd on Apr 06, 2022 at 4:52 pm

And then when kena saman complain about PDRM zalim catching small time idiots like you. If it were me, I would render instant JUDGEMENT.

• Amran on Apr 06, 2022 at 5:08 pm

Utter failure of DAP gomen for not educating their kind to obey laws and not using phone while driving. Typically is their kind that will do these kind of shits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Is the way it is on Aug 25, 2022 at 12:10 pm

I’m literally more alert when I’m on my phone while driving

• ardenan on Dec 22, 2022 at 11:04 pm

How do I report when I saw someone using handphone while driving? exspecially my mom, thats so dangerous. how to report !!! will i get any kopi duit as i help police to catch them ? hehehehehe if does.I get a new passive income hehehehehehehhhahahaha