Malaysia welcomes high-value EV investments – Wee

The Malaysian government is welcoming high-value investments to develop the electric vehicles (EV) industry in the country and region, transport minister Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong said. According to The Star, Wee said the country is ready to cooperate with the industry through manufacturing, assembly, as well as research and development (R&D).

“On behalf of the Malaysian government, I welcome high-value investments from abroad into Malaysia as a vital platform to bring EV manufacturing into the ASEAN market. As transport minister, I assure you that we are ever ready to lend our assistance and cooperation to parties interested in investing in the country, particularly in transport and manufacturing, assembly, and R&D into EV in Malaysia,” he said on Facebook.

Wee was also on a call from Ferrucio Lamborghini, accompanied by GSS Energy CEO Sydney Yeung. “We had a good discussion on the future of EVs in Malaysia from several important standpoints, mulling over Malaysians’ acceptance to using EV, the government’s support of the industry, and potential investments and market prospects for EV here.”

In a bid to promote EV adoption, the government – through Budget 2022 – introduced incentives such as full exemptions of sales tax, as well as import and excise duties. The incentives, which also includes full road tax exemption and income tax relief of up to RM2,500 for purchasing and installing chargers, will remain in place until December 31, 2023.

The move has brought down EV prices by quite a fair margin, and the initiatives that are currently in place to grow the charging infrastructure has begun spurring actual interest among consumers to finally make the switch to electric. Interested to get one? Check out all the EVs that are on sale on CarBase.my.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Amran on Apr 11, 2022 at 10:17 am

Yes, Dr WKS is correct. We need quality EV investments not tipu tipu shiok sendiri fake investments
    https://paultan.org/2022/03/28/teslas-indonesia-factory-plans-cancelled-proposal-wasnt-for-ev-batteries-car-plant-in-india-next/

• Bieight8 on Apr 11, 2022 at 10:47 am

Why the I4 is so expensive here??

• James KWON on Apr 11, 2022 at 3:21 pm

there are so many phony people with reject China EVs and they asking investors to invest in their plans. this is not good. I agree with Dr. Wee, grants and help must be given to legit and proper EV tech companies and not useless EVs that are not even good to sell in China or ant other country. so many claim to develop their onw but they actual buy an EV car or Bike from Alibaba and bring here and claim its there’s . saw many in Selangor and specially Sarawak. this needs to be a solid plan.

• Alphonz Jayaratnam on Apr 13, 2022 at 11:41 am

Why do government officials paid a lot by the rakyat enjoy exemptions on car purchases while we the rakyat have to pay more?