Aston Martin F1 safety car too slow like a “turtle,” says Max Verstappen after recent Australian Grand Prix

Reigning world champion Max Verstappen wants Formula 1 to speed up its Aston Martin safety car, which he likened to a “turtle” after last weekend’s Australian Grand Prix. During the 58-lap race, the safety car was brought out on two occasions after Carlos Sainz beached his Ferrari in the gravel and Sebastian Vettel’s crash.

The motorsport currently has two safety cars – an Aston Martin Vantage and a Mercedes-AMG GT Black Series – which alternate at races, with the former being driven by former DTM racing driver Bernd Maylander at Albert Park Circuit last Sunday.

While both safety cars feature a 4.0 litre twin-turbo V8, it is the Black Series with the most power, serving up 730 PS compared to the Aston’s 535 PS. The Mercedes-AMG safety car also delivers higher levels of aerodynamic performance by comparison.

“There’s so little grip and the safety car was driving so slow, it was like a turtle. Unbelievable,” Verstappen said after the race. “To drive 140 [km/h] on the back straight, there was not a damaged car, so I don’t understand why we have to drive so slowly. We have to investigate,” he continued.

“For sure the Mercedes safety car is faster because of the extra aero, because this Aston Martin is really slow. It definitely needs more grip, because our tyres were stone cold. It’s pretty terrible the way we are driving behind the safety car at the moment,” Verstappen added.

While behind a safety car, drivers often weave their cars from side to side to try and keep their tyre temperatures at an optimal level so there’s enough grip at the restart. Verstappen took both restarts behind eventual race winner Charles Leclerc, who agreed with his 2022 rival but didn’t complain on the radio.

“To be honest it always feels too slow in the car because with those Formula 1 cars, we have so much grip and it’s very, very difficult, especially on the compound we were all on, which was the hards,” said Leclerc in a post-race interview.

“I was struggling massively to put some temperature in them, so I also struggled. To be honest, I wanted to complain, but then I checked how much the safety car was sliding in the corner and I don’t think there was anything more that he could give so I didn’t want to put too much pressure. For sure with the cars that we have now it’s very difficult to keep the temperatures in the tyres behind the safety car,” he added.

“We don’t have the issue with the Mercedes-AMG safety car. On a serious note, the Mercedes-AMG is like five seconds, a lot quicker, than the Aston Martin safety car, which is pretty substantial,” quipped Mercedes driver George Russell, who finished third after Red Bull’s Sergio Perez. “We need to put a Ferrari so it’s then five second faster than the Mercedes car,” Leclerc quipped in reply.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Petition to use Myvi for F1 safety car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Fucukyongtaufoo on Apr 13, 2022 at 8:13 pm

Kenot la bro… Myvi safety car come out, all F1 cars overheat liao.. lolx

• Truckers on Apr 14, 2022 at 2:11 am

Maibi safety car come out, it will end up in gravel trap cuz it has no safety. Ironic to call it safety car lor.

• Funny1 on Apr 14, 2022 at 9:25 am

maibi as per GR Yaris or GR Corolla

• A 200 PS deficit between the safety cars is insane. What is the FIA thinking? The AMG GT Black Series also looks cool as heck, just keep it moving forward.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 13, 2022 at 4:31 pm

Hahaha….Leclerc doing Ferrari proud. Ask to use company car for safety car.

• at sub 3-seconds 0-100 time, this is the fastest green turtle I ever seen!

• Brian on Apr 13, 2022 at 5:08 pm

Basically everyone was indirectly dissing the AM F1 team for being selow poke and traffic hazard to racers. The fact that they the only yet to score points speaks a lot about their performance. lel

• bieight8 on Apr 13, 2022 at 5:29 pm

Should use myvi… Those thing are as fast as F1 cars…

• Tommy Hng on Apr 13, 2022 at 6:05 pm

Replace both with Bugatti Chiron or my wife’s Kancil.

• Luckily FIA did not use BMW…
    Control center:”Deploy safety car, deploy safety car.. where’s the safety car??”
    “Kat workshop boss”…

• There are a lot of other cars are better than this turtle Aston Martin.. we have the Proton Wira 4G15 Turbo, Kancil L9 Turbo, Myvi Turbo.. apa lagi mau?

• klguy on Apr 14, 2022 at 11:17 am

they should have considered Myvi 1.5, the king of all cars….

• ToyMachine on Apr 14, 2022 at 2:41 pm

Actually LeCLerc has a point hehe.. put in a Ferrari F8 Tributo or SF90 safety car and it’ll definitely help the F1 cars keep their tyre temps consistent!
    those or a McLaren 765LT or Senna hehe

• sebastien on Apr 14, 2022 at 4:07 pm

Imagine if Aston upgrade their safety car with Vantage V12 and medical car with DBX 707

• MengkuduMasam on Apr 14, 2022 at 5:00 pm

140 on straight? even myvi can do it better.

I don’t think it’s about the car. Purposely drive that slow perhaps. maybe it’s a direction from FIA command center to do so.

or, perfectly scripted/orchestrated by Ferrari to have a subtle marketing statement made by their driver.