2022 Hyundai Ioniq 5 – first 11 units delivered to Malaysian buyers; nearly 300 bookings since launch

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) has delivered the first 11 units of the Ioniq 5 to customers in Malaysia at a special event held at the company’s showroom in Ara Damansara. The first 11 Ioniq 5 customers were also provided with a complimentary one-year membership with ChargEV sponsored by Yinson GreenTech.

“This marks the second all-electric vehicle introduced by HSDM to the Malaysian market. As the mobility landscape continues to see greater adoption of EV vehicles in Malaysia, we are pleased to expand our EV line-up with world-class high-quality affordable offerings, supporting the nation’s transition towards a low carbon mobility future,” commented Jeffrey Gan, managing director, retail and distribution of Sime Darby Motors Malaysia.

“Redefining the electric mobility lifestyle, the Ioniq 5 sets a new benchmark with its global acclaim for combining sustainability with a powerful performance. Testament to this, since the launch in Malaysia in March 2022, we have recorded close to 300 bookings. This indeed reflects the highly positive reception for this innovative sustainable vehicle, and we will continue to strive to meet customer demand,” said Low Yuan Lung, managing director of HSDM.

The multiple-award-winning electric vehicle was launched last month and is offered in three variants, with the base Lite retailing for RM199,888, the mid-spec Plus for RM229,888 and the range-topping Max for RM259,888.

These are on-the-road prices without insurance and with the government’s incentives for EVs (no import and excise duties, sales tax and road tax) factored in. Do note that the Ioniq 5 comes with standard two-year, 50,000-km warranty as well as an eight-year, 160,000-km EV battery warranty, although the former can be enhanced to a five-year, 100,000-km coverage for an additional RM10,000.

Both the Lite and Plus come with a 58-kWh lithium-ion polymer battery and a rear-mounted electric motor, the latter good for 170 PS (168 hp or 125 kW) and 350 Nm torque. This allows for a 0-100 km/h time of 8.5 seconds, while the battery provides up to 384 km of range following the WLTP standard.

Meanwhile, the Max gets a 72.6-kWh battery and an additional motor at the front for all-wheel drive. Outputs for the Max are 305 PS (302 hp or 225 kW) and 605 Nm, with the increased grunt and higher-energy-capacity battery shortening the century sprint time to 5.2 seconds and increasing the range to 430 km.

With AC charging at 11 kW, the 72.6-kWh battery takes just a little over six hours to fully charge, while the smaller 58-kWh battery needs five hours. These times are significantly reduced with DC fast charging, with a 50 kW input bringing the state of charge from 10-80% in around 56 minutes (72.6 kWh) or 47 minutes (58 kWh).

The Ioniq 5 can handle a DC input as high as 350 kW, so juicing the battery from 10-80% takes 18 minutes for both battery types when plugged into a charger capable of that output. We don’t have such powerful chargers yet, it’s good to know that the Ioniq is capable of faster charging when they finally appear.

GALLERY: Hyundai Ioniq 5 Max, 72.6 kWh AWD

GALLERY: Hyundai Ioniq 5 Plus, 58 kWh

GALLERY: Hyundai Ioniq 5 Lite, 58 kWh

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• meladam on Apr 21, 2022 at 4:15 pm

price super close with XC40 pure electric!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • But expensive than Ioniq 5. XC40 only one variant but RM262k, Ioniq5 have three variants but from RM199k till RM259k

• melaramlaram on Apr 21, 2022 at 6:53 pm

Ioniq 5 IS pure electric

• hahaha on Apr 23, 2022 at 3:03 am

the ioniq is bigger then the xc40 recharge pointless comparison

• Dong Gor on Apr 21, 2022 at 5:26 pm

Congratulations to all owners! Can balik kampung with style!!

• German on Apr 24, 2022 at 11:54 am

Friend and relative at kampung will only looks to BMW and Merc and other italian supercar as style and success at Kampung. The will only look curious at this Ioniq. You still need to explain a lot to them because they ll ask a lot apa kete ni? Ooo hyundai…and you feel tired at the chores. Last time 12 years ago I drove Audi for exclusive and special kena asked a lot what car is that what price. I switched to BMW and Merc and many come and say bang kete mewah cantik…haha…no need to explain to any question. Bagus. BMW also way comfort and power and better transmission than Audi. So nothing lose there. Thats Why Msia like to buy brands.

• YB Albert Zelensky on Apr 21, 2022 at 5:36 pm

It seems Hyundai Sime Darby is the champ in this category of vehicles.
    Perhaps ,I have to congratulate Mr.Low Yuan Lung for the massive bookings.
    However,on closer examination of the other Hyundai models,very few Sonatas and Elantras are visible on the road.
    The product mix in terms of sales is heavily lopsided.
    Maybe,thats the strategy to sell high end models since lower end models cant compete.
    Lets wait for Datuk Aishah to unveil the latest MAA sales figures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • The Swede on Apr 21, 2022 at 6:12 pm

They should have waited for this article
    https://paultan.org/2022/03/24/review-2022-volvo-xc40-recharge-pure-electric-ev-in-malaysia/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • But expensive than Ioniq5

• Who cares bro, it’s a Volvo with better build quality and brand prestige.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • Buble on Apr 22, 2022 at 5:38 pm

Both Ioniq5 and XC40 recharge pure electric are good.

• Volvo is nothing in ev. Look at polestar2. Its inside is as tiny as small sedan but AWD goes only 334km.

• Volve ev is nothing. Polestar2 inside is tiny as small sedan but AWD goes only 334km.

• whats wrong with ioniq5? this car is hot all around the world. i also meant excellent car. get away with your typical outdated caveman thoughts.

• Caveman on Apr 24, 2022 at 11:57 am

I ll gift BMW 330i and this Hyundai to you as your birthday present free. Which will you choose to have caveman? Ofcourse you ll say something defensive but deep down…everyone know the real answer la dude…

• Malaysia car must go on Apr 21, 2022 at 8:57 pm

Well this is old news, the owners got the cars 2 weeks ago. 11 cars in 1 month is not looking good. I was told I was above 300 in the booking queue. Looking forward to drive my ioniq 5 is 2035.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8