2022 Lexus NX in Malaysia – all-new SUV open for booking, 2.5NA for RM371k, 275 hp 2.4L turbo RM390k

Lexus Malaysia has announced that the all-new, second-generation Lexus NX SUV is now open for booking in Malaysia, and there are two versions on offer; the NX 250 Luxury variant, priced at RM370,888 and the NX 350 F Sport variant, priced at RM389,888. Prices are on-the-road without insurance, and also without the sales tax exemption which is scheduled to end June 30 this year.

The NX 250 Luxury variant is powered by a 2.5 litre naturally aspirated engine rated to produce 204 hp at 6,600 rpm and 243 Nm of torque from 4,000 to 5,000 rpm, while the NX 350 F Sport gets a 2.4 litre turbocharged engine producing 275 hp at 6,000 rpm and 430 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 3,600 rpm.

Drive primarily goes to the front wheels, though the electronically controlled all-wheel-drive system will shift torque distribution between the front and rear axles as required. Transmission is by an eight-speed automatic with AI Shift control, which employs a camera to scan the road ahead and adapt its shift protocol accordingly.

Underpinning the second-generation Lexus NX is the GA-K variant of the Lexus Global Architecture, which offers 30% greater rigidity over the previous generation car for better handling and control, says Lexus.

In terms of safety equipment, standard on the 2022 NX is Lexus Safety System Plus (LSS+) suite, which includes Pre-Collision System (PCS) for pedestrian and cyclist detection, lane tracing assist (LTA), dynamic radar cruise control (DRCC) with stop-and-go function and the adaptive high-beam system (AHS).

For added driver assistance, there is also road sign assist (RSA) that will read posted speed limits, panoramic view monitor (PVM) and parking brake support (PKSB) that control engine output and applied autonomous braking when carrying out parking manoeuvres.

Australian-market Lexus NX shown

Infotainment in the 2022 Lexus NX comes courtesy of a 14-inch touchscreen unit, with support for Android Auto and wireless Apple CarPlay connectivity. Both Luxury and F Sport trim variants of the NX are specified with ambient lighting, which offers up to 64 colour choices including 14 pre-defined colours, and the lighting is embedded in the vehicle’s door panels, centre console and foot well.

An added convenience in the 2022 NX is the e-latch door opener, which enables the occupant to open the door just by pushing a button and a mechanism will open the door, whereas conventional doors require two separate movements of pulling on a handle and then pushing the door open.

Eight colours will be available for the second-generation, 2022 Lexus NX including Sonic Chrome, while the more potent F Sport variant gets two exclusive colours, according to Lexus Malaysia. Meanwhile, the NX cabin gets a choice of interior colours in black and dark rose, while the Luxury variant gets trimmed in Hazel. The cabin of the sportier F Sport variant can be specified in Black, or Flare Red.

GALLERY: 2022 Lexus NX, Australian market

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• this car is very appealing.. but the price is way too high.. should be priced at 299-350k only.. at 390k there are so many other choices available. The RX series later for sure goes 450 – 500k mark which is so ridiculous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 41
    • Because this is imported from Japan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Far miles behind on Apr 27, 2022 at 3:05 pm

Correct

• Eat My Smoke on Apr 27, 2022 at 4:18 pm

1.5t: 170-190hp (biasa)
          2.0t: 210-250hp (biasa)
          2.0T: 300-400hp (besar)
          2.4t: 275hp (ape ni???)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
          • Cappa on Apr 27, 2022 at 5:25 pm

275hp is premium big engine but lower capacity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Contradiction on Apr 27, 2022 at 3:43 pm

Expensive for something the size of Honda HRV. CBU, so what? Mazdas are CBU Japan too but dont cost thaaaatt much more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 36
      • Hencur on Apr 27, 2022 at 6:28 pm

U r comparing a luxury brand to a non luxury. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Contradiction on Apr 28, 2022 at 8:29 am

Mazda would like to think they are a luxury brand, but not quite.
          Lexus say they are a luxury brand, but not quite either.
          Rofl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
          • You are totally wrong. Do not compare the Lexus level entry car models with luxury cars as both bmw n mb also have bad quality entry level cars. If you have time, go to showroom, the ES will tell you what the luxury is.

• hahah on Apr 30, 2022 at 11:48 am

lexus nx hrv size are you dumb or something?

• RyanT on Apr 28, 2022 at 1:04 pm

Better get CX5 2.5 turbo 190k + Camry 2.5 NA 200k…lol

• Just like what someone said you are comparing between luxury and non luxury

• Piano on Apr 27, 2022 at 2:26 pm

Lexus design is good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
  • FudgeMeSideways on Apr 27, 2022 at 2:30 pm

Harga Yahoodee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • AM i seeing it correctly? RM380k for 2.5 NA, while topop RM9k for brand new 2.4 turbo with 70hp difference?

• The price increase too much compare with previous version! I can’t imagine how it compete with the peers: GLC, X3, XC60.

Ok … is CBU but it is out of the market – just like Audi in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
  • hazamiey on Apr 27, 2022 at 2:58 pm

Dark interior again? Gonna puke.. Paying 400k for interior color like commercial vehicles. Same goes to other marque like Merc, BM, Audi here in Malaysia. Absolute tasteless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
    • hazameegoreng on Apr 27, 2022 at 3:00 pm

you dunno how to read meh

“Meanwhile, the NX cabin gets a choice of interior colours in black and dark rose, while the Luxury variant gets trimmed in Hazel. The cabin of the sportier F Sport variant can be specified in Black, or Flare Red.”

• Hamizu on Apr 27, 2022 at 3:34 pm

Hahahahaha is true he dont know how to read. Comment for the sake of commenting.

• Seribu on Apr 27, 2022 at 3:06 pm

Nice

• You can say is CBU. You can say it is Lexus. You can say it is luxury. You can say it is reliable.

I only want to say people with that budget will buy Merz or BMW first. OTR will tell you the answer later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
    • Yet, there are people who are interested in buying this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Bingo on Apr 28, 2022 at 10:31 am

Given the economic situation and uncertainty in Germany, it’s best to stay away from MB, BMW, VW/Audi/Porsche, as they may struggle to provide spare parts in the coming years. This is not about higher spare parts pricing, but the fact that spare parts will not be available. If your car has a problem, it will be sitting in the garage if spare parts are not available. Ford in US is already having this problem and Ford staff are buying 2 units of F150 to ensure they have spare parts. Crazy isn’t it? But it’s true.

• Bingo on Apr 27, 2022 at 3:55 pm

Does anyone know the tire sizes for the new models?? 18″? 19″?? 20″??? 20″ would be insane!!!

• Macam mana on Apr 27, 2022 at 4:02 pm

Expensive! Rather top up for a CKD Macan when it is launched .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
  • ROTI CANAI on Apr 27, 2022 at 4:45 pm

rofl. better buy volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 19
  • seancorr on Apr 27, 2022 at 6:01 pm

That’s one massive price hike. If guess most will go for the grey import route in the coming years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Sean connery on Apr 28, 2022 at 8:19 am

That’s bcoz addtional tax songlap by govt and politician pocket

• Apple Tree on Apr 28, 2022 at 10:58 am

Lexus don’t care about the price. They prefer to sell the car really expensive and provide the best service. Hardcore fans will go for it. It’s a win-win situation for both Lexus and the customer.

They choose their customer among the rich that don’t mind paying more. If you mind paying 400k for a car worth 300k, then you are the chosen one. Enjoy their 5* service.

• I can tell one thing. In Malaysia, Lexus’s quality beats its German counterparts’ cannibalised CKD fitted with counterfeit local parts except major components like engine parts. I know this because I had BMW, Merz while my wife drives a Lexus. I envy how her Lexus runs seamlessly compared to German Bawa Masuk Woksyop junks. So, it is true that those driving Lexus are in a different league.

• 7yearsfd1 on Apr 28, 2022 at 11:33 am

Merc and BMW suvs , Merc and BMW suvs everywhere

Thanks Lexus!

• Idc about the price as long as it is cbu from its origin country,look at honda,u guys want the cheaper version?they bring u the ckd and now the quality almost like proton