Driver pays for parking on PahangGo app, gets fined for not displaying parking ticket – who is responsible?

A motorist in Kuantan, Pahang discovered that she had been issued a fine for not displaying a parking ticket for her parked vehicle, despite having paid for parking on the PahangGo mobile application, Sin Chew Daily reported.

Speaking to reporters about the matter, the motorist, Chew found that a fine was issued by Kuantan City Hall for the alleged parking offence at around 10am with the summons attached to the vehicle’s windscreen, after she had paid for parking on Jalan Haji Abdul Rahman through the mobile app at 9am.

This was despite the motorist having already paid for eight hours of parking with the deduction of 480 points from the PahangGo app, which is the equivalent to RM4.80, Sin Chew Daily reported. The fine issued was for RM30 and is to be paid within a 30-day period, after which the amount increases to RM300, according to the Chinese daily.

The PahangGo app for Android and Apple iOS devices is billed on its website as a “one stop centre” for government services including simplified parking payments, payment of utility bills and is “government-linked”, according to its description.

Dissatisfied with the fine issued, Chew went to Kuantan City Hall to file a complaint. Counter staff at Kuantan City Hall however told Chew that the issue had “nothing to do with Kuantan City Hall”, and told her that she would have to complain to the people in charge of the mobile app, PahangGo in Putra Square, approximately 4.6 km away.

Having subsequently arrived at the address in Putra Square listed at the PahangGo office, Chew then found that the office had since relocated to Kota SAS, 11.5 km away from Putra Square. “I tried to call the company, but no one answered, so there is no way to complain,” she told the daily.

Chew expressed her dissatisfaction for being issued the fine for the offence of not displaying a valid parking coupon on her vehicle, as she had already paid for parking through the PahangGo mobile app which appeared to be functioning normally, Sin Chew Daily wrote.

Upon learning of Chew’s predicament through Sin Chew Daily, Kuantan City Hall invited her to meet their legal team with the fine issued next Monday to resolve the issue. Meanwhile, PahangGo responded to reporters’ queries through Facebook messaging, confirming that the parking fee paid by Chew is valid, and PahangGo will cancel the parking fine issued by Kuantan City Hall, it said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• komarad on May 10, 2022 at 11:30 am

” Chew went to Kuantan City Hall to file a complaint. Counter staff at Kuantan City Hall however told Chew that the issue had “nothing to do with Kuantan City Hall”, and told her that she would have to complain to the people in charge of the mobile app, PahangGo in Putra Square, approximately 4.6 km away.”.. shows the real attitude of Kuantan City Hall staff..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 4
    • Kuantan MP is from PKR. Lets the flame begin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
      • ressa on May 11, 2022 at 8:21 am

Majlis whose under BN state government fault but u want to blame mp from pkr..whats the ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
        • Pokitiaw on May 11, 2022 at 9:38 pm

Majlis not under state gomen bruh. Once it is City Council, it state alone

• Ferdinand Marcos Jr on May 10, 2022 at 3:06 pm

This app thing is to make the app creator rich..once problems emerge..”I tak tau,Lu pergi dia punya office lah,kami akan memantau,lu tulis surat aduan,rayuan lah”.
      Disgusting ,unacceptable,unproductive dudes.(DUUD)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Gregg on May 13, 2022 at 9:11 am

90% of Government based agencies have the same lacksadical attitude…”not our problem!”

• that’s a typical goverment office answer by the way. tai chi a lot

• Kiew Tee on May 10, 2022 at 11:47 am

Haha. I almost wanted to use the app last week but since no mention of the app in the majlis website, i simply took my aunt’s ticket. Bandaraya apa ni, Kuantan? Learn from Penang, pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
  • Abbas on May 10, 2022 at 12:10 pm

No apologies from PahangGo for the inconvenience caused?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • S M Sabri Ismail on May 10, 2022 at 12:26 pm

Looks like Pahang Go Sdn Bhd is a private company.
    https://pahanggo.com/about.html

• Charles Chin on May 10, 2022 at 2:10 pm

And you expect EVERY council to create their own app IN-HOUSE with a development team sitting in the council full time? LOL

• My case is also the same. I paid DBKL parking via app but still kena fine. I was so angry and posted online getting many likes & support. The DBKL head called me in for clarification but I refused until FT Minister came talk to me. Last-last we found that I was fined for parking at illegal spot.
    Moral of the story, just post everything onlinelah! Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Shahrom Wahid on May 13, 2022 at 10:38 am

I paid online MPKJ parking and yet being fined. Reason being was I wrongly keyed in my wife’s car registration no. Hahaha… I paid rm10 fine.

• Why is it normal for city hall staff to act like that? Everything is not their mistake/problem. My place also the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr on May 10, 2022 at 1:28 pm

As usual no action taken until it explodes on social media and shit start rolling from the top

• DonkeyKong on May 10, 2022 at 2:08 pm

City councils are not known to hire officers who qualify for high school. Even primary school dropouts who can’t multiply double digit numbers together are employed by city councils. This explains that severe lack of intellect and work ethics that is prevalent at every single city council nationwide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Same thing happened to me while using the MPKlang parking app. Paid for 1hour via app but was issued a RM10 ticket before 1hour. Stated that parking ticket wasn’t displayed. I thought the reason for going online was to stop buying all this physical stuff and for convenience. Apparently not.

• zulkefli on May 10, 2022 at 2:29 pm

That shows the ignorance of people in implementing IT without a change of their mindset. If do not know how to do it, learn from Selangor’s SMART Parking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Calvin on May 11, 2022 at 12:42 am

Topkek app called themselves SMART but there is nothing smart about that scam app. The interface is a total mess and nobody I ask know how to use it to pay for one off parking, worse it keep asking me to topup Rm10 as in app credit if I want to use its function. Like Dafuq is that shit!

Lastlast someone told me to use TNG ewallet and it far a breeze to use compared to not-so-smart SMART app and the best thing I only paid Rm1 vs Rm10. If I had used that SMART scam app, I would have to give up Rm9 for nuts.

• Gomorrah on May 10, 2022 at 3:01 pm

Typical left hand doesn’t know what the right hand is doing. I am against all this app payment for parking until they make it foolproof. Problem is the whole place is full of fools so that will never happen.

• Ben Yap on May 10, 2022 at 3:32 pm

pahangGo app makes you gg.

• Khairil on May 10, 2022 at 3:46 pm

Same in JB. Got parking app but useless. Still had to display parking coupon….

• paparadzi on May 10, 2022 at 4:51 pm

The problem with unelected local councils.

• Johan on May 11, 2022 at 7:15 pm

There a too many little neoplaians with the enforcement dept. In seremban just Make a complain, if u have the cable n contact. U are the “MB”
      They will act, no mercy. Ask for the reason n complaints, can’t revealed
      Why?
      Need to rotate the head n staff monthly,
      Maybe , we can see less little neoplaians

• Kenny on May 10, 2022 at 8:10 pm

Pahang Go…I think will GO off soon

• ROTI CANAI on May 10, 2022 at 8:38 pm

smart selangor app also lot of issues. cant pay for parking ticket how?

• Calvin on May 11, 2022 at 12:45 am

Not just a lot of issue, it ask me to pay Rm10 to the app in order to park for 1hr which I paid only Rm1 using TNG ewallet app instead. Avoid this scam app like a Covid pandemic.

• It seem like Penang Smart Parking the only one that have a stable system. Other state please learn from Penang how to create and manage the parking apps system. I been using it for a while now, traveling to Penang from Kedah 2 to 3 time per week, topup RM10 and its very convenient and easy to use apps.

• LIM T H on May 11, 2022 at 8:45 am

That’s how ridiculous our systemic failure has become. Govt or state employees just like to sit on their ass and make customers suffer instead of helping to resolve a problem.

• Donttrustlocalapp on May 11, 2022 at 9:25 am

Same goes to Park Perak. Yesterday couldn’t login the app, do password recovery. Couldn’t work too. Gf tried to download the app and start off as a new user, and still couldn’t work. Scam app.

• System sucks..menyusahkan org…nama je ada sistem…

• Surprised?

• Perak apps for parking also works, not like this pahang one, there is one time where I forgot to pay parking and while tried to pay through the apps, it lock due to my car currently being written summon.

• Jonathan P on May 11, 2022 at 4:48 pm

Luckily Miri, Sarawak don’t have this problem. I paid a daily parking, but system happened to be down during their check-up time. No compound issued because not user problem. You cannot check my parking status is your problem.

• Patrick on May 13, 2022 at 6:49 am

Yeah, Miri, Satawak… no problem as the parking warden have their app parking checker sort of whether vehicle parked with digital coupon paid tally with plate number. Good Job Miri City Council (mcc) and Miri Parking System (mps)

• Tan Chin Sown on May 11, 2022 at 4:48 pm

What you expect from Malaysia Bolih?…
    Don’t look far, just look at Government website and you know what the country progress is. Politician claimed high income earner country but the government itself is still in Kampong mode. How lah…how to declare being a high income country and demand high tech ventures into Malaysia while the gomen is still like runing like Kampong style governance?

• The frustrated on May 11, 2022 at 5:07 pm

Why should Miss Chew be referred to PahangGo?
    I personally opine that she has no obligation to deal with PahangGo!
    The parking lot does not belong to PahangGo, right?
    Kuantan City Hall has to be responsible!
    Please don’t pass the buck!
    Similar problem had happened to me in Ipoh! When I queried on some faults on the Park @ Perak app, Dewan Bandaraya Ipoh asked me to refer to the company undertaking the app’s service?

• Ah… The typical “Malaysia has world class facilities but third class mentality” issue. Not surprised by their response. I would be irked like crazy.

• Hasrul on May 12, 2022 at 5:34 pm

This is concerning because bentong is also using this app

• Malaysian on May 14, 2022 at 3:45 am

Malaysia’s system.

• Freddie Siew on Aug 26, 2022 at 6:54 pm

I had installed the PahangGo app some time back and until today, there is still credit remaining in it from what I’ve “deposited” into it.

I had occasion to park in Bentong this Tuesday (23rd August ’22) but unfortunately, for some reason or the other, both my Username and Password did not seem to be correct. After trying numerous times (I know what my username and passwords are) I gave up and decided to have them reset from inside the App. I believe I tried no less than seven times before I gave up and decided to park in a private compound.

I understand from the app that I would be sent a link by e-mail to have the Username and/or Password reset but four days hence, I have yet to get this e-mail. I do not think that PahangGo can be receiving so much communications that they cannot reply me or attend to my one complaint.

I am proud enough to be Pahang born but this has left a very sour taste in my mouth.