Foxconn to set up a chip-making facility in Malaysia with local tech firm DNex, furthering its EV ambitions

Taiwanese electronics manufacturer Foxconn has inked a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with Malaysian technology firm Dagang NeXchange Berhad (DNex) to set up a joint venture to build and operate a facility for 12-inch chips in Malaysia.

If the plan materialises, it will be in line with the Malaysian government’s push to build up its semiconductor industry and mark another big step for the iPhone assembler to enlarge its presence in the semiconductor field, a crucial step in furthering its EV ambitions, as the Nikkei reports.

Foxconn secured a 5.03% stake in DNex in June last year and has one seat on its board, an arrangement that gives it indirect control over chipmaker SilTerra’s eight-inch chip plant in Malaysia. DNex is the parent company of SilTerra Malaysia, having acquired it last year.

The planned facility in Malaysia is expected to produce 40,000 wafers per month, including those utilising both 28-nanometer and 40-nanometer technologies, the most widely used production technologies for micro-controllers, sensors, driver integrated circuits and connectivity-related chips.

The location of the plant as well as the size of the investment has yet to be announced. Based on the planned capacity and technology involved, the report says that chip industry executives estimate that capital expenditure for the project could range from US$3 billion (RM13.2 billion) to US$5 billion (RM22 billion).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rohana IMDB on May 18, 2022 at 1:00 pm

Elon must…slipped thro Sabrikor’s entourage in USA,this one is just a consolation hadiah…bread crumbs better than nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 43
    • Elon Fanboi on May 18, 2022 at 1:45 pm

Ape benda la yg ko merepek ni

• Amran on May 18, 2022 at 2:13 pm

Inside Foxconn: Give me intelligence on Indonesia.
      Board of Directors:We strongly recommend their neighbour ,Malaysia…got plenty of related semicon industry,hard working labour ,friendly investor policy,no policy U turns.Sir,u can go ahead..invest in Sabriland.
      Inside Foxconn: What the hell are you waiting for? Call Sabri for me.

• Sick & Tired on May 18, 2022 at 4:28 pm

Different work culture. You think Foxconn can accept serving teh tarik, karipap and mihun goreng during meeting? If Kopiko only, ok lah.

• Bread crumbs? Hahaha.
      This is just the start. Foxconn are moving into EV as well and if we make the right moves, we could be ASEAN manufacturing hub for them. Not bad for bread crumbs. Better than mimpi atas angin Tesla would be coming to this region.

https://paultan.org/2021/10/15/foxconn-teases-foxtron-ev-range-ahead-of-launch/

• Fixie on Jun 21, 2023 at 5:46 am

Tesla is only providing low wage manual labor jobs. Foxconn is going to invest a chip making facilities specifically catering towards EV and we will have axcess to one of the most advanced chip technology in the world, plus it is a freaking Joint Venture with Dnex a local company. Which means, if its get to the point where Malaysian wages are too high and Foxconn no longer sees Malaysia as a good production base, we can still maintain production to a certain extent since Dnex already have access to this technology and we will have direct transfer of technology. Unlike Tesla where there will be zero transfer of technology (Like in every single cases of FDI), this investment is 10x more valuable than a Tesla investment. But of course, idi*ts like u wouldn’t know about this. Lol. Malaysia is increasing focusing on high tech, high paying job investments. Thailand & Indonesia can continue focusing on manual labor jobs. We have graduated from low paid wage investments. We are no longer competitive in that department. This investment is a step in the right direction.

• Amran on May 18, 2022 at 2:08 pm

Malaysia zero corruption no need 51% freebies so that’s why Foxconn coming here. If the maker of Iphones are coming mre will follow.

• Make Malaysia Great Again on May 18, 2022 at 4:35 pm

Stupids still hail Jokowi who have not yet got Tesla commitment to invest yet here Ismail Sabri is stealthy ninja closing deals left, right & center bringing real investments into Malaysia. From Porsche to Daimler to Foxconn the list goes on.

• former semicon engineer on May 18, 2022 at 4:40 pm

This is what we want. More high quality chips making in Malaysia. We cannot be a high income country without having own our company designing and making high tech and value added products. It seems Azmin Ali is doing better job to attract investors. He is showing good results.

• Amran on May 19, 2022 at 1:53 am

As his own man, AA is contributing to the country far more today that he did under the oppressive thumb of his boss even when majority of it he was in jail.

• Solidus on May 18, 2022 at 11:27 pm

Ala buat cip saiz biskut wafer buat apa…ingatkan high tech precision chip bukan chipsmore lol

• Pisang on May 19, 2022 at 11:35 am

Apa bende ko merapu ni…ade kilang besar kat melaka still buat cip bodoh yg design dia dh berbelas tahun. Kilang akan buat bende yg customer nak, kalo buat bende syok sendiri atau sbb ade sorang yg bijak ckap kne buat memang kelaut lh.

Cip bodoh ni xde, high tech precision cip ko x bleh function gak.