Mobile DC fast-charging service for EVs kicks off in Singapore – Power Up Tech vans with 50 kW chargers

Unless one has a dedicated wallbox on location at home, getting an electric vehicle (EV) juiced up is pretty much left to utilising chargers in the public domain. At this juncture, with the infrastructure still at a nascent stage, securing access to a permanent charging point can be a challenge, requiring effort and waiting time at the location, which may not always be convenient to a user.

What then if the charging point comes to you, at your convenience and at the location of your choice? A Singaporean company is doing just that by bringing charging to a user’s doorstep with its newly-introduced mobile charging service. The aim is to make life easier for EV owners in the republic, as the Straits Times reports.

Local firm Power Up Tech (P.Up) provides on-demand DC fast charging services anywhere within Singapore from 9am to 9pm (Monday to Saturday), with each service visit lasting anywhere between 30 minutes to an hour, bringing the car’s battery to an 80% state of charge. Users can make a booking for the service via the company’s Facebook page, website or through WhatsApp messaging.

A 50 kW DC charging system, housed in a van (of which the company has three, currently), provides the necessary. With an energy capacity of 52 kWh, the system can – depending on the type of vehicle – juice up to two EVs before it needs to be recharged. Aside from CCS2 charging, the P.Up system can also work with EVs utilising ChaDeMo connectors.

The reasoning for charging until an 80% SoC is simple enough, done in the interest of overall efficiency, because charging speed and rate drops significantly for the last 20%. Besides the issue of time, there is also cost, as users would be paying for little gains from that point.

The company, which says its service is the first of its kind in the island state, has three prepaid packages, priced from 73 cents (RM2.33) to 88 cents (RM2.81) per kWh. This is slightly higher than the fast-charging offered by Shell at its fixed locations, which is priced at 55 cents (RM1.76) per kWh, as well as that from utlity company Singapore Power (SP) Group, which is 54.3 cents (RM1.74) per kWh – a small premium for the convenience of having charging brought to you.

Do you think such a service work here in Malaysia, and would you pay more to get your EV charged at your convenience? Share your views with us in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Tortilla on Jun 07, 2022 at 7:52 pm

Finally, EV user is advised to refill the electron to 100%/Full Tank.
    Bcuz 80% you can help to extend the lifespan…

So, rmbr to cut off another 20% from WLTP.

Next, 0-20% may also a slow charging, low efficiency charging.,
    Bcuz mostly advice fastest charging is 20%-80%..
    So, deduction off 40% WLTP, finally..

Literally 60% of WLTP is most efficient, 400km range become 240km range.
    Consider you are driving follow WLTP style too.

This is the good practice on how to drive Hyundai IONIQ/Volvo XC40 Recharge EV.

• Geng Bang Non on Jun 08, 2022 at 11:44 pm

Sinkie island so small oso need emergency charger. Apalah! Bunch of hopeless fools cannot even handle charging on their own.

• Bruce on Jun 07, 2022 at 9:14 pm

Mobile fast charging point powered by diesel genset and carried by diesel van? Haha

• EV still needs fossil fuel on Jun 07, 2022 at 10:57 pm

What does the van run on? Also electric or still burning fossil fuel?

• Marketplc on Jun 07, 2022 at 11:48 pm

And the van runs on gasoline. Hilarious.

• stranger on Jun 08, 2022 at 8:03 am

i wonder what power up the charger? and is the van still using fuel? this defeat EV purpose.

• Mr. Sotong on Jun 08, 2022 at 9:05 am

This is a very inefficient way to transfer energy and must only be used when absolutely necessary, like a powerbank.

• Sick&Tired on Jun 08, 2022 at 9:47 am

Good idea! And good to see that they are using a fully electric Opel vivaro too!

• Susukotak on Jun 08, 2022 at 9:51 am

Buying EV caring for environment. End up charging using fossil fuel van

• Alfred on Sep 09, 2022 at 5:03 pm

If there is a need, I’m sure they will upgrade their vans to electric with more support from the public. Visionary concept. Suggestion to have a renewable energy component to charge the van and the battery banks. This needs grid support for electricity balancing. I.e even when charging at night can have RE tariff

• Leomini on Oct 24, 2022 at 1:56 pm

I seem to have found the manufacturer of the source of the equipment.
    https://www.setec-power.com/emergency-mobile-ev-charging-system/