T20 in Malaysia more likely to have cars with illegal number plates, window tint above limits, study finds

Driving around with non-compliant vehicle number plates and tinted windows above permissible levels? Chances are, you’re likely from the T20 income group, says the Centre for Governance and Political Studies (Cent-GPS).

The Kuala Lumpur-based behavioral and social science research firm said this was what it observed following a study it conducted to determine which type of cars were most likely to violate rules set by the road transport department (JPJ).

Posting its findings on a series of tweets on Twitter, the firm said the study was conducted in May, when it deployed observation teams across multiple KL entry locations during the rush-hour period on work days. Monitoring vehicles moving into KL during congestion, the stationary teams observed a total of 1,256 unlawful vehicles.

T20 in Malaysia more likely to have cars with illegal number plates, window tint above limits, study finds

It estimated that 58.8% of cars with illegal number plates belonged to the T20 group, while 25.6% belonged to the M40 group and 15.9% came from the B40 group, determining the owners’ income group based on new vehicle prices. The company added it assumed that every car it observed was purchased through a bank loan, with a five-year repayment plan and no down payment.

It said that 56% of cars that had illegal plate numbers were priced over RM160,000 (brand new) in the current market, while 13% were priced from RM120,001 to RM160,000 and 12% were in the RM80,000 to RM120,000 price zone. Cars priced RM50,000 or less only made up 8% of the cars observed with illegal plate numbers.

The firm also stated that the experiment did not observe motorcycles, which meant it couldn’t conclusively determine if the T20 group was more likely to break JPJ rules for number plates.

The Cent-GPS team also broke down the data in terms of vehicle origins. Asian makes (Toyota, Honda, Lexus, etc) made up 51% of the total, while Continental brands (Mercedes, Audi, BMW, etc) made up 33.4% of the miscreants. Malaysian makes only made up 15.6% of the unlawful lot, though the firm stated that many of these were Proton X70s.

As for vehicle windows tinted well above permissible levels (for the front side windows, for which a 50% visible light transmission (VLT) rate is the legal limit), the study found that the T20 brigade led things once again, estimating that 52.8% of cars with illegally tinted windows it observed were worth more than RM160,000.

Cent-GPS did acknowledge that it did not have the proper equipment to measure tint levels and only recorded cars with fully black tinted windows on the driver’s side, and said this limitation could be improved on in future studies.

However, based on general findings, it stated that cars over RM160,000 clearly dominated both categories, and asked why “society treats the ‘seemingly rich’ with more privileges, allowing them to think they can get away with violations of the law.”

It added that the findings also begs the question on the country’s policy-making and rule of law. “If something as simple as car plate number laws are not being obeyed by certain segments of our country, how are we going to enforce more complex laws in the future?” the firm asked.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• It’s T01 and businessman,
    Not T20.

T20 get bullied.
    Mostly T20 are only senior executive/young managers,
    Work hard, follow rules and regulations, and leading and training juniors.

Gaji Baru RM5.5k/parent RM11k/household.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 18
    • Kapchai on Jun 10, 2022 at 11:21 am

T01 have money to pay.
      T20 too poor to pay.

https://paultan.org/2019/05/07/new-window-tint-ruling-for-malaysian-vehicles-darker-rear-windows-now-allowed-rm5k-fee-if-complete-car/

Dark tint allowed @ RM5k/2 years renew interval.

• PlainBS on Jun 10, 2022 at 12:41 pm

If after deduct EPF & taxes left RM9000 per household that is below T20 level of gross income RM10,000. To be T20 both income earners will have to have nett salary of RM 7500-8000 each.

• Finally, T20 only have nett spending or RM4000 per parent/RM8000 per household.

After deduction of EPF and Taxes.

• Brand’s that tak masuk list..
    Nobody buy them.

Example –
    Volkswagen, Audi, Porsche,
    Peugeot, Renault,
    Kia, Hyundai,
    Nissan

Uncommon…
    The % shown here is not relative to its sold units.
    Pity the researcher, dunno how to compare.

• I think more used car not following the rules,
    Like Proton Wira, 1st Gen Vios, Old Civic, Old Golf, etc.

Centre for Governance and Political Studies (Cent-GPS) done this research?
    Submitted to any Research and Journal Publication for Viva debate anot?

Random Data collected and presented also shown its Politcal Play, pressuring T20,
    So 80% of rakyat hate T20?

I wonder what is the point?

Padahal T20 salary, not very high..
    It’s T01 who has extreme salary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 10, 2022 at 10:18 am

No worries. Soon when DAP takes over, only members & T20 are able to own & drive cars. If you cannot become comrade member or T20 too bad for you. With law abiding B40 & M40 cars gone, illegal T20 number plates & dark tints will be the norm but so what as per PH Selangor style whatever illegal can be made legal just by paying $$$. Hooray for Malaysia Lagi Lagi Baharu!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 182 Thumb down 107
  • Rules breaker on Jun 10, 2022 at 10:20 am

No need to study to find out, most rakyat no need do study also know it one lar. People are judging everytime. Most of these richfag are moralless, rude and rules breaker one. If poorfag did it, those richfag butthurt, but if poorfag kasi tegur that richfag, they rishfag pulak wanna picking fight like no tomorow.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 10, 2022 at 10:45 am

If you were to make a Venn diagram of the metrics, I bet the vehicle with the greatest overlap in terms of tint violations, illegal number plate, price and brand would be the Toyota Vellfire, i.e. the preferred choice of vehicle for “special” members of society with self-accorded “special privileges”…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Dong Gor on Jun 10, 2022 at 10:46 am

My perspective on the tint:
    Ministry of Transport should set something that is reasonable to begin with. eg, the windscreen VLT of 75%. Even cars without tint, the VLT is already at this level as the glass naturally blocks out some light. Been to puspakom with 2 cars without tint and both of different make showed 73% , and 75%. so what is the point to set the front to 75% if tinting in such a hot weather country is allowed? The whole idea of limiting this is to make sure it’s safe for driving and law enforcement can see the driver…perhaps set something between 50-60%? something that makes sense for the ppl to comply. if i install 75% on windscreen, and when tested i still failed and get summoned, i will too go all out. there is no difference !

now come to enforcement on those that looking for trouble… whole car totally can’t see through. when got pulled over, the tint should be torn on the spot plus summon. No point to just issue summon as number of non compliance cars will remain the same on the road. when they are less on the road, the number will continue to go down. when you see everyone having dark tints and roaming around freely, others will just follow too … it’s herd instinct!

• T20 spotted. :)

Normal drivers do NOT tint the front windscreen. At most covering the upper 5 or 10 percent, so that not too much sunlight shines into the eyes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • dong gor on Jun 10, 2022 at 10:49 am

If you stop selling special number to rich ppl to make them special, then they will not bother about the plate to begin with. But you chose to make money through this business, after selling now you want to restrict their original intention to be special! So ministers ministers sekalian, please think about this and reflect against the wall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 10, 2022 at 11:39 am

Our ministry just carrying on the “good” work of exTM Anthony Loke, Spesial plate Salesman No1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 41
      • IGP mom on Jun 10, 2022 at 2:12 pm

I guess you didn’t know special plate selling existing back in the 80s. Just that its not open tendered, so the profit went to you-know-who pockets, rather than JPJ itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
        • Turn M on Jun 10, 2022 at 5:59 pm

Laaa its just like corruption, have been around since ages but it during my time that I revolutionised that industry. Samesame with my PH partner Loke revolutionised the sale of special plates. Before him only one series a month, when he became TM it was one series A WEEK. He was unquestionably Father of Special Plates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
  • Sparcov on Jun 10, 2022 at 10:52 am

Toyota recond, Vellfire, estima, Alphard, harrier, Wish mostly came with dark tint..Standard

• DatukBanjir on Jun 10, 2022 at 10:56 am

No worries, once you got a Tuk Tuk Sign on your registration plate, ok, jalan je…

• Kapchai on Jun 10, 2022 at 11:19 am

Don’t car pasal with dark tint not follow JPJ rule.

1 kali kena,
    Koyakkan, Saman + Masuk Puspkam..

Wasted time and money..

• Let assume both couple working.
    Husband RM6000 + wife RM6000 = RM12000 T20
    After deduct incokme tax and EPF, left RM9000

Link house RM900k++, monthly installment = RM3000
    According to the study, T20 buy car more than 160k.
    Huscand car, installment RM2000
    Wife car, installment RM2000

Only 2 kids.
    Daycare + tuition = RM1000 x 2 = RM2000

Insurance husband, wife and kids, monthly = RM1000
    Really not much for RM1000 when you really need it one day.

Breakfast + Lunch + dinner = RM10 x 4 x 30 = RM1200

Petrol = RM0.20/km x 50km two way x 2 person x 30 days = RM600

Car maintenance average = RM200 x 2 = RM400 monthly (definitely not enough when car get older)

Entertainment = 4 days x RM120 (meal) = RM480

Net income RM9000
    Expenses RM12680

Groceries? Misc?

Smart government, this is T20 that you mean?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • PlainBS on Jun 10, 2022 at 12:21 pm

If after deduct EPF & taxes left RM9000 per household that is below T20 level of gross income RM10,000. To be T20 both income earners will have to have nett salary of RM 7500-8000 each.

• https://www.comparehero.my/budgets-tax/articles/t20-m40-b40-malaysia

pls refer to this website. No one referto net income, it is gross income. Also it orovide your reference for median. Median mean at tr middle of a range. Since you sound like know nothing, I explain the meaning to u.

• PlainBS on Jun 13, 2022 at 12:04 pm

household income = total income of all household members – taxes or other deductions

https://webtribunal.net/blog/how-to-calculate-household-income/

• CinKaLan on Jun 10, 2022 at 12:23 pm

Don’t be dumb please, don’t….

“Really not much for RM1000 when you really need it one day.”

You sounds like an insurance agent

• With this kind of expenditure, these T20 parents are almost destined to become B40 when retired.

• People working hard to fet what they want. People want to send kids for better education. Becase their kids are not allowed to study in uitm. They can not enjoy discount when buy house. They need better medical services and do not wish waiting to die at public hospital. Not like those factory operators, always said working env hot, dirty, need to use a lot of body energy. Then resigned and wait for helps.

• Cash is king

• Anti sticker on Jun 10, 2022 at 12:19 pm

Poor governance & no enforcement.
    This dark tint & fancy plates are visible and clearly seen on the road. At first place, don’t allow the shop to even sell the fancy plate. Make it illegal as selling drugs. Sell, buy, own all wrong. Like this, change govt 100 times also cannot settle.
    Same goes to tint. Why the shop can follow customer request to fix dark tint but they are not at fault? If JPJ wants to make easy extra income, just ronda & summon kaw2. Don’t forget to also go after illegal modification & excessive noise. These buggers are asking to be summoned. No need to research and pay consultant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Ok what. That’s how Malaysian donate to the gov.

• Raymond on Jun 10, 2022 at 12:52 pm

JPJ and traffic police all waiting for orders from atasan to do their job….

• macampondan on Jun 10, 2022 at 1:50 pm

spending so much money researching unproductive things when minimum economy impact.

Go do more meaningful research… bring in more investment to MY, uplift the economy for all races, push the rakyat to greater prosperity, harmonize rakyat from all levels, uplift all rakyat to compete at the world stage

that’s what I called, research money or effort well spent.

• newme on Jun 10, 2022 at 2:18 pm

Assume this, assume that and they come into T20, M40, B40. What kind of research firm is this?

• Kroni on Jun 10, 2022 at 2:36 pm

WE BEEN KNEW

• what benefit gain form this research?

• Sohai on Jun 10, 2022 at 6:00 pm

Non actionable analysis.

I have another (better) theory.
      “Rich people are the ones violating dark tint and fancy plate laws”. Why?
      Because judging by how rampant the situation is after so many years, rich people somehow can get the enforcements to “look the other way”…
      Thumbs up if you think my theory is better than observing the car model as per the article. Thumbs down if you disagree.

• Commoner on Jan 05, 2023 at 2:40 pm

I can see a lot of butt hurting comments over here, especially Mr Author.

Fancy number plate and dark window tint as an excuse to target T20, T10 ,T100 or whatever…

Anyway, those people who use extra tiny number plate on their cars and motorbike are all sohai.