JPJ Penang cracks down on cars with illegal HID lights

The road transport department (JPJ) recently carried out Ops Lampu HID in Penang to catch motorists whose vehicles are illegally retrofitted with xenon-based HID (high-intensity discharge) headlamps.

According to the department, such headlamp conversions can disrupt the vision of other road users due to excessive glare and be dangerous during rainy weather as well as cause discomfort to drivers from the opposite direction. As reported previously, lights that differ from the original ones that came with the vehicle are illegal, as they do not follow the specifications of the manufacturer.

The department added that the operation was carried out after receiving feedback from the public with enforcement of offences being carried out under Rule 94 of the 1959 Motor Vehicle Rules (Construction and Use) whereby “the condition of any vehicles that are used on the road and all the parts and accessories must not cause or pose danger to those who are in vehicles or on the road at all times”.

Vehicle owners are given ten days to restore the headlamps to their original specifications, and violation of this rule is punishable by a fine of up to RM2,000 or prison for up to 6 months under Section 119 (1) of the Road Transport Act 1987.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• balingboy on Jun 13, 2022 at 12:38 pm

why dont jpj penang crackdown on DAP MPs children getting traffic escorts first?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 101
    • Balingboy is an idiot on Jun 13, 2022 at 2:53 pm

You mean your umno children?DAP MP themselves don’t even have any escort when they were in the gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 105
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 14, 2022 at 9:59 am

DAP plotekting vvips dulu, kini dan selamanya. Mesti plotek jgn xplotek tau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 14, 2022 at 7:20 pm

Macai UMNgok jarang tak Bodo Dulu, kini dan selamanya. PRU15 kali ini Rakyat tolak Umno,,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 40
    • Family Guy on Jun 13, 2022 at 3:54 pm

Well technically it should be Penang PDRM chief should crackdown on his downline giving DAP preferential treatment, but I got your point there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 100
    • Ajibkor on Jun 13, 2022 at 3:56 pm

For UMNO sake, that creature its my blardy gudfren Azeez pawKawtim rahim goddam beruk son. They shud stay in the zoo instead of roaming outside, LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 104
      • Lets See on Jun 14, 2022 at 8:43 am

Pls dont bash the innocent BN UMNO due to one bad DAP driver.U want us to bash all the other PH dudes due to this eksiden happen in Penang ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 15
      • Copy Paste on Jun 14, 2022 at 10:00 am

Ape benda la yg ko merepek ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 16
      • It is shameful my MP offsprings are bringing such shame to the party. Calling themselves DAP but acting like T20. If give me a chance for time-reverse, I will find their parents and give them 2 advise

1) Use condom
        2) Shoot on the wall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 14
  • JPJ needs to update their laws. If the conversion is done properly it should be allowed especially if its not glaring. My first gen Persona lights are so sad its dangerous. HIDs with glass bowl and at 4300k should be allowed, if not, ask the manufacturer to update the bulbs. smh and pls, BMW laser headlights and myvi lights came from factory are not fit to be OTR!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
    • taboogen on Jun 13, 2022 at 4:26 pm

got meh proper

• Hmmmm on Jun 13, 2022 at 9:27 pm

While i agree with u that law need to keep update with current tech,i dont agree with u on your poor headlight on stock car. Most car even with halogen bulb which has the reflector properly adjusted will have decent shine on the road.

I drove frequently on kampung road at night and frequently i saw much more expensive cars than my local car driving at turtle pace due to poorly adjusted headlights. Even their high beam does not glare oncoming vehicle.

What i notice is that some vehicle sacrifice headlight throw to have great looks by shaping the headlight which affect the reflector design.

• every times only showing. So many cars otr buy without action. Polis nampak pun bust tak tahu saja.

• Chris on Jun 13, 2022 at 1:06 pm

Good Operation. Please conduct this activity on entire country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • hahaha on Jun 13, 2022 at 1:23 pm

pls also crack down on vios driver who had their rear fog light on for no reason those thing hurt my eyes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • bieight8 on Jun 13, 2022 at 2:29 pm

Learn from China and ask the driver to stare at their own vehicle headlights for 1 hour…

• LED Glare on Jun 13, 2022 at 3:28 pm

Not only cars, need also crack down motorcycles (especially those big bikes) with modified / added LED running lamps without proper adjust the angle.

Not sure what can be done for those vehicles with originally fitted but not so intelligent auto hi-beam? always throw hi-beam during daytime!

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 13, 2022 at 3:44 pm

buat wayang only…so many orang kayangan flout laws like nobody business

• roti telor on Jun 13, 2022 at 7:42 pm

what about certain cars models that dont have streamlined led headlights for different variants. is it legal for say, the base model which comes with halogen changes it to the led headlights that is used on the upper end variant of the same model?

• Nope...no problem on Jun 13, 2022 at 9:30 pm

There is a huge different between stock look and not so stock look on the installation.

I bet some waja cps owners has encounter traffic stop due to hid. Once the officer pop the hood, they can clearly see the ‘stock’look of the hid installation.

• Those f..cking glaring are from bmw and p2 (myvi/ativa) led headlamp. Bwm most glaring.. aim high also..

• i noticed that some myvi i encountered dont produce glare like some does. maybe it is because some drivers dont adjust the levelling of their headlights

• 100% Agreed, Most stxpid glaring hi beam HEADLIGHT especially heading from opposite…..

• Michael Holme on Jun 14, 2022 at 2:17 pm

yes those BMW laser leds are seriously blinding worse than HID.