Hyundai Stargazer teased – 7-seater Mitsubishi Xpander rival borrows Staria’s futuristic design

Hyundai has started teasing an upcoming new model developed especially for emerging markets like South East Asia and India. This is the Hyundai Stargazer, a compact three-row MPV said to be in the segment of cars as the Mitsubishi Xpander, Toyota Veloz and the upcoming 2022 Perodua Alza replacement.

The front end image we see here reveals that Stargazer takes lots of inspiration from it’s older sibling the Hyundai Staria. It looks decidedly futuristic, which could be a real plus point on the showroom floor.

The sleek futuristic shape continues to be seen in the side profile. The roof slopes downwards towards the rear of the car, offering it a more sleeker, aero shape compared to the Staria, which has a boxier rear end.

Door handles positioned towards the rear edge of the rear door means it will have regular doors like its competitors instead of being a sliding door compact MPV like the Toyota Sienta.

We think it will likely be powered by some form of normally aspirated 1.5 litre engine driving the front wheels like it’s competitors – most likely the 1.5 litre SmartStream engine making 115 PS and 144 Nm of torque.

What do you think of what we can see of the new Hyundai Stargazer so far, would it be a worthy competitor to the popular Mitsubishi Xpander?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Dorry on Jun 18, 2022 at 9:20 pm

India now make 6 airbags as standard already,
    Indoesia should follow..

https://paultan.org/2022/04/25/india-set-to-make-6-airbags-minimum-in-passenger-cars-should-malaysia-do-the-same-to-improve-safety/

• taweel on Jun 18, 2022 at 9:21 pm

1.5 CRDi engine please as offered in Indonesia Kia Seltos.

• bieight8 on Jun 18, 2022 at 10:14 pm

GG lah mitsubishi and Nissan

• Aiman on Jun 18, 2022 at 10:29 pm

Staria + Bayon + Xpander = Stargazer ??

The design of this subcompact MPV will make either you love or hate it.

I wonder if Kia want to participate in this segment in ASEAN with all new Carens.

• Abyasa on Jun 19, 2022 at 7:49 am

Overall looks good for its price.
    Indonesia expected price only RM60k-RM90k.
    At this price, I think they making a Panel Van for indonesia out of it?

Just like Hyundai Staria also has Panel Van, School Bus, Worker Bus version @ Korean.

• Abyasa on Jun 20, 2022 at 10:54 am

Hyundai Staria 2.2T Diesel Cargo 3seat 7Airbag-
      27,260,000KRW /RM92k/Rp. 312Juta.

Hyundai Staria 2.2T Tourer 11seat 7Airbag –
      29,320,000 / RM99k / Rp. 336Juta.

• Lanhb on Jun 20, 2022 at 8:28 am

People buy nameplates nowadays, not simply cars

• I hope it has awd option

• For Indonesia, By Indonesia. Everyone can sit.