Slow car cuts into right lane on highway, causes accident – check mirrors, keep your distance, people

The highway should be where road-going vehicles are less likely to encounter incidents with others, given that everyone should be travelling in the same direction along the same stretch of tarmac.

As demonstrated here from footage while northbound on the PLUS highway around KM312.6 near Tapah, however, last-moment manoeuvres can and do lead to collisions – even if the apparent perpetrator themselves appeared to emerge unscathed. Watch the incident from the front- and rear-facing cameras, and it becomes clear that more than one factor has come into play.

The camera vehicle is travelling in the right-hand-side lane – the quicker of two lanes – as it approaches slow-moving traffic in the left lane, in which two large trailer trucks are followed by a white Honda City.

Just after the 18-second mark, the driver of the City puts on the indicator, though it almost immediately makes the lane change into the path of the camera vehicle. Here, the driver of the Honda City changes lanes, crossing into the path of the camera vehicle without first being sure that there will be enough of a gap to enter the lane.

Given the immediacy of the white car’s lane change, it would appear that not enough consideration was exercised here. Less easily done, but no less crucial is the identifying of potential hazards as a right-hand lane user, which in this case is slow-moving traffic potentially moving into the right-hand lane. From the forward-facing camera’s vantage point, it appears that the camera car narrowly avoided colliding with the City.

Meanwhile, the camera car is followed by a blue Suzuki Swift, which starts in footage holding a reasonable distance from the camera car. It closes the gap, however, and it is at this point where the camera car has to apply emergency braking.

From the front camera we know it has just missed the City in front; the situation at the back isn’t as positive, as the driver of the Swift has not anticipated or reacted quickly enough to avoid collision, and so the two cars make contact. Parts break and go flying, though the occupants of both cars emerge relatively unharmed, and pull over no doubt to exchange details.

Regressing to the front camera footage, the Honda City has not stopped and continued on its way, overtaking the two trucks, apparently oblivious to the drama that has unfolded.

Perhaps we could all take a leaf out of the motorcycling handbook, specifically, to operate as if everyone is out to get you, as the saying goes. It may be most relevant to the more vulnerable motorist, which in this case, applies to the three key vehicles involved in this incident.

Ideally, we would be in vehicles with a comprehensive set of active safety features such as autonomous emergency braking, blind spot warning, lane keeping assist and the like, however drivers with these at their disposal remain the exception rather than the rule for the time being. As such, the best feature in one’s safety toolkit is the driver’s own situational awareness.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• haha… the City driver should be sued

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 2
    • Kancil Hybrid on Jun 24, 2022 at 11:00 pm

Bila nampak kereta kat depan tu mcm teragak-agak, hon je lama2 sikit, angkat lampu. Kadang yg drive tu driver baru2, tak cukup pengalaman. Judgement tak berapa tepat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
      • Lets See on Jun 25, 2022 at 11:21 am

Driver baru? Nope. That City did not have P on the back window

• CikSiti on Jun 25, 2022 at 2:34 pm

City TypeR

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 25, 2022 at 7:24 pm

Tak de P tak semestinya bukan driver BBNU.

• BigJoe on Jun 26, 2022 at 12:36 pm

Some drivers are only good at driving in cities, and not all have experience driving on highways which has a higher speed limit. I usually will high beam if I notice a slower car stuck behind the slow trucks. Never know when they will just cut into my lane, thinking there is plenty of space for them.

• destera on Jun 26, 2022 at 12:04 am

ambik no plat city pastu report under traffic sbg pemanduan merbahaya atau tidak berhemah. Proof dari dashcam, atleast puas hati la.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 24, 2022 at 7:43 pm

Sometimes U just need to make the call to hit the car and expecting minimal damage by hitting would cause to you than the obstacle upfront when you’re not at fault.

I believe the City’s doors would suffer alot when collide with tougher corner of the cam-car’s bumper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • Its not easy as u think leh. It happen to me before and i took more damage. Just for the sake to avoid that idiot Honda Civic and guess what. That f Honda Civic act like gangster. Never pay and run just like that.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 25, 2022 at 8:46 am

sorry to hear about that…. altho i disagree with you on politics…. no one should suffer because of other people’s selfishness….i hope you managed to recover and hopefully that honda will get his balasan

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 25, 2022 at 10:38 am

U need to dashcam footage to file report
        U might need instant reaction to judge
        U may need experience also
        First time wont be easy
        Worth give these kopi-O driver a lesson
        Especially in unavoidable situation like this
        Alternatively slow down and use your honk
        Since U already notice the situation
        Everyone can do that

• No, don’t bang the city.
      frontal damage rugi,
      Backside damage less rugi,

So, rugi itu suzuki swift belakang.
      The lesson learnt is that bottleneck speed, need to slow down earlier.

If you drive with AAC @ at least 2 bar/mid distance setting, you can feel this early slow down, ahead of typical Malayaian driving style. To reduce chances of frontal collision, and rear collision by others too.

• Ramesh on Jun 24, 2022 at 8:24 pm

Honda Lane Watch only left side, not sufficient.

Why new Honda dont have Blind Spot Monitor?

• Kalak on Jun 25, 2022 at 10:31 am

BSM will not help here. It will only make the city driver more righteous by arguing that it’s the other driver that just showed up because BSM says it’s clear.

• Lets See on Jun 25, 2022 at 11:23 am

That City generation has neither Lanewatch or BSM and it has a big blindspot

• Kapchai on Jun 25, 2022 at 3:52 pm

True, the side mirror also very small.

Enabling larger blind spot.

• Eddy Chin on Jun 25, 2022 at 6:15 pm

Need is a pair of blind spot mirror

• as an armchair driver looking at this video, the right thing is to horn and continue on high speed.

you stopping totally on right hand lane might be a fatal mistake.

• Kariayam on Jun 25, 2022 at 2:29 pm

As another armchair driver I would argue if you misjudged his speed, you could’ve clipped him, he could’ve nudged your rear left tyre, and would’ve sent you flying off the road into the trees.
      The wrong thing the cammer did was let the driver go. I would’ve chased him down and made him pulled over.

• Casual reader on Jun 25, 2022 at 5:42 pm

Cam car stop at side coz it kena hit by the blue swift. Need to nego or bth agree to report police

• Someone is forever in overtaking mode. Despite seeing the right signal of the car in front, refused to give way, then blame that car for having to do an emergency brake.

Again, I am going to get tons of downvotes, from those who like to hog the overtaking lane, preventing those in front from overtaking. They typically drive on the overtaking lane for tens or even hundreds of kilometers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 44
    • u went to driving school ah? u nvr learn how long u must signal before changing lanes? or to look in your mirrors?

• not even evidence to conclude that the car on the right lane is hogging the right lane. he was overtaking all those cars.

• This is another reason why right lane slower than left lane when many cars on highway.

• Defensive Driving on Jun 24, 2022 at 11:12 pm

It’s true being a motorcyclist does help one become a more defensive driver and anticipating risks, for example, whenever I see smaller vehicles like cars tailgating trucks going uphill on the slow lane of the highway, I usually let off the gas and put my foot on the brake pedal in anticipation that the car may try to overtake the truck especially when there is a gap between my car and the car in front of me on the fast lane. People sometimes can misjudge the speed of an oncoming car from the back based on looking at the side mirror.

• salohcin on Jun 25, 2022 at 8:56 am

Absolutely agree on defensive driving. Our traffic conditions and overall road safety can definitely be improved if everyone practices more Situational Awareness on the road. Sad to see that JPJ haven’t implemented such course even till this day.

• Lets See on Jun 25, 2022 at 11:25 am

Carmakers should mandate all sidemirrors comes with this note “Objects in mirrors are closer than they appear”

• Katheryne Wong on Jun 24, 2022 at 11:55 pm

I would like to suggest to next time please use the horn. Give a long hornnnnn. The horn is there to remind others & to provide safety to all.

• I always encounter the same situation. Left lane blocked by slow motor, just came out lke that without watching.

• EvilBagofBolts on Jun 25, 2022 at 6:03 am

Malaysian Police extremely inept and useless. Will give tickets for useless things but actual safety related things like a taillight bulb out or people not using signals that will bring actual change on roads are not enforced. if people drive safer it will solve lotta problems, but these dimwits know how to catch people on phone, speeding, or no seatbelt that’s all.

• Steven on Jun 25, 2022 at 6:06 am

Happened to me a few times.
    One time it cause my car falling 2 meters to a flood plain, luckily didnt hit any trees. That was along Batang Berjuntai to Kuala Selangor back road. Driver did bother to even stop.
    Another time was along Rembau – Muazzam Shah way. This time just manage to overtake the lorry with to wheels on the kerb and pulling the car back to tarmac right before hitting the concrete kerb in front.
    These last minutes actions by irresponsible drivers could have caused bad injuries to me.

• Leafable on Jun 25, 2022 at 9:21 am

The stupid suzuki following too close.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Bieight8 on Jun 25, 2022 at 10:09 am

VTEC power!

• That is why you have to keep a safe distance away from the front car, was told it should be at least 8 car length if tyravelling at 80kmh. This is to avoid the accident.

• There will be even more similar incident if car distance is kept at 8 car length. The uneducated city driver above has already pulled out with half the car length gap from speed 70 straight to line 110. And this is exactly the main reason why there’s jam all over the specific part of highway now, the car with low speed jump straight into the most right line from highway intersect or entrance in the most left line.

• Sick&Tired on Jun 25, 2022 at 10:33 am

So unfair! The shitty driver gets off scot free while others have to suffer! Hope pdrm will take action!

• Is it a legal requirement to stop and meet up with the other driver or assess the damage. The driver had 24 hours to make a police report.

Your do not know if the driver of the front vehicle has any urgency or not.

• mr1031 on Jun 25, 2022 at 12:55 pm

noticed many drivers trying to overtake drives like this..going into right lane at a slow speed..the right way is to maintain enough distance from slow vehicles i.e lorry and build-up your speed when the right lane is empty before changing lane

• Papamutata on Jun 25, 2022 at 12:57 pm

The City is at fault. With the footage, police could track the driver down and press charges and damages to both the “victims”

• When this happens in Singapore and the video is sent to Police or RTD, the driver/owner of Honda will get sumons. Even changing lane must signal and ensure cars on right lane is not close.

• I wonder why did the swift didn’t managed to brake in time. Yes the distance between cars is short but it’s a much lighter car so it should brake much better.

• Dong Gor on Jun 25, 2022 at 1:38 pm

Too bad for Suzuki.. Get summon and loose ncd while city drove away as though nothing has happened. This is justice or 20th century.

• Me too on Jun 25, 2022 at 4:28 pm

I just involved in a very similar situation in my 330i yesterday. 2 lanes, a fker just indicated and cut into my lane at the same time, first reaction, none stop long honking, next, because one of my hand on gear knob so pressed the sport plus fast and full power floor it. The car missed me by less than a hand palm and Im maybe just 10mm from my right divider. My car reacted fast enough to accelerate and the power is enough to surge me toward in that very second. I cant brake because there is a motorbike right behind me I foresee he will go flying if I brake. So lucky, if Im driving a less responsive car I guess the whole left of mine will kiss the whole right of the fker, at the same time send someone flying to the sky.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Driver on Jun 25, 2022 at 11:19 pm

North south highway is partially responsible for the incident, because of not upgrading the north bound stretch to 3lanes, despite heavy traffics, full of lorries, jammed up every holidays. Frequent travellers are forced to drive either at turtle speed or overtaking speed.

• Attitude on Jun 27, 2022 at 10:22 am

The main reason is Malaysian drivers attitude (like to do whatever that favourable to themselves) , like to change lane immediately after they put on their indicator, or don’t even bother to put on indicator when they wan’t to change lane. I saw numerous this kind of driver on the road.

• this is happening everyday, not only cutting into right lane but also to the left lane, regardless what size of their car.
    come on la, adjust your wing mirror to outward abit to have better view, and check further before changing lane, this is more important than how fast you can drive on the road

• Firdaus on Jun 27, 2022 at 2:22 pm

Ive come across lots of idiot drivers like this. They look once on their side mirror and assume since you are still far away they can switch lanes. But they never look at the side mirror and try to judge your speed.Real idiots.

• Join dashcam owner in malaysia , manyak sooohigh driver macam ni. Selalu ingat signal tu shield protection utk kereta. signal je terus keluar, ada yg keluar baru signal. JLK!