Electric cars cannot drive through floods? Watch this Tesla Model 3 go ‘swimming’ in Kuantan, Pahang

One of the many questions or perhaps misconceptions that people have about electric cars is that they cannot go through even the most mild of floods. Naturally, people are concerned as flash floods seem to be becoming a regular issue here in Malaysia and common sense tells you that electricity and water do not mix.

However what many people aren’t aware of is that electric cars actually tend to fare better in flood conditions compared to internal combustion engine cars. This is because an electric motor has no air intake, so there is no chance of hydrolock, where water gets sucked into the engine intake and damages the engine.

Here’s a video of Farhan A Rahim’s Tesla Model 3 going through a flood in Kuantan back in January 2021. According to Farhan, the water was deep enough to fully cover his Tesla Model 3 LR’s tyre. The Model 3 LR comes default with 18 inch aero wheels but can be specified optionally with 19 inch sport wheels.

EV cannot go through flood

D’Dark Knight learning how to swim ??????? ???????

#tm3lr
#digitaldarkknight

Posted by Farhan A Rahim on Saturday, 2 January 2021

Tesla actually tests cars that rolls off its Shanghai gigafactory in deep water as part of its quality control process. You can watch the video below – skip to the 1 minute 9 second mark to watch the test.

Nevertheless we wouldn’t recommend driving your electric car or any other car through floods even though their wading depth seems superior to ICE-powered cars of a similiar body type.

Even though essential components might not be damaged and you can still continue driving, there is risk of the water damaging non-essential parts that might not receive the same waterproofing treatment as essential parts, such as your number plate or car horn.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wa, very deep. If I stand there, I am going to drown!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Celup King on Aug 03, 2022 at 10:37 am

Basically if you buy a Tesla Shanghai mari car, you get a preflooded EV. Well done!

• Have You not seen a Volvo XC40 Recharge dipped and driven off a water tank?

• Sohai on Aug 03, 2022 at 11:12 am

Is easier to make an electrical appliance water resistant…

• cars sold here should come with an optional accessory… a propeller

• john is otak batu on Aug 03, 2022 at 11:53 am

Well, tesla owner can skip jammin bridge/causeway. Just let’em drive across the sea.

• One thing people failed to think about is EV is a closed system. there are no exhaust or intake grille on an EV. If anything to survive a flood, my money is on EV. You guys never heard of waterproof phone before?

• Bieight8 on Aug 03, 2022 at 12:25 pm

Hilux still the best

• seancorr on Aug 03, 2022 at 1:33 pm

Didn’t one of the owners from China or Taiwan was refused battery warranty because they found water inside it’s battery despite the owner saying the vehicle was only driven in heavy rain?

• Cannot ‘celen’ king lagi…

• well… donno this article is praising the Tesla.. or mocking the flood in Pahang

• ROTI CANAI on Aug 04, 2022 at 11:09 pm

when something does go wrong don cry father cry mother

• Ranger on Oct 23, 2022 at 8:36 am

Have we heard of any problem for this car a few weeks after? Heard from news there are multiple cases of EV spontaneously burned few days after a hurricane in US. Those batteries are the one cause it.