Perodua Myvi enters junction through fuel tanker blind spot, both collide – make sure you are in driver’s view

Very large vehicles such as trailer trucks require plenty of room to manoeuvre, especially through junctions and bends. In the case of this coming together between a tanker and a Perodua Myvi, truck drivers cannot avoid what they cannot see, as the driver of the latter will no doubt have found out for sure by now.

In this Facebook reel posted by Suara FM, CCTV footage shows that the driver of this Myvi has driven straight into the blind spot of the fuel tanker truck that is waiting to safely join the road through this junction, in an attempt to take the gap left between the truck and the kerb.

Having not seen the car because it is in their blind spot, the truck driver proceeds to join the road not knowing that the Myvi is waiting immediately alongside to do the same.

In other situations around large vehicles, if you cannot see the truck driver in their mirror, they most likely cannot see you – that would be a good starting point for precautions to take when being around large vehicles such as this, which also applies when following alongside in a straight line such as when travelling next to one on a highway.

The still images included in this Facebook reel show the metal box-section barrier located in the large gap between the trailer’s axles, which extends downwards below the main section of the trailer. This has apparently done its job of preventing the car here from getting pushed in front of the truck’s forward-rolling wheels, which could end with the car – and its occupants – getting crushed.

It looks like a substantial repair bill is coming the Myvi owner’s way, though judging from the occupant cabin that appears to be unharmed, this is relatively inexpensive compared to the human cost of what might have been. Remember, when operating a motor vehicle, your first line of defence is your situational awareness.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• This actually happened to me before. Was in a normal sedan car and the truck just turned straight into me. I had assumed he could see me but from his sitting position he could not see straight below. Especially bad when both cars are turning. In the end his insurance paid but it was a BIG repair bill

• Ajibkor on Aug 04, 2022 at 6:44 pm

Myvi is King. King itu rakyat.. so Myvi x salah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • Kassim B Khairul on Aug 05, 2022 at 12:36 am

Lagi lagi pasal keta perodua. Entahlah saya rasa brand in sudah kena cursed. So para2 pembeli jgn beli keta perodua ya.

• mustakym on Aug 05, 2022 at 8:14 am

jangan nak kufarat sangat bang.

• Myvi is the most sold car in Malaysia. So incidentally we see more if them on the road and being in the news for various related reasons.

• Logical Deduction on Aug 06, 2022 at 10:40 pm

Kapcais are the most sold vehicles by far.You don’t find kapcais that noobish being sandwiched by a truck.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 04, 2022 at 7:43 pm

Trucks take wide turns. You have to remember that.

Many idiots inadvertantly think it’s a gap and try to squeeze in.

You are lucky the truck didn’t run over you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Truckers on Aug 05, 2022 at 12:44 am

In this case it is clear there is only 1 turning lane. To the left and right are kerb lines meant for large turning vehicles, ie a truck. That myvi tried to cilok in coz he saw the kerb gap and tried to shoot. What he shot was a huge repair bill as this is no way that trucker’s fault. A trailer will need to take a wider turning angle as we are taught to stick back onto the most left lane once we merge into a straight coz staying in other lanes is a punishable offence.

• Not sure if the trailer driver cannot see the tiny myvi bcos normally trailer like this got many mirrors at both side to cover blind spot and for reverse parking.
    Further more, the barrier at side of trailer, I don’t think for protect car went inside but to protect oil outlet nozzel from damage which might cause a leaked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 40
    • Dah Menang Semua on Aug 04, 2022 at 5:00 pm

KING of Malaysian road – MYVI
      QUEEN of Malaysian road – VIOS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • You must be the myvi driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • God please help this guy on Aug 05, 2022 at 8:15 am

Not sure you are stupid or dumb, trailer need wider turning radius, just let him pass and overtake him later on, why risk your life “thinking” trailer can see you ?

• God please make him read more before commenting on Aug 05, 2022 at 12:58 pm

That side barrier is for preventing cars/motorcycle going under the truck.. it’s a well known JPJ regulation for lorries.

• Haha.. that barrier under the tanker does it jobs.. else that car will be pancake.
      This is the different between proper truck and no safety truck like construction truck..

• Haters gonna hate on Aug 04, 2022 at 4:20 pm

Malaysian drivers “I must overtake heavy vehicles if not I will be slow”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • Satay on Aug 04, 2022 at 4:42 pm

Bikers need to be even more careful..
    Once squashed, Gg.com

But car.. no choice, really hard to avoid, do the best.

Trucker..? What can be done..?
    Can 360camera help? Wait, no 360camera yet?

• Lorry don’t have active/passive safety system. Why? Because no need of it. Their big sturdy size already enough to cover all the L-Ancap 2 x 5 stars requirements.

• Tortilla on Aug 05, 2022 at 7:57 am

https://paultan.org/2020/08/05/2020-mercedes-benz-actros-launched-in-malaysia-aeb-adaptive-cruise-control-touchscreen-on-lorry/

This Benz Actross got L- Ncap?

It has Side Mirror Cam.

• Powershot on Aug 04, 2022 at 5:32 pm

Dumb myvi driver. Masa ambil lesen, x ingat ke instructor pesan, “do not overtake large turning vehicles.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • It seems MYVI and 4 wheeldrive vehicles are the main culprits lately.
      Myvi…low cost Ferarri(gila gila driving like Hamilton)
      Hilux/triton…extreme torque overtaker

• Probably haven’t even finish paying off the loan for their Myvi but already got mangled kaw kaw, best lah.

• Law abiding driver on Aug 04, 2022 at 7:21 pm

Clear cut case. The genius is real smart. Any smarter will eliminate himself from the gene pool.

1) white with multiple diagonal lines means divider/kerb. Should never enter unless emergency.
    2) overtake on left, on left turning vehicle.
    3) there’s a sign behind the tanker, do not overtake on the left.

• Kariayam on Aug 04, 2022 at 7:54 pm

The road markings indicate that the myvi should not be there in the first place. So no I don’t feel sympathy for the driver because he was being an impatient tool.

• There is a reason why the trailer lorry did not take the extreme left lane to turn left. If the car was already there before the lorry reached the junction, surely the lorry driver would have noticed and taken the appropriate action (letting the car go first). But if the car reached there after the lorry did, the lorry driver would not noticed (blind spot). Although there may be enough mirrors to cover all sides of the lorry, the driver may have been looking on the right for on-coming traffic so that he could drive in.

If the car came after the lorry, the car should not be be on the lorry’s left because the trailer’s back-end would still hit into the car. The safety distance had to be maintained by the car.

This is not a traffic-light junction. Did the car see through the lorry for on-coming traffic from the right before cutting in? Shouldn’t the car driver ensure the road clear first before going into the major road?

• ay am on Aug 04, 2022 at 10:13 pm

guess people who use MYVI need to take special license instead Hilux car . oof

• I still want to say you unable to clap with one hand. It is always too late to claim who is wtong who is right after accident happened.

• The driver was trying to follow the sign of the tanker….’Making move like never before’….

• Prad Ayon on Aug 05, 2022 at 8:29 am

Women…

• Henry on Aug 05, 2022 at 9:36 am

Same goes to motorcyclists. They will squeeze through on your left as you turn left to exit a T-junction. Watch out for them.

• It’s 2022 and they don’t have tech to handle blindspots? It’s needed in large vehicles especially. Then again if people drive as if they had bought the road and other people’s lives too when they bought their vehicles, you get things like this.

We have people spouting morality, religion and being fair but once we get into our vehicles, all that are magically forgotten.

We don’t respect each other’s rights, aim to be courteous and considerate on the road.

Attitude and having a big blindspot on the effects of our actions on others are the culprits in most cases. Thought and change needed from each of us.

• ballz

• pee pee kaka land