Shopee rider kicks side mirror off a Porsche 911 attempting to do a slow lane change in Malaysia

Lane splitting accidents involving motorcycles and cars are not uncommon, but this one is unique, and caught on camera. In a short video clip uploaded to the DashCam Owners Malaysia FB page, a Shopee rider can be seen kicking off the left side mirror of a Porsche 911 attempting to do a slow lane change.

The car is on the right most lane of the highway, and begins indicating before starting to make the lane change to the middle, gingerly at that, given that bikes are whizzing past in lane splitting fashion. Two bikes speed past, the second doing a tiny, almosy imperceptible, evasive maneouvre to swing the bike wide to get further clearance from the car.

The third bike travelling in the channel, however, approaches the Porsche without slowing down. As the biker, which can be identified as a Shopee delivery rider, reaches the vehicle, he sticks out his right foot and aims it at the side mirror. The speed of the impact takes the side mirror off, and the biker continues on his merry way.

While no one was injured in the incident, the biker’s action does constitute an offence, essentially for driving (or in this case, riding) recklessly and causing damage to another vehicle in the process. Whether anything comes of it remains to be seen, of course, but for now, it has been an expensive day out for the 911.

Incidents like these are sure to happen again, given the regularity of bikes performing lane splitting movement in heavy traffic. The action itself is not an issue, but most times, bikes seem to think that they own that passage, speeding along without fear of consequence, tooting their horn (sometimes, almost angrily, you feel) to inform those ahead that they’re coming through.

Close calls happen, and drivers should be familiar with the glare or verbal tell-off from bikers for forcing them to slow down, impeding their progress. We’re sure many of you have had such experiences with lane splitters, especially during rush hour periods.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Siew Ling on Sep 06, 2022 at 2:17 pm

Bad Rider!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
  • There are always going to be bad apples on all sides. I hope people don’t generalise one way or another. As a biker I’ve made it a point to go no faster than 10kmph than the flow of traffic when filtering. I’ve had a few cars pull out without indicators or looking, never have I hit their mirrors for it or started shouting. At most I’d pull up and say, “phew you almost hit me, it’s okay please look out for bikes in the future” and be on my merry way. The road is not a playground to flex your ego, ppl need to chill and just be courteous.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 21
    • Thomas on Sep 06, 2022 at 6:11 pm

Too many bad apples, it is now a rotten bushel. You unfortunately are in the minority of bikers I encounter. Always going the wrong way, using padestrian walkways or crossings, beating traffic lights, acting like goons.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 2
      • Although we don’t want to generalise, what else can we do? Daily we see bikers zooming this way and that. They use highways as if they own the highways. When they make mistakes, they pretend, when others make mistakes, they scream and shout like wild animals! They go against traffic anytime they want. What’s the authorities doing about it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
        • I mean you’re right in a sense. The point should be, bad riders/drivers must be penalised and held responsible for their actions. I’m never going to side with a biker that tried to kick a car and falls on his ass, I might still stop and help him up because no persons life is that cheap to be lost because of a stupid action.

I just wish the focus should be about bad actors and not on one group of X or Y. But obviously news outlets get more clicks and engagement when it’s pitting one group of people against the others. Ideally we all group together against the bad apples.

• Biker is fiker on Sep 06, 2022 at 7:28 pm

Shld follow China, Japan, no bike on highway. Biker is assholl. If he do this to me I sure hentam kaw kaw kasih dia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 20
      • Shasgen on Sep 07, 2022 at 8:00 am

Better don get bashed up with biker grps trying to show ur heroism

• Calvin on Sep 08, 2022 at 11:51 pm

I will help to hit all these bikers like a bowling ball hitting the pins. Metal vs Flesh. Your choice bikers.

• Fashion Victim on Sep 06, 2022 at 2:39 pm

You can’t have nice things in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Mohd Azahari Ismail on Sep 06, 2022 at 3:47 pm

Once I said this to a friend from Indonesia, he said “Try Jakarta” and then another guy from Egypt said to the Indonesian, “Try Cairo”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Mohd Rosli Bin Abdullah on Sep 07, 2022 at 6:40 am

Then go live somewhere else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 43
      • Amirah on Sep 07, 2022 at 7:34 am

Amende kau Rosli? Takde point lain la tu

• Rosli Hater on Sep 07, 2022 at 11:05 am

Is that your bloody solution? Why not you live somewhere else if you hate ppl like us complaining?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Malaysia wont advance if A$$HOLE like you still exist

• Ihavenoloveforhumans on Sep 06, 2022 at 2:55 pm

Hope the rider ends up beneath a trailer

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 8
  • cerealOatMeals on Sep 06, 2022 at 3:37 pm

beforti perangai, mmg tujuan dia nk mampos sj, mane tau budi bahasa tu. ada masa angkat kaki sepak, tp tk cukp masa enti??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Fashion Victim on Sep 07, 2022 at 10:21 am

It seems some B40 thinks those doing better than them are the cause of their problems in life.

• Innalillahi wa inna ilaihi rojiun on Sep 07, 2022 at 1:26 pm

Setuju. Tak nampak apa dosa keta tu. Dia bagi signal kot. Si motor tu nampak signal sebab tu boleh angkat kaki. Next time he’ll meet someone who doesnt use signal and he’ll know what is heaven what is hell.

• Fairness for rich or poor on Sep 06, 2022 at 5:01 pm

Riding in between lanes on the perforated lines is already an offence. But authorities have ignored this. By right each vehicle should fall in line, one after the other. Now cars can’t even change lanes because it’s dominated by angry and violent motorcyclists. In countries like ours where motorbikes are necessary, have proper separate lanes where they can ride as they like.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 0
    • puffy74 on Sep 06, 2022 at 6:36 pm

I say confiscate their motorbike licences and ban them from riding permanently!

Mat rempit can’t be educated/changed…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • Biker is fiker on Sep 06, 2022 at 7:29 pm

Shld follow China, Japan, no bike on highway. Biker is assholl. If he do this to me I sure hentam kaw kaw kasih dia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • Peaceful Warrior on Sep 07, 2022 at 11:55 am

Lol, I bet you don’t even have a car..a person who really owns a car won’t do that. Stop BS here, continue take your public transport.

• Responsible Rider on Sep 07, 2022 at 10:06 am

Riding in-between lanes is not an offence. Kicking the wing mirror of the Porsche is wrong. But the consequence of the a bike hitting the Porsche as a result of the impatience of the Porsche driver would have been catastrophic for any bike rider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
      • Porsche Driver on Sep 07, 2022 at 2:43 pm

What impatience??? Even Responsible Biker cannot differenciate who was impatience in this incidence… something wrong with your brain , bro..!!

• Raymond Wong on Sep 11, 2022 at 12:07 pm

Are you blind? The porsche signaling for sometime and change lane slowly. All i see is the biker being rude…. He should be penalised.

• Big boys club on Sep 11, 2022 at 6:24 pm

Have u watched the video, genius? The problem is the rider even speed up.

Also there is a fking brake on your kapchai. Dont justify the unjustifiable u fking ball sack

• Small potato on Sep 06, 2022 at 5:45 pm

Government fault!!! No dedicate motor lane for them!!!! So it’s all Government problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • unfortunately, according to the law, the bike is always right. switching lanes means you are going into someone’s way and in this case, the bike’s

but the bike has no right to kick the porsche’s mirror, but if an accident happen, the porsche would be in fault as the porsche initiate the lane change.

that being said, pedestrians has the bigger right of way, but you know in bolehland, you know where to motorist would go.

• Tim Lee on Sep 07, 2022 at 7:00 am

U r right motorcycle r the king at the road. Mostly of the motorcycle think the road belonging to them.

• Lee Cheng San on Sep 06, 2022 at 11:55 pm

The bike number plate should be ear enough, so whats our cops doing?

• My side mirrors are fixed solidly (not the flexible kind) and you can’t “close” them. The motorcyclist can try that same stunt and we’ll see what happens.

• 99% of delivery riders like Grab, Food Panda, Lalamove, Shopee etc. are reckless, going against traffic, running red lights etc. Worse thing is that these companies are doing nothing about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • kimak punya rider…ashole

• Twosidedmonk on Sep 07, 2022 at 7:31 am

It’s indeed rude of the biker to kick a car’s side mirror. Though I’ve seen many inconsiderate drivers performed lane switch aggressively (with or without indicators). Drivers need to be mindful that most motorcycles, especially kapchais do not have advance brakimg system such as ABS. They can’t brake in time especially when lane switching happens in confined spaces.

• Icewallowcom on Sep 09, 2022 at 7:52 am

And bikers need to be mindful that to SLOW down when in traffic jam and when drivers are giving signal from a mile away.

• I don’t understand why some of the car driver keep switching lane, keep switching lane won’t make u faster just will make the traffic jam getting bad.

• TokBrad on Sep 07, 2022 at 10:20 am

Whizzing motorcycles in between lanes are terrors as they get mad at cars for trying to change lanes although the drivers have signalled for quite sometime (yes, some irresponsible drivers don’t signal or give sudden signal). All I can do is make quiet prayers that I am protected from their terror acts and they get their karma sooner or later.

• Hisham on Sep 07, 2022 at 10:29 am

Try la jadi rider dulu…pasti nye dalam ni yg komen kata rider tu jahat..pun akan jadi sama perangai macam rider tu…moto jika beratur mcm kereta, kena asap, kena hujan, kena marah dgn bos pasal lambat dan lain2..yg lagi teruk kereta mewah besar bongkak akan himpit dioarang nak di humban ke bahu jalan..sendiri mau ingat la karma masing2.he2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
    • Samdol Ucop on Sep 07, 2022 at 11:36 am

Kau merepek ape, porsche tu dah signal lame dah. pastu slow2 tukar lane. sukati nak sepak2 kereta orang, aku sepak mak kau lak nanti jangan komplen lak celaka. asal rempit je mesti bodo. sendiri jadi rider pastu nak orang lain hadap kau punye bebal tu. bodo tak bertempat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • QuackMcGuffin on Sep 07, 2022 at 12:18 pm

Ko dh tau driver kete byk tukar2 lane, bawak laa perlahan2. Dh tau blh split lane potong kete, pastu ride mcm Rossi. Klau dh lambat, salah siapa? Salahkan kete besar sbb dorg block jalan ko? Mmg jlnraya satu malaysia jln kau. belajar defensive driving, anggap semua pengguna jalan raya as bengaps, tu pn nk diajar. Pastu salahkn org lain, typical msian mindset.

• Fashion Victim on Sep 07, 2022 at 12:45 pm

Saya pun rider , bawak ex-5 sahaja, tak de pun perangai macam tu. MMglah ada marah kadang, mcm hilux tiba2 hon kat belakang padahal saya kat tepi pun. Tapi jaranglah marah sampai dalam video itu. Takkanlah nak bawak moto 80kmj masa jem. Kalau dalam kes ini dah nampak dari jauh drebar porcshe tu nak masuk, kalo sempat brek bagi le can. Kalau dah terlampau dekat lain lah cerita. Pokoknya kerana saya bawa motor dan kereta, saya paham kesusahan yag dihadapi kedua dua pihak, dan paham apa tindakan yg masing2 akan ambil. Sebagai penunggang, Kita kena anticipate gerak pemandu, pemandu, dan sebaliknya bila kita pula yg memandu.

• Big boys club on Sep 11, 2022 at 6:17 pm

Ko lagi satu. Merepek apani. Klu dihumban masuk bahu jalan itu kes lain bonggok. Apa try jadi rider dulu? Memang pun rider tu jahat la lahanat. Jadi rider je boleh terus jalan kereta yg kena jam sja? Komen bodo

• Mr green on Sep 07, 2022 at 1:02 pm

Why are you trying to hide the motorbike number plate? He should be reported and spend his one month salary for a side mirror. What a brainless act should be taught by lesson

• Driving rules say you can only change lane when it is safe to do so or no traffic on that lane. Signalling and performing a slow lane change is still illegal whether you own an expensive car or a motorcycle.

• Big boys club on Sep 11, 2022 at 6:22 pm

What are your trying to say? Use your brain before type on your keyboard. It was peak hour and the bike cannot slow down?

Legal or not whose gonna get the pain if getting knock? Your ancestor owned that road so car cannot change lane legally?

Who kicked the side mirror of that car? Dont try to justify the wrong ashol

• Driving rules states that you need to signal your intention to change lane can only change lane and do so if and only if it is safe to do so which means that lane is clear of traffic. It does not mean that on signaling your intention gives you the right to immediately start changing lane. All vehicles on the road must obey traffic rules to provide a safe and enjoyable driving environment immaterial of the brand or size of your vehicle.

• One day for sure the same thing will be happened to that rider..only then he knows

• I dread driving in the fast lane as constant stream of bikers do not permit you to change lanes before an exit. Also, the Engineering Dept of DBKL must be “commended” for redrawing car lanes on the city centre like Jln Ampang & Sultan Ismail such that there is no space between vehicles, let alone bikers wishing to pass through. This is a recipe for disaster waiting to happen.

• Faros Abd on Sep 07, 2022 at 5:26 pm

It’s a good lesson learned for motorists. It does not mean you drive an expensive car people will give way to you, motocycle do pay their roadtax too. Remember over taking is on the right side and the motorcycle overtake in the correct lane. So to me the motorcycle is not at wrong and he did that to save his life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Rider & Driver on Sep 07, 2022 at 6:49 pm

I ride a kapcai to work everyday & I also drive couple of times a week. Shopee rider is 110% at fault for kicking the sidemirror. Period. Porsche driver already gave signal plus slowly & carefully changing lanes lah. Why must kick sidemirror? Just 1 advice to all car drivers out there, stop looking at your phones while driving la. I know traffic jam damn boring but u shouldn’t be posting on Wasap, IG, FB, Tik Tok etc even when stuck in traffic jam la wei!

• Cooperman72 on Sep 07, 2022 at 7:07 pm

I hv seen bikers going in oppo traffic direction, beating red lights, zap in/out w/o regards for others etc. Hopefully they will value their life & others. Pls ride safe & hv consideration for others✌️

• TepukKepala on Sep 07, 2022 at 7:46 pm

Make police report and report to Shopee or whichever hailing company this fella is doing. When will they learn?

I’m beginning to support the idea of having these riders go to driving ethic classes and apply for licenses…

• HitAndRun on Sep 07, 2022 at 8:15 pm

Would this be considered hit and run and he should be charged for not stopping (on top of everything else)?

• Nice One on Sep 07, 2022 at 8:26 pm

>oh no!my lane jamming
    >ok i change lane
    >oh no! my lane jamming
    >ok i change lane
    >oh no! my lane jamming
    >ok i change lane
    Thank you for your service brave motorcyclist! Too many drivers driving like a dumb*ss thinking about changing lanes whenever theres congestion in theirs.Not too mention late lane change for their exit. The lanes already going to congest, use your brain.

• Big boys club on Sep 11, 2022 at 6:07 pm

So u r another fking b40 mat rempit who ride a bike like your ancestor own the road and try hard to justify the act of that fking shopee rider? Its clear that the car has already signaled. I am not going to further my argument on those reckless delivery despatchers attitude day in day out.

• Who wants to know? on Sep 07, 2022 at 9:29 pm

Hope he gets his end of bad karma. Lots of these kinda riders on the Salak Selatan highway (heading towards MidValley) in the mornings

• Malaysia wont advance if A$$HOLE like you still exist

• Time for strict enforcement..our police not doing enough. They also go through red light speed through pedestrian crossing zig zagging and swerve inches in fromt of you… I see police never stop them when this happens .

• Bryan on Sep 14, 2022 at 8:02 pm

Just today a similar experience happened to me.. When changing lane, already putting on signals, looking at side mirror several times, then suddenly this GrabFood biker came from behind, horned for 10 seconds +-, and then kicked on my car. Now my car is dented.