Melaka plans to build a 120 km route linking Malaysia to Indonesia – proposed development to take 20 years

According to a report by Bernama, Melaka plans to build a 120-km tunnel or bridge linking Malaysia to Indonesia via Telok Gong in Masjid Tanah and Dumai in Sumatra, which will be developed with the cooperation of the private sector.

Speaking to the news outlet, Melaka investment, industry, entrepreneur development and cooperatives committee chairman Datuk Seri Ab Rauf Yusoh said the proposed development would take 20 years. When completed, the link is said to have a major impact on the economic development of both countries.

“The proposal on the project has been submitted by the private sector and both countries have in principle agreed to a detailed study on the matter. On the part of the state government, we have brought all government agencies to visit the area where the proposed new route will be built,” Ab Rauf explained.

He added that the project would be built using the ‘One Belt One Road’ concept and would be a new icon for Malaysia and Indonesia. In addition to the link, construction of various infrastructures including traffic dispersal areas and immigration complexes are also part of the plan.

Ab Rauf also said a new industrial site would be developed in stages in Masjid Tanah in an area covering about 2,023 hectares. This will be carried out by Melaka Corporation, which was formerly known as Perbadanan Kemajuan Negeri Melaka (PKNM), and is expected to contribute to the opening of a new town in the district.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• newme on Sep 08, 2022 at 5:37 pm

Indon illegals, rejoice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Mokmok on Sep 08, 2022 at 5:51 pm

Ahhh..more traffic lights I guess?

• After Episode 1 1MDB, 2nd episode LCS now coming soon the third installment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 6
  • This makes no economic sense in its proposal, not to mention the impending crime rate increase in Malaysia. As it is melaka is already very congested, we don’t need such halo projects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 09, 2022 at 9:02 am

Makes sense. Build a bridge over it, then charge every ship toll for crossing it. Insta rich, Ka-Ching!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • What a good idea. Indonesia economy will be doing so well in 20 years time and our girls can just walk across to be employed as Kakak there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
  • FudgeMeSideways on Sep 08, 2022 at 6:26 pm

Don’t give anymore ideas for Thailand to proceed with the Kra Canal la.

• Why So Serious on Sep 08, 2022 at 6:41 pm

At long last our Parameswara Malacca Empire’s dream of linking our territory will be realised.

Hundreds of years in the making. Coming soon near you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • They got the wrong location. Tunnel should be built instead. Between kukup and pulau karimun and onwards to pekan baru. This is a populated area of sumatra where businesses are.

• Bieight8 on Sep 08, 2022 at 8:10 pm

So easy for illegal emigrants…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Kea Was on Sep 08, 2022 at 8:14 pm

Most ridiculous project ever – might as well send money building HSR on the land connecting richer neighbours? Also the distance measured from Google maps is only 45km wonder how is it 120km its a wink wink for you and me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Goblok on Sep 09, 2022 at 1:34 pm

“Richer neighbors” Indonesia has the biggest economy in SEA and is among top 20 in the world.

• If you say so on Sep 09, 2022 at 3:10 pm

Doesn’t mean anything. Spending power of those in that area is still very low. Just look for yourself and see where the rich ones are at. Certainly not in Dumai!

• Thank You on Sep 08, 2022 at 9:02 pm

Nope thank you.
    I cant see any significant gain from this other than making peaceful and very2 scenic vacation area turned into a busy town filled with foreigners. Some area are better left untouched or have controlled development.

A much better thing to do and involved private sector is to solve the flood issue which now have affect areas which have never been flooded before. BTW, the supposedly high tech manufacturing ftz at Batu Berendam had been encountering flash flood since as long as i can remember…..cant solve this but want to build a super bridge/tunnel? Bunch of too smart for themselves politician. If u drop your ego and involved all the industry player at FTZ, the flood issue can be solved without u having to fork out a single cent.

• Whose stupid idea? What benefits we can gain from this project other than to feed certain peole pocket?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • I would still fly over, if any necessity to reach Sumatra (Including Fcuk-shopping at Dumai) than taking the tunnel/bridge, especially with frequent earthquakes and tremors there. May be, this construction would help access halal stuffs compared to Golok

• Sakau on Sep 09, 2022 at 12:10 am

Another way to sakau.
    You can do this with a cheaper alternative which is call Ferry.

• If you link it with a HSR station at Ayer Keroh, a closed loop as far away to North pole can be made available to all people ! Wah !

• It’d better be like The Channel Tunnel UK-France. Well organized.

• Lot of Chinese there on bagan si api api, rupat

• Lot of Chinese people there on bagan si api api rupat

• Why not building highways/train route connecting KK and Kuching towards Indonesia’s new capital in Kalimantan instead of trying to connect to Sumatra.

Msia can’t even come to an agreement on HSR between KL and SG, and now they are thinking of building a bridge across Straits of Malacca. Building a bridge in the middle of the busiest shipping route in the world is a tall order.

• Sick & Tired on Sep 09, 2022 at 10:11 am

Not that we cannot agree, it is just Pakatan that cannot agree. Build the tunnel/bridge to Sumatra and send them packing to there. Then our country can progress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • hahaha on Sep 09, 2022 at 12:18 pm

don’t forget to send Atuq95 and the gang too..

• Why So Serious on Sep 09, 2022 at 4:17 pm

PH – 6×2
          Atuk – 2×6
          When combine their powers, 6×2 = 2×6.
          Epic country disaster of 22 months in the make!

• stranger on Sep 09, 2022 at 11:43 am

*Malaysians suffer with flood almost every month*
    Government: We don’t have money to solve this!
    *Build tunnel to Indonesia instead*

• Hanif Fadzil Ali on Sep 09, 2022 at 1:09 pm

This project is not beneficial to many. Better melaka govt focus on the mainland. Only his cronies will benefit.

• Rebuild better than create new on Sep 09, 2022 at 3:41 pm

Dear government wouldn’t you focus on worn-out facilities instead of building new projects? There are too many facilities in the nation that need to be refurbished. God damn it.

• Maverick on Sep 09, 2022 at 4:19 pm

Dont worry our Selango PH Gomen prefers to spend it on drones & lasers to memantau potholes rather than actually fixing the road.

• stupid. need HSR connecting SG and not this

• Capt Sam on Sep 11, 2022 at 12:16 pm

This is utter nonsense.. we cant even have a proper ferry service going..there is just not enough traffic.. stupid idea!

• Keith S on Sep 12, 2022 at 5:52 am

Has a feasibility study been done ? Environment Impact Statement- adverse impact millions of sauna & fauna ? Economic case ?

• Bodoh government on Sep 12, 2022 at 4:37 pm

One word. BOD*H!