Perodua Axia Electric developed by EV Innovations MyKar – 220 km range, 4 hours to charge with AC

Remember the locally-developed and built MyKar electric vehicle based on a Honda Jazz from Malaysian start-up company EV Innovations shown in 2020? The same company is back at it, but this time with a new prototype that is based on a Perodua Axia!

Revealed though a TikTok video (so 2022, isn’t it?) below, the Perodua Axia Electric prototype is said to have a range of 220 km, with a charging time of four hours. The Type 2 charging port is neatly tucked behind the Axia’s fuel filler cap, which is a nice touch.

Inside, the prototype is fitted with a large Android head unit to display various parameters of the EV powertrain, while a Jaguar-type small rotary dial in the centre is used to select drive modes. Unfortunately, that’s all the info we have on it for now – we’ll try to get more soon so stay tuned.

Just remember one thing, this is a prototype by a third party, and not a concept EV by Perodua. The closest thing to an official Axia EV we’ve seen so far has come out of Indonesia – Daihatsu showcased an Alya EV at GIIAS 2022 earlier this year. The Ayla is what Daihatsu calls its Axia.

If Perodua ever makes an EV, we think it will do so with a Myvi EV instead, which seems more of its own project instead of the Axia/Ayla project which Indonesia seems to taking the lead on.

In any case, what do you think of this Perodua Axia Electric prototype? Is 220 km electric range enough to convince you to adopt an EV in Malaysia, and how much would you be willing to pay for such a car? Leave a comment below with your thoughts!

@afifbahardin Pandu uji Prototaip Axia Elektrik! #fyp #electriccar #axia #myvi #perodua #malaysia #automotive #miti #ev #electric #environment #kualalumpur #fypmalaysia ? original sound – afif bahardin

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Huck Phin on Sep 09, 2022 at 10:30 pm

Hello JPJ

EV conversions of ICE cars not allowed in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
    • Rinnegan on Sep 10, 2022 at 9:17 am

I hope JPJ reconsider that “no conversion from ICE to EV” rules. At USA and UK, this kind of conversion is allowed as long as the safety standard is adhered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • Casual reader on Sep 11, 2022 at 9:16 am

Bawah poko bengkels cant adhere to current safety standards what more with EV. Would u put ur life to bet on that?

• That’s not fair to say. It’s not their fault. It’s the policies in place that shaped this outcome.

• slyztercore on Sep 12, 2022 at 6:37 pm

truth, as much as i like DIY, 3rd party or anything similar because of freedom but again when you start mingle with 24KvW of electric anything can go wrong. Not to mention the battery. Of course most people that doing DIY, or personal RnD know that and take extra precaution. But again like i said when you start to mingle with 24000W of electric, small mistake can cost your life and pasagger. If battery is not properly manage and protection it can easily blow out. There are reason why earlier Tesla has burning excident in early adopter. And of course as time flies many precaution has been take from big corporate or even small DIY converter. But those DIY converter know their system like the back of their hand. They know what will gone wrong and know exactly what to do. So imagine you giving to 3rd party with little reputation to convert your car. And when something gone wrong you doesnt know what to do and in the end just watch your car burn.

• Jaguh Global on Sep 10, 2022 at 10:34 am

Transport Ministry and MITI must wake up and amend old archaic motor laws to further promote electric car usage be it new or conversion types.

And btw revise fully the road tax rate for EV cars that is ridiculous even higher than normal petrol cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
      • Guy Hawkes on Sep 14, 2022 at 3:49 pm

not going to happen in ourlife time, or else how the Gov going to profit by citzens.

• Junny Lai on Sep 11, 2022 at 11:43 am

This is how Malaysia government does shit to us.

• Super sohai on Sep 21, 2022 at 10:01 pm

U seems like not satisfy with what u have now.
        Why don’t u migrate to other country?
        Doesn’t need to bark here bark there!!!
        4 Sohai…… Diu lei lou ma chou far hai….

• Theanswer on Sep 22, 2022 at 11:37 am

Nama pun prototype..adui

• Nani? on Sep 09, 2022 at 10:48 pm

The engine noise so loud, is it really electric?

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 10, 2022 at 12:02 am

hey bodoh… learn to appreciate our local talent….be grateful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 57
      • Nani? on Sep 10, 2022 at 10:52 pm

Hey bodoh, learn how to read properly and talk good stuff… Which of my sentence showing that I don’t appreciate our local talent? Don’t make dumb of yourself.

• Nana? on Sep 10, 2022 at 12:10 am

Havent heard the hum/whine of an electric motor?
      The base car itself have lousy sound insulation..what to expect in term of noise.

• sellen on Sep 10, 2022 at 10:48 am

those latest front loader washing machine with direct drive motors sound exactly the same haha

• dapig on Sep 10, 2022 at 10:50 am

tak suka balik penang…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 33
    • Lei lou mou on Sep 21, 2022 at 10:03 pm

Ur house air con also run electric, noisy or quite?

• Celup King on Sep 09, 2022 at 11:39 pm

Hello P2. Can not even produce hybrid car, now want to produce EV? Something that buy with money is not considered as capability to produce one.

• Jaguh Global on Sep 10, 2022 at 10:31 am

Frazer-Nash and Detroit EV says hi thank you for RM millions burnt into sink hole.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Lets See on Sep 10, 2022 at 2:51 pm

hybrid electric? heard it yrs ago from Perodua. Always just talk but never really put in action. Others will really have actual flying car (not the stupid flying carcby the stupid PH) and yet Perodua still talking only!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • Hafiz Hisham on Sep 10, 2022 at 4:49 pm

Boleh hormat orang lain tak? Perodua pun bagus, sama je dengan Proton.

• Boleh jgn jd penjilat tegar tak? P2 jaguh kg, sama je dgn P1.

• Theanswer on Sep 22, 2022 at 11:39 am

Since when perodua buat ev? Ni pakai je axia. Bukan projek perodua.

• Ian T. on Sep 10, 2022 at 12:47 am

If it is sold at Axia regular price (or slightly more), at 220km range and 4 hour recharge, I will buy one just to support a Malaysian initiative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Malaysian EV shud be available and affordable for all base on ICE converted cars, just by replacing the car core, remaining the exterior.

• T J PEREIRA on Sep 10, 2022 at 10:57 am

It’s not like starting from zero. The car is there but with a new propulsion system. This can be adopted by proton too, with the savvy and juara. 200-250km range is adequate for daily runs. Seldom are these cars used long distances. With short charging times it’s a logical option. I hope it will happen soon.

• Cheap entry spec will not get 180kW DC charger support.

Renault Zoe 210km NEDC only support AC charging.
      Wuling Hong Guang only support 6600 watt DC.

Low spec EV are meaning less.
      finally 8 years for 40,000km only?

https://paultan.org/2022/09/06/ev-batteries-need-replacing-in-8-years-malaysian-2014-renault-zoe-owners-compile-battery-health-readings/

• Adzim on Sep 10, 2022 at 11:37 am

This is my boss tiktok the Senior Minister Advisor in MITI. Do contact me for some other info on this car at 0102002204 thanks

• Adzim on Sep 10, 2022 at 11:38 am

This is my boss tiktok the Senior Minister Advisor in MITI. Do contact me for some other info on this car at 0102002204 thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Ong KT on Sep 10, 2022 at 2:35 pm

Traveling from Johor Bahru to KL with petrol axis take 3.5 hours and the distance is 300+ km. Now with electric car which can only trave 200+ km and taking 4 hours to fully charged, this is to say we need to take more than 4 hours to reach KL?!

• wouldn’t mind 220km range if the price is about 50k

• Alcios on Sep 10, 2022 at 7:22 pm

Hopefully ev technology improves to be practical and convenience uses stage in the future. Fuel burning engine really giving maintenance hard life to users during a 7 years ownership.

• Joseph Ebrahmian on Sep 11, 2022 at 8:17 am

this is an EV kit. can buy all the parts and convert the car. good effort but not commercial way.

• I think in near future government should allow ICE cars within a certain age to be converted into electric just like how they did it in the UK for the Minis. Rather than adding more new cars onto the road, this will help electrification move at a faster rate. As long as this is allowed to run free in the commercial world without any hanky panky crony tied entity, I see this is a much cheaper alternative. Not everyone needs a 600 km range to begin with.

• James on Sep 11, 2022 at 11:13 am

Price no more than 25k. Why I still need gasoline car for distance travel, cannot wait for 4 hours charging.

• Newme on Sep 11, 2022 at 6:31 pm

All seeking grant from gov only

• Mohd Jeffri bin yusof on Sep 12, 2022 at 2:45 pm

Boleh bagi no. Content tak . Ada minat nak buat kereya ev dan nok beli part. No. Saya 0139274214

• Edwin rantoi on Sep 19, 2022 at 1:31 pm

If possible electric car should be designed can go a range as far as 600km. The market is not good because only can go for 200km, take guns lah..bagus lagi kereta minyak tahan LASAK.Itu kereta hanya sesuai di Pulau Labuan dan pulau Gaya sehaja.

• Muhammad Edy Cheng on Sep 22, 2022 at 1:29 am

Price