Malaysian roads ranked second deadliest in the world after Saudi Arabia; 12th worst in overall quality

Malaysia has been ranked to have the 12th worst-quality roads in the world, ranking 48th out of a total of 59 listed countries. The data compiled by US-based online driver’s education firm Zutobi for this table was collected for the most recently recorded year (2019) and five years earlier (2014), according to The Edge Markets. This data was sourced from business and economic data website The Global Economy.

The report saw Malaysia sustain a drop in road quality of 5.19% over the past five years, it said. “Over 22 road traffic fatalities per 100,000 people were recorded on Malaysia’s highways, the second-highest number of road traffic deaths in the world after Saudi Arabia,” according to the report.

Ranked lowest for road quality was Kuwait, which saw its road quality score drop by more than 20% for an overall road score of 1.33 out of 10.

Kuwait also ranked third-highest in road traffic deaths per 100,000 people, at nearly 19 deaths per 100,000 people. Ranking behind Kuwait for countries with the worst roads were Costa Rica (2.24 out of 10), Georgia (2.33 out of 10), Panama (2.54 out of 10) and New Zealand (2.93 out of 10).

Meanwhile, neighbouring Singapore ranked at the top of the chart by a considerable margin, and was the only country to achieve an overall road score of more than 9.0 out of 10, with a score of 9.44. The city-state scored the highest road quality score of 6.5, in that regard followed by the Netherlands with 6.4 and Switzerland with 6.3.

Singapore also recorded the lowest road traffic accident death rate at 1.69 deaths per 100,000 people, from a network of 486,787 km of roads per 100,000 square km. In this table, Malaysia was recorded as having 43,713 km of roads per 100,000 square km.

At the upper end of the table, ranked second to Singapore was the Netherlands with a score of 8.62 out of 10, with 334,892 km of road per 100,000 square km. In third was Switzerland with a score of 8.58 out of 10, with 173,303 km of road per 100,000 square km. Fourth was Japan with a score of 8.41, and Denmark rounded up the top five with a score of 7.51 out of 10.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• And some councils say driver’s reckless driving lol…

They just don’t admit is their problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Kea Was on Oct 04, 2022 at 12:49 pm

Nah they and some politicians will just blame on alcohol but then we have the lowest death caused by alcohol all just to satisfy the political scene.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 19
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 04, 2022 at 1:53 pm

Drunk driving budaya kita kann?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
        • A road user on Oct 04, 2022 at 2:57 pm

More like drunk Works minister & JKR with gaji buta.No action taken to repair the roads even after complaining to them many times.Even when they finally take action to repair, they’ll engage incompetent contractors to do the job using low quality materials & not following SOP to do the job properly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
          • yawnz on Oct 04, 2022 at 5:17 pm

State roads are under state control, so your implying state MPs are drunk with gaji buta? The worst state roads are at Selangor & Penang so these are the most drunk of them all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
        • Rakyat Malaysia Yg Benar on Oct 04, 2022 at 10:06 pm

Budaya kita lajak dan rempit. Dah lupa ke brada ?

• Chong on Oct 05, 2022 at 7:01 am

Mat rempit juga budaya kits kan?

• Rakyat on Oct 05, 2022 at 7:04 am

Mat rempit juga budaya kita kan?

• Red Riza7 on Oct 06, 2022 at 5:42 pm

Main hand phone main culprit tu. Dream and drive nombor dua dan ubat pharma duluan sebelum arak.

• With lazy attitude from JKR and no enforcement from PDRM and JPJ, this is what happened. Mat Rempit and Mat Lajak run freely on highway endangering other motorists, yet the judicial system is so broken that the car driver is guilty even though Mat Rempit and Mat Lajak is at the wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 04, 2022 at 1:55 pm

More like lazy attitudes of certain councilmen and MPs of a certain state that allowed the road to deteriorate so badly. Time to vote them OUT!!!
      https://paultan.org/2021/02/08/60-of-tarred-roads-in-selangor-have-expired-report/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • newme on Oct 04, 2022 at 11:46 am

But we were taught in school “Malaysia mempunyai jalanraya antara yang terbaik di dunia”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Correct! Tetapi tak ada maintenance. First world property, third world mentality =(

• I wonder which syllabus taught you about road construction in school. Perhaps you should return there to retrain your immature mindset.

• newme on Oct 05, 2022 at 9:19 am

That’s because you never went to school.

• Perhaps so. But Alan’s comments here shown far more maturity than yours. So it is a matter of Alan not schooled or you going to to school and learn nothing? Perhaps street smarts outweigh booksmarts but you lacked even that to compensate.

• Ryuushin on Oct 04, 2022 at 8:07 pm

Keyword being “was”…

• @Snakebabu on Oct 04, 2022 at 12:07 pm

Gomen: I can neither confirm nor deny details of any operation without the Secretary’s approval.

• Dong Gor on Oct 04, 2022 at 12:12 pm

Just cannot imagine we are the 12th worst in the world. I’ve been to many countries and it doesn’t appear that our roads are that bad overall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Only 59 countries were sampled so I wouldn’t say we are that terrible. However, this doesn’t mean we are in the clear. Our roads are overall done half-assed. Uneven road patches, manholes and drain opening that basically sink into the road, just to name a few.

A true Msian driver will always have their eyes on the road and steer away from the slightest patch of discolouration. I’d like to think we can drop this culture when the country achieves developed status (whatever that means).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • zutobi ke bitozu on Oct 04, 2022 at 12:29 pm

More accurate analysis should be no of fatality per total number of vehicle on road, not per population

• the driver on Oct 04, 2022 at 12:54 pm

let me list why :
    No edge of road indication
    Faded road paint/dividers
    Poor lighting at junctions
    Poor pothole reporting/reaction and terrible repair works
    Undulating road installation due to under specs
    No regular road inspection by authorities
    And that is for the highways, don’t get me started about trunk roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Ini semua salah PH! Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • Maverick on Oct 05, 2022 at 3:30 am

Betul! Betul! Betul! ever since they came to the scene, things been getting from bad to worse to WORST when they became gomen. Next GE tendang mereka semue kluar!

• saulgoodman on Oct 04, 2022 at 1:25 pm

DO YOU KNOW YOU HAVE RIGHTS AS ROAD USERS?
    If you car is damaged due to negligence, or poor road maintenance by your local council, you are entitled to file a report for compensation. If you are involved in an accident, again, in parts due to poor road conditions, you are allowed to sue the local council for damages and emotional suffering. Better Call Saul!

https://www.thesundaily.my/local/motorists-can-make-claims-for-vehicle-damage-from-potholes-KJ8931590

https://malaysianlitigator.com/2021/03/10/legal-recourses-for-pothole-accidents/

• Ahmad on Oct 05, 2022 at 9:56 am

Whats your opinion about the ending of BCS series? I’m sad to not see post-jimmy-trial story relating to the rest of walter white’s family.

• walterblack on Oct 06, 2022 at 4:14 pm

it is not easy to ask the old cast to return for BCS. dont forget it has been 10 years since TBB ended! But honestly yes, quite sad to see BCS end that way.

• Pagana Singh lathoo on Oct 04, 2022 at 1:34 pm

Prblm solve if hire capable pple ,use latest technology and project rewarded as per qualification and proven experience in the pasts and not favouritism,and this would never ever happen here , guaranteed,we as rakyat suffer to pay road taxes ,road damage related car repairs and lists is exhaustive

• GomenLovesKroni on Oct 07, 2022 at 5:26 pm

Indeed, the “Kroni” system should be absolutely prohibited.

• Sad reality on Oct 04, 2022 at 2:23 pm

What this survey fails to mention is that the majority of fatalities are from the motorcycle category. Latest figures 2021 from Bukit Aman say up to 70 percent, in fact.

Among developing countries, Malaysia has one of the lowest road fatalities for passenger vehicles (4 door, SUV, MPV etc.). Nowadays, most cheap cars here are fully loaded with all kinds of safety features. If you want an affordable 5-star NCAP car today, you are spoilt for choice. The same was not the case, just 10 years ago, when Saga, Myvi, Vios, City, Almera etc. only had 2 airbags (required by law) and ABS (optional).

But we still have some ways to go, to catch up to the developed countries for road safety, especially in terms of enforcement of road laws, standardization of number plates, insurance claim transparency, mandatory dashcam installation, stricter OSH compliance for road works, etc. etc..

• It is not a survey, but rather some analysis of various other studies.

“The road quality score is calculated using these factors: road quality, improvements in road quality, road deaths, and the relative size of the road network.”

Personally, I think there is only correlation between road deaths and road quality. Too many factors contribute to road deaths (Vehicle’s safety specifications and condition, type of vehicles involved, weather condition, driver’s ability and condition, emergency services level, etc.).

Relative size of road network is also not an accurate way to normalize the data between the countries’ roads. Maybe some index of road drivability (road design driving difficulty based on an average driver’s ability e.g. Ratio of Highways, City road, rural road, + other road classifications) needs to be taken into account.

If you open the global economy site referenced in this study (https://www.theglobaleconomy.com/rankings/roads_quality/) you’ll get a ranking of road quality (2019: Malaysia 21st out of 141. On par with Finland, Germany & Namibia). That site itself sourced their data from World Economic Forum, which I am unable to find where the exact report is.

Nevertheless, the right takeaway from this Zutobi study is Malaysian road quality is on a downward trend.

• Rakyat on Oct 05, 2022 at 7:07 am

Partly attribute to the mat rempit culture in the country which the police and politicians are not interested to handle.

• keepup on Oct 05, 2022 at 10:12 am

Much better read the paul’s article. Thanks.

• Phudda singh on Oct 04, 2022 at 4:39 pm

Make roads more worse if give example of klang valley so credit goes to mrt,lrt and newly built hiways and bridge bez down the bridge got terrible roads conditions and contractors not bother at all to fix even path holes and once v on the road have to remember how many path holes and which lane ,rests what to say more .

• carlover on Oct 04, 2022 at 5:02 pm

Puchong LDP towards KLIA, many street lights are out of order since past 2 years, roads are uneven…

• Ismail on Oct 04, 2022 at 7:03 pm

At least not last. 12th place consider very good already. Good job

• Kiasso on Oct 04, 2022 at 7:46 pm

Singapore No.1?

Follow this logic,
    Autonomous Vehicles should be to adapt easily here..

What happened to Singapore Autonomous Vehicles?

• PK.Wang on Oct 04, 2022 at 8:06 pm

Lack of enforcement on commercial vehicles obstructing traffic on the middle lane and fast lane on highway where they are suppose to drive on the left lane for all comnercial vehicles.

• Chong on Oct 05, 2022 at 7:02 am

Mat rempit juga budaya kita kan?

• Trump Lies, Americans Die on Oct 05, 2022 at 8:24 am

Something is not right with the methodology of the survey. If you define the worthiness of the road by the no of fatalities, then you have not done a good survey.

• albag on Oct 05, 2022 at 9:20 am

shall i feel surprised?

• Moonsurf on Oct 05, 2022 at 9:34 am

Is there any surprise Singapore top the chart? If a small country like that and the road suck, might as well go under.

• Lee Kok Siong on Oct 05, 2022 at 10:27 am

I work in Saudi Arabia, and I agree!

• transformer on Oct 05, 2022 at 4:25 pm

road lines also no money to draw, so never expect they’ll fix jalan berlobang, itu budaya kito…. Johor Bahru JB aka Jalan Berlobang